布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

提示在法国卢瓦尔河谷参观布卢瓦城堡

  • 距离Blois火车站到酒庄地图
  • 这种风格在布卢瓦是由意大利的影响
  • 弗朗索瓦我选择了蝾螈作为他的印记
  • 秘密室和抽屉的凯瑟琳·德·美第奇的布卢瓦
  • 在布卢瓦米其林星级餐厅,并有很大的
  • 大阪是一个布卢瓦廉价的亚洲餐厅
  • A michelin star restaurant in Blois that won't break the bank
  • 一个漂亮的法国餐厅布卢瓦与公平的午餐价格
  • 附近的布卢瓦城堡经典的法式午餐
  • Francois I's Salamander and his letters with his wife's
  • 这是安置在布卢瓦博物馆翼
  • Mansard's contribution to the Chateau de Blois
  • 一个美丽的地方看到城市布卢瓦的是法兰西斯一世翼
  • 事情到附近的布卢瓦城堡做
  • 哪里是入口布卢瓦城堡
  • Great seafood at the Blois farmer's market
  • 布卢瓦城堡的芒萨尔区
  • 花一些时间在卢瓦尔河本地
  • 艺术家季布洛瓦街道
  • 的地方,弗朗索瓦一世 & 奥尔良鸡翅相遇加斯顿
  • 其中一个房间在布卢瓦城堡

对于那些你们谁不知道它, 这种高科技企业家学习艺术史 (是啊, 奥巴马总统谈到美国技能的时候砸下来一样重要). 这意味着我在教室里坐了几个小时看着城堡的照片. 我爱每一秒 , 和中伤为主要是, 我会在一个心脏跳动再次做到这一点. 今年, 安东尼奥和我终于订了一趟卢瓦尔河大多是这样我就可以检查出一些城堡 (喝点酒 - 尤其是德起泡酒卢瓦尔河). I was particularly excited about visiting the Chateau de Blois. 

弗朗索瓦我选择了蝾螈作为他的印记

弗朗西斯一世的著名蝾螈的救济

I started at Blois, 因为它的同名城市是基地为我们的欧洲那条腿 2016 旅. 我很高兴地说这次访问没有让人失望. 这一点也不像 凡尔赛 其中一个有过成群的人打. 这次访问很舒服, 警卫警惕,但温柔,我会推荐这个城堡参观的人在该地区. 请注意,这个酒庄并不像盛大或财大气粗其他城堡, 但我喜欢它的历史观点. 我的想法是, 它可能是该地区历史上最显著和一个必须看到的.

提示在法国卢瓦尔河谷参观布卢瓦城堡

留在布卢瓦

随着布卢瓦城堡, 您还可以享受它的城市. 布卢瓦是留在你卢瓦尔河访问期间相当好去处. 有一个火车站,您可以到许多城镇在该地区的城堡 (很方便) 并且是正确的关闭高速公路, 所以,如果你有车,你可以轻松地前往该地区. 虽然布卢瓦是不是一个地方,我建议一个长期逗留 (任何超过一个星期), 这是一个伟大的地方,如果你跳酒庄. 即使你是不是住在卢瓦尔河, 你可以从巴黎坐火车. 它的快速和容易.

有一个迷人老城(老镇). 这是相当漂亮. 有鹅卵石街道, 一个艺术家的四分之一, 也许是我最喜欢的是农贸市场. 它需要大约的区位Place Louis XII. 有吨的本地生产 (这是卢瓦尔河真棒). 当你完成购物, 头以上圣鲁宾. 这就是当地的酒吧. 牡蛎商人开设店铺右前方. 拿起一打 (他们很便宜,你按大小交 - 越大越贵 - 我付10€为中等规模) 与虾一袋 (味道鲜美的虾), 在酒吧抢座位, 订购一些当地的葡萄酒,享受音乐. 他们玩一些伟大的曲调, 如果你是幸运的, 乔治Paltrie 将在那里与他的吉他. 他的声音就像是焦糖.

花一些时间在卢瓦尔河本地

当地人经常挂出卢瓦尔河

您也可以像当地人一样,并从市场上把你的发现 (和一瓶酒) 以微小的楼梯旁边的河流. 坐下来欣赏美景和各种鸟类和动物频繁的区域.

午餐后, 一起散步工作过你的热量上山城堡. 加息将带您不超过 5 从酒吧分钟.

参观布卢瓦城堡

距离Blois火车站到酒庄地图

地图显示如何从布卢瓦火车站到达城堡

你首先需要的是一双舒适的鞋子. 你需要步行一个非常陡峭的山坡去城堡 (除非你抢出租车或尤伯杯). 对酒庄的好处是,它不是挤满了游客,像凡尔赛宫. 这是一个简单的访问,很舒适.

门票 & 价钱

哪里是入口布卢瓦城堡

入口和地区购买门票到布卢瓦城堡

布卢瓦不 "低廉", 但它是如此值得的. 你能看到没有一, 但四个不同的建筑风格和学到很多关于法国历史. A single adult ticket costs 10 €, 孩子支付 5 €, 但如果是在 6 免费入场. 如果你不想花钱看现场, 你可以去第一个星期日每月十二月间 & 游行. 我做了一付访和一个免费的.

需要注意的是也有在现场美术博物馆是重要的. 只要你进入城堡, 期待您的权利. 如果你走楼梯上去, 你会在博物馆. 入口是包含在机票价格.

如果你会看到多个酒庄, 你可能要采取的好处 卢瓦尔河城堡通. 价格往往会改变, 所以检查网站为他们的现有合同.

小时

事情到附近的布卢瓦城堡做

这个广场在布卢瓦城堡前往往有表演和娱乐. 魔术博物馆是在年底建设

一月 2 到3月31日: 9AM-12:30下午 & 1:30PM-5:30下午
四月 1 至六月 30: 9AM-6:30下午
七月 1 到八月 31: 9上午,下午7点
九月 1 至 30: 9AM-6:30下午
十月 1 至十一月 1: 9上午,下午6点
十一月 2 到十二月 31: 9AM-12:30下午 & 1:30PM-5:30下午

去的夜场

有一个华丽的声光表演在布卢瓦城堡. 虽然它不是令人印象深刻,因为我们已经在里昂期间看到 祭祀宫吕米埃兄弟 还是在斯特拉斯堡大教堂的生日, 它仍然是可爱的.

为什么你应该访问布卢瓦城堡

一个美丽的地方看到城市布卢瓦的是法兰西斯一世翼

弗朗西斯我联队布卢瓦城堡是由意大利风味标.

我有点历史的buff. 加入艺术或建筑到它,我有点怪胎出来. 这个城堡的历史和建筑的完美结合. 它实际上 4 酒庄在一个, 法国风格拼贴. 实际上有在城堡四个非常鲜明的建筑风格,描绘了时间的影响架构如何政治. 你真的看到这个令人难以置信的建筑时间的举动. 您可以了解更多有关 4建筑风格的布卢瓦 这里.

当你即将进入酒庄, 你会看到一个令人难以置信的开放. 它本来是为行人和马匹,被标记 (现在副本) 一个骑马雕像描绘路易十二的, 豪猪王 (很多原有的装修被破坏或革命期间污损).

You'll enter at the tiny door to the right of what used to be the main entrance. Once you're inside, 你会站在主庭院. 由于这个城堡, 喜欢 卢浮宫 在巴黎, 由不同的人在不同的时间建成, 你会发现,它看起来并不如人们所期望的城堡看起来. 这不是 凡尔赛 其中有一个统一的外观. 庭院经常感觉, 但它不是对称的. 如果你看看 (即使是受过训练的人) 你甚至可以看到别人的建设力度短期停止由于资金短缺. 这真的很酷这个城堡怎么告诉法国的故事, 它的统治阶级, 和布卢瓦.

13世纪

这是13世纪的中世纪城堡. 城堡的这部分是由布洛瓦启动10世纪的计数建. 布卢瓦的数量已经建立了一个塔开始, 但它被扩展为时间长了. 目前, 这里只有这个结构的一小部分. 这将是在复杂的最朴素区域和包括封建领主室 (房间的封建领主), 在城墙的一部分, 三塔在弗朗索瓦一世纳入翼, 和圆塔弗瓦.

后期1400的 (1498-1501) 路易十二

这是安置在布卢瓦博物馆翼

布卢瓦城堡的路易十二部分有意大利的整个接触

路易十二负责城堡的这部分. 他说得那么要塞成为一个更合适的居住面积. 这是一个具有与骑马雕像入口区. 该建筑的哥特区设有一个开放式的街机 (一系列拱门) 这引出两个楼梯,让您到达2楼 (这些都是导致美术博物馆的那些. 路易斯做的相当不错的意大利战争,甚至一时间成为那不勒斯国王. 它应是毫不奇怪,城堡的这个区域有一些意大利的影响. 路易十二世爱布卢瓦城堡.

路易十二死在没有男性继承人. 昂古莱姆弗朗西斯成为他的继任者.

1515-1520 弗朗索瓦一世 & 克劳德女王

的地方,弗朗索瓦一世 & 奥尔良鸡翅相遇加斯顿

看看在布卢瓦建筑风格混合

这是我的所有样式的布卢瓦城堡的最爱. 这是一些严重的文艺复兴时期的氛围在这里一切都归功于弗朗索瓦一世. 这方面的酒庄的皇冠上的明珠是螺旋楼梯. 它拥有华丽的桥墩, 吨,窗户和开口. 你不能错过. 这楼梯不再是保护和内置隐藏它的居民. 楼梯推了,要求你看看吧. 游客会很骄傲地爬上楼梯, 因为这意味着他们取用法庭. 这些楼梯阶段, 游客是演员. 多么酷啊! 楼梯可以受到启发那些的 宫康达里尼在威尼斯.

门面 (你从城堡外看到这) 由莫过于布拉曼特其他的启发 (梵蒂冈的建筑师). 试想它必须感到自己弗朗索瓦“法庭上,并有一个对话,同时从这些小屋俯瞰全城.

弗朗索瓦一世的蝾螈和他的书信与他的妻子的

你可以看到弗朗索瓦一世的整个布卢瓦蝾螈以及他的座右铭 "Nutrisco等extinguo"

弗朗索瓦一世的妻子女王克劳德一个谁是该网站真正负责任. 她是谁说服弗朗索瓦那里动议法庭之一. 你可以看到她的符号, 整个结构的貂. 可悲的是, 后,她通过了 1524, 弗朗索瓦离开酒庄.

也非常酷的是,当你漫步在弗朗索瓦一世内饰, 有从原来的城堡件已现在被替换, 所以你能看到屋顶的细节, reliefs and gargoyles up close. Blois castle suffered a lot during the revolution. 很多原有的装修被破坏. 石头是从正面取出,他们的立场能发生什么事作证时,政治影响的艺术和建筑. 你可以看到其中的一些细节在城堡.

1635-38 奥尔良加斯顿

芒萨尔的到布卢瓦城堡贡献

新奥尔良翼由复折加斯顿门面

路易十三的弟弟, 加斯顿, 奥尔良公爵是最后一个有一个的手在Chateau.He选择了这个酒庄,因为它是接近新奥尔良和,因为它有皇室的历史与他希望心心相印. 他委托莫过于弗朗索瓦芒萨尔其他 (我最喜欢的建筑师之一) 创建新翼. 这翼是面向你,当你进入城堡复杂之一. 加斯顿认为弗朗索瓦一世翼 (那个以超爽楼梯) 老了,过时. 他做了无法弥补的损害时,他拆除了机翼的一部分. 我们是幸运的, 他用尽了金钱,却不能完成. 城堡的这一部分是最像凡尔赛宫. 它着重于对称. 它的列, 壁柱, 首都和是希腊古典建筑元素山形墙.

事情不要在布卢瓦城堡小姐

Tognina Gonsalvus的肖像

有相当多有趣的绘画在城堡. 这位年轻的女士与多毛症的折磨 (或者,因为它是粗略已知, 狼人综合征). 这幅画像显示她在一个充满爱的方式, 而不是作为一个怪胎, 但作为社会的一个受尊敬的成员.

凯瑟琳·德·美第奇的密室

秘密室和抽屉的凯瑟琳·德·美第奇的布卢瓦

导致凯瑟琳·德·美第奇的秘密室的面板

玛丽·梅迪奇是布卢瓦的另一个显着居民, 虽然没有选择的余地. 她嫁给了亨利六世与她有一个儿子, 路易十三. 而她的丈夫还活着, 她呆在政治出来. 但是,当他被谋杀在 1610, 她改变了立场,并成为积极的摄政王. 当路易斯转身 16, 他决定摆脱妈妈. 他开始通过移除她会和她流亡到布卢瓦那里有美丽的木板房间. 这些面板包含秘密的壁龛,其中绝杀说,她一直毒药. 最有可能的, 她不停地其他的事情不是毒药, 但是这仍然是东西是真正冷静地看到.

楼梯

你不会错过它,一旦你进去, 但要确保你上去的楼梯. 这是一个令人难以置信的经验.

了望台

有一个不可思议的神色出了教堂. 你可以从这里获取整个城市的美丽的景色.

凡靠近布卢瓦城堡吃

与大多数其他地方,我一直在法国, 我不是在布卢瓦食品吹走. 我有我的最好的饭菜,在周六市场, 但有迹象表明,脱颖而出几家餐厅. 前两个是城堡的步行距离之内. 最后, 你需要乘坐出租车或为尤伯杯.

橘园杜城堡

在布卢瓦米其林星级餐厅,并有很大的

退房橘园du Chateau酒店一个梦幻般的交易 (当你考虑到食物有多好).

警告只是一个字. 这是一家米其林星级餐厅, 因此它是价格昂贵. 但它绝对是美好的,他们提供了一个相当不错的午餐在处理39 €. 它的菜单去Confiance它让你三个疗程. 这个地方是值得的挥霍. 只要确保你穿一个合理的漂亮的服装. 没有牛仔裤, 短裤, 或运动鞋.

大阪

大阪是一个布卢瓦廉价的亚洲餐厅

大阪是很便宜的价格了坚实的亚洲风味餐厅 - 预订是必须的

虽然不漂亮, 这个地方很便宜,这是件好事. 预约,因为如果你不这样做,你可能无法得到. 食物是日本和越南的混合. 河粉是一样好,你会在这方面法国获得和公式是相当慷慨. 例如, 他们的日本菜单只是8.80€并配有汤, 蔬菜, 和大米,四串并用融化的奶酪牛肉.

红台

一个漂亮的法国餐厅布卢瓦与公平的午餐价格

对于一个好的传统的法式大餐, 检查出的红色长凳

这是一个完美的地方,如果你正在寻找一个价格相当卢瓦尔风格的餐厅. 这是很小的, 精巧, 与服务和食物是伟大的. 开始菜单在17.5€.

面包店居永

附近的布卢瓦城堡经典的法式午餐

抓住一个Jambon Beurre黄油和饮料近布卢瓦城堡一个便宜又好吃一顿

并非如此远离城堡和一个伟大的地方,拿起一个Jambon Beurre黄油和一些糖果. 他们还制作香肠面包是死的,他们有外卖午餐特价. 这个地方强烈推荐.

阿萨

在布卢瓦米其林星级餐厅,不会打破银行

阿萨提供了一个很好的午餐交易

这个人是不是在步行距离之内 (我走到那里 - 但我喜欢走路). 它拥有米其林一星, 但仍然有问题,明智的制定服务. 食物是可爱的. 如果你需要的橘园和这里之间做出选择, 选择橘园. 如果您已经访问过橘园, ASSA是一个很好的选择. 他们提供 7 菜单, 开始于36 €对于 2 培训班.

 

 

下面的两个选项卡下面的更改内容.

布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

我FriendsEat和Socialdraft的联合创始人. 我有与勃艮第霞多丽不健康的痴迷, ASOIAF, 和旅行.

最新的帖子布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳 (查看全部)

一个评论对这个职位要 “提示在法国卢瓦尔河谷参观布卢瓦城堡”

发表评论

Blanca Valbuena

Tips for Visiting the Chateau de Blois in the Loire Valley of France

  • Map from Blois Gare to the Chateau
  • This style at Blois was influenced by Italy
  • Francois I chose the salamander as his sigil
  • The secret chambers and drawers at Blois of Catherine de Medici
  • A Michelin star restaurant in Blois with a great deal
  • Osaka is a cheap Asian restaurant in Blois
  • A michelin star restaurant in Blois that won't break the bank
  • A nice French Restaurant in Blois with a fair lunch price
  • A classic French lunch near the Chateau de Blois
  • Francois I's Salamander and his letters with his wife's
  • This is the wing that houses the museum at Blois
  • Mansard's contribution to the Chateau de Blois
  • A beautiful place to see the city of Blois is the Francis I Wing
  • Things to do near Chateau de Blois
  • Where is the entrance to the Chateau de Blois
  • Great seafood at the Blois farmer's market
  • The Mansart area of Blois Chateau
  • Spend time as a local in the Loire
  • The streets of the artist quarter in Blois
  • The place where the Francois I & Gaston of Orleans Wings meet
  • One of the rooms at Blois Castle

For those of you who didn't know it, this tech entrepreneur studied Art History (yeah, the same major that President Obama smacked down when talking about skills in America). This means I sat in classrooms for hours looking at pictures of Chateaux. I loved every second , and as maligned as the major is, I would do this again in a heart beat. This year, Antonio and I finally booked a trip to the Loire mostly so I could check out some castles (and drink some wine - especially Cremant de Loire). I was particularly excited about visiting the Chateau de Blois. 

Francois I chose the salamander as his sigil

A relief of the famed Salamander of Francis I

I started at Blois, since its namesake city was home base for that leg of our Europe 2016 trip. I am thrilled to say the visit did not disappoint. This was nothing like Versailles where one has to fight through crowds of people. The visit was comfortable, the guards vigilant but gentle and  I would recommend a visit to this castle to anyone in the region. Note that this Chateau is not as grand or as ostentatious as other castles, but I loved the historical aspect of it. In my opinion, it is probably the most historically significant of the region and a must see.

Tips for Visiting the Chateau de Blois in the Loire Valley of France

Stay in Blois

With the Chateau of Blois, you also get to enjoy its city. Blois is pretty good place to stay during your Loire visit. There is a train station that takes you to many of the towns in the area with castles (pretty convenient) and is right off the highway, so if you have a car you can easily travel the region. While Blois is not a place I recommend for a long term stay (anything over a week), it is a great place if you are Chateau hopping. Even if you aren't staying in the Loire, you can take a train from Paris. It's quick and easy.

There is a charming Vieille Ville (Old Town). It's quite pretty. There are cobblestone streets, an artist's quarter, and perhaps what I liked best was the farmer's market. It takes place around the area of Place Louis XII. There is tons of local produce (which is awesome in the Loire). When you're done shopping, head over to Le Saint Lubin. That's the local pub. The oyster merchants set up shop right in front. Pick up a dozen (they are cheap and you pay by size - the bigger the more expensive - I paid 10€ for the medium size) with a bag of Crevettes grises (delicious shrimp), grab a seat at the bar, order some local wine and enjoy music. They play some great tunes, and if you are lucky, Georges Paltrie will be there with his guitar. His voice is like caramel.

Spend time as a local in the Loire

Locals will often hang out on the Loire River

You can also do as the locals do and bring your findings from the market (and a bottle of wine) to the tiny stairs next to the river. Sit and enjoy the view and the various birds and animals that frequent the area.

After lunch, work off your calories with a walk up hill to the castle. The hike will take you no more than 5 minutes from the bar.

Visit Blois Chateau

Map from Blois Gare to the Chateau

Map showing how to get from the Blois train station to the Chateau

The first thing you need is a pair of comfortable shoes. You need to walk up a very steep hill to get to the Chateau (unless you grab a taxi or Uber). The good thing about the Chateau is that it was not packed full of tourists like Versailles. It was an easy visit and quite comfortable.

Tickets & Pricing

Where is the entrance to the Chateau de Blois

The entrance and area to purchase tickets to the Chateau De Blois

Blois is not "cheap", but it is so worth it. You get to see not one, but four distinct architectural styles and learn lots about French history. A single adult ticket costs 10 €, kids pay 5 €, but if they are under 6 admission is free. If you don't want to pay to see the site, you can go for first Sunday of every month between December & March. I did one paid visit and one free one.

It is important to note that there is also a museum of fine art at the site. As soon as you enter the chateau, look to your right. If you go up the stairs, you will be in the museum. Entrance is included in the ticket price.

If you are going to see multiple chateaux, you may want to take advantage of the Loire Chateau Pass. Prices tend to change, so check the site for their current deal.

Hours

Things to do near Chateau de Blois

This square in front of the Chateau de Blois often has shows and entertainment. The Magic museum is the building at the end

January 2 to March 31st: 9am-12:30pm & 1:30pm-5:30pm
April 1 to June 30: 9am-6:30pm
July 1 to August 31: 9am-7pm
September 1 to 30: 9am-6:30pm
October 1 to November 1: 9am-6pm
November 2 to December 31: 9am-12:30pm & 1:30pm-5:30pm

Go for the Night Show

There is a gorgeous sound and light show at Blois chateau. While it is not as impressive as what we have seen in Lyon during the Fete des Lumieres or in Strasbourg for the birthday of the Cathedral, it is still lovely.

Why You Should Visit Blois Chateau

A beautiful place to see the city of Blois is the Francis I Wing

The Francis I Wing at Blois Chateau is marked by Italian influences.

I'm a bit of a history buff. Add art or architecture to it and I kinda geek out. This Chateau is the perfect combination of history and architecture. It's actually 4 Chateaux in one, a collage of French styles. There are actually four very distinct architectural styles at the castle which depict how the politics of the time affected architecture. You really see time move in this incredible building. You can learn more about the four architectural styles of Blois here.

When you are about to enter the Chateau, you will see  an incredible opening. It was meant for both pedestrians and horses and is marked by (now a replica) of an equestrian statue depicting Louis XII, the Porcupine King (a lot of the original decoration was destroyed or defaced during the revolution).

You'll enter at the tiny door to the right of what used to be the main entrance. Once you're inside, you will be standing in the main courtyard. Since this castle, like the Louvre in Paris, was built at different times by different people, you will notice that it does not look as one would expect a castle to look. This is not Versailles which has a unified look. The courtyard feels regular, but it's not symmetrical. If you look (even with an untrained eye) you can even see where someone's building efforts stopped short due to a shortage of money. It's really cool how this castle tells the story of France, it's ruling class, and Blois.

13th Century

This is the 13th Century Medieval fortress. This part of the castle was built by the counts of Blois starting the 10th Century. The counts of Blois had built a tower to start off, but it was expanded as time grew. Currently, there's only a tiny portion of this structure. This will be the plainest area in the complex and include the seigneurial room (the room for the Feudal lord), part of the rampart, three towers incorporated in the François I wing, and the circular Foix Tower.

Late 1400's (1498-1501) Louis XII

This is the wing that houses the museum at Blois

The Louis XII section of Chateau de Blois has touches of Italy throughout

Louis XII is responsible for this part of the chateau. He made it so the fortress became a more suitable living area. This is the area that has the entrance with the equestrian statue. The Gothic area of the building has an open arcade (a series of arches) that leads to two stairways that allow you to reach the 2nd floor (these are the ones that lead to the Fine Arts Museum. Louis did quite well in the Italian wars and was even the king of Naples for a time. It should come as no surprise that this area of the chateau has some Italian influence. Louis XII loved the Chateau de Blois.

Louis XII died in without a male heir. Francis of Angoulême became his successor.

1515-1520 Francois I & Queen Claude

The place where the Francois I & Gaston of Orleans Wings meet

Check out the mixing of architectural styles at Blois

This is my favorite of all the styles of the chateau de Blois. This is some serious Renaissance vibe here all thanks to Francois I. The crown jewel of this area of the Chateau is the spiral stair case. It has gorgeous buttresses, tons of windows and openings. You can't miss it. This staircase is no longer protective and built to hide its denizens. The staircase pushes out demanding that you look at it. Visitors would climb up the stairs proudly, since this meant they were privy to the court. These stairs are a stage, the visitors are the actors. How cool is that! The staircase may have been inspired by those of the Palazzo Contarini in Venice.

The facade (you see this from outside the castle) was inspired by none other than Bramante (the architect of the Vatican). Just imagine what it must have felt like being in Francois' court and having a conversation while overlooking the city from these lodges.

Francois I's Salamander and his letters with his wife's

You can see Francois I's salamander throughout Blois as well as his motto "Nutrisco et extinguo"

Francois I's wife Queen Claude was the one who is truly responsible for this site. She was the one who convinced Francois to move the court there. You can see her symbol, the ermine throughout the structure. Sadly, after she passed in 1524, Francois left the Chateau.

Also very cool is that when you walk through the Francois I interior, there are pieces from the original chateau that have now been replaced, so you get to see the details of roofs, reliefs and gargoyles up close. Blois castle suffered a lot during the revolution. A lot of the original decoration was destroyed. Stones were removed from the facade and they stand a testimony of what can happen when politics affects art and architecture. You can see some of these details at the castle.

1635-38 Gaston of Orleans

Mansard's contribution to the Chateau de Blois

The Facade of The Gaston of Orleans Wing by Mansard

Louis XIII's brother, Gaston, Duke of Orleans was the last to have a hand in the Chateau.He chose this Chateau because it was close to Orleans and because it had a history of royalty with which he wished to be affiliated. He commissioned none other than Francois Mansard (one of my all time favorite architects) to create the new wing. This wing is the one that faces you when you enter the chateau complex. Gaston felt that the Francois I wing (the one with the super cool staircase) was old and dated. He did irreparable damage when he demolished a part of the wing. Lucky for us, he ran out of money and was not able to finish. This part of the castle is the most like Versailles. It focuses on symmetry. It has columns, pilasters, capitals and pediments that are elements of classic Greek architecture.

Things Not to Miss in the Chateau de Blois

The Portrait of Tognina Gonsalvus

There is quite an interesting painting in the chateau. This young lady was afflicted with hypertrichosis (or as it is crudely known, werewolf syndrome). The portrait shows her in a  loving way, not as a freak, but as a respected member of society.

The Secret Chambers of Catherine de Medici

The secret chambers and drawers at Blois of Catherine de Medici

The panels that lead to Catherine De Medici's secret chambers

Marie de Medici was another notable resident of Blois, although not by choice. She was married to Henry VI with whom she had a son, Louis XIII. While her husband was alive, she stayed out of politics. But when he was murdered in 1610, she changed her stance and became an active regent. When Louis turned 16, he decided to get rid of mom. He started by removing her council and exiled her to Blois where there is a room with beautiful wood panels. These panels contain secret niches where lore said she kept poison. Most likely, she kept other things than poison, but this is still something that is really cool to see.

The Staircase

You won't miss it once you go inside, but make sure you go up the staircase. It's an incredible experience.

The Lookout

There is an incredible look out by the chapel. You can get a gorgeous view of the entire city from here.

Where to Eat Near the Chateau De Blois

Unlike most other places that I have been to in France, I was not blown away by the food in Blois. I had my best meals at the Saturday market, but there were a few restaurants that stood out. The first two are within walking distance of the chateau. The last, you'll need to take a taxi or Uber to.

L'Orangerie Du Chateau

A Michelin star restaurant in Blois with a great deal

Check out L'Orangerie du Chateau for a fantastic deal (when you consider how good the food is).

Just a word of warning. This is a Michelin starred restaurant, so it is pricy. But it is absolutely wonderful and they offer a pretty good lunch deal at 39 €. It's the Menu de Confiance which gets you three courses. This place is worth the splurge. Just make sure you're wearing a reasonable nice outfit. No jeans, shorts, or sneakers.

Osaka

Osaka is a cheap Asian restaurant in Blois

Osaka is a solid Asian fusion restaurant with really cheap prices - reservations are a must

While it ain't pretty, this place is cheap and it is good. Make a reservation because if you don't you may not get in. The food is a mix of Japanese and Vietnamese. The Pho is as good as you'll get in this area of France and the formulas are quite generous. For example, their Japanese menu is just 8.80€ and comes with a soup, veggies, and rice AND four skewers AND beef with melted cheese.

Les Banquettes Rouges

A nice French Restaurant in Blois with a fair lunch price

For a good traditional French meal, check out Les Banquettes Rouges

This was a perfect place if you're looking for a fairly priced Loire style restaurant. It's tiny, quaint, and the service and food are great. Menus start at 17.5€.

Boulangerie Guyon

A classic French lunch near the Chateau de Blois

Grab a Jambon Beurre and a drink for a cheap and tasty meal near Blois Chateau

Not so far from the chateau and a great place to pick up a Jambon Beurre and some sweets. They also make a sausage bread that is to die for and they have takeaway lunch specials. This place is highly recommended.

Assa

A michelin star restaurant in Blois that won't break the bank

Assa offers a great lunch deal

This one is not within walking distance (I walked there - but I love to walk). It has one Michelin star, but still has issues to work out service wise. The food was lovely. If you need to choose between Orangerie and here, choose Orangerie. If you have already visited Orangerie, Assa is a good alternative. They offer 7 menus, starting at 36 € for 2 courses.

 

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

ONE COMMENT ON THIS POST To “Tips for Visiting the Chateau de Blois in the Loire Valley of France”

Leave a Reply