布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

我离开了我的一块心脏的霍博肯

  • 公园西纳特拉驱动霍博肯
  • 霍博肯棒球纪念馆
  • 哈德森记者霍博肯总部
  • SOBI自行车共享计划
  • 古厝霍博肯9日和Hudson
  • 自由塔纽约
  • 战士雕塑步枪霍博肯
  • 霍博肯壁画 150 多年的历史
  • 曼哈顿天际线日出
  • 无家可归的霍博肯
  • 小院霍博肯
  • 蛋糕天王, 巴迪Valastro
  • 码头的霍博肯日出
  • 从霍博肯纽约天际线
  • 霍博肯鱼头
  • 哈得逊河日出
  • 意大利德利霍博肯
  • Mechanical Horse hoboken
  • 新泽西州霍博肯市教堂广场公园
  • 霍博肯岛
  • Hoboken's Hudson River Park
  • 纽约市的景观
  • W酒店新泽西州霍博肯
  • 水上游乐区新泽西州霍博肯
  • 霍博肯篮球场
  • 路卡布拉西意大利熟食店
  • 古巴餐厅霍博肯
  • 渡轮在Lackawana
  • 哥伦布县公园新泽西州霍博肯
  • 凉亭在哥伦布县公园霍博肯
  • 消防员纪念碑霍博肯
  • 霍博肯教堂广场园春
  • 纪念碑马可尼
  • 霍博肯教堂广场公园游乐场
  • Fiore's Italian Delicatessen

霍博肯可能是美国最美丽的城市之一. 在卑尔根县长大的一个女孩泽西, 我记得我的继父告诉我从来没有去霍博肯. 这个镇是危险的, 坚韧不拔. 我发现这是完全错误的,当我进入高中和霍博肯是我们通往纽约. 如果从网关区域不是, 你可能听说过霍博肯无论是从观看 "在海滨" 与马龙·白兰度. Or perhaps you've heard of it because Frank Sinatra was born. Or perhaps because Hoboken is the birth place of baseball. 如果霍博肯最近刚刚打你的耳朵, 这是因为好友Vallastro和卡罗的面包店的可能. 今天, you'll get all the info you need to know about Hoboken as well as Hoboken Travel Tips to help you have a great time in what has become one of New Jersey's best (and most expensive cities). 

Hoboken Travel Tips

熟食店:

第一次世界大战后, 意大利搬到霍博肯. 这意味着我们现在得到获得回报. 你不能出错,这些熟食店的, you may have to hit the gym to burn off all those delicious calories...but who cares. There are some incredible Italian delicatessens including:

  • 菲奥雷的 (414 圣斯) 我的最爱 - 每天午饭时间,他们成为城里最好的三明治,直到他们用完 & 关. 我提到在新泽西州最好的马苏里拉?
  • 丽莎的 (901 公园大道) - 它已经出现自 1971 并且它是作为意大利,因为它得到. 拿起一些MUTZ, 买一些球衣西红柿,并作出卡普雷塞. 你会开心的.
  • 路卡布拉西的 (100 公园大道) - 在这里,你想要得到的潜艇.
  • Vito的 (806 华盛顿街) - 比其余冷门, 但一样好. 面包是关键.

公园:

如果你爱的公园和户外生活, 这对你是一个伟大的城市, 特别是如果你有孩子或狗. 这些不都是在霍博肯公园, but just a few that I love and enjoy. 

  • 教堂广场公园 (4间花园街 & 5圣日) - 我最喜欢的,因为我住在5号 & 花园. 它最近被翻新,这是比以往更好. 它具有的每天的基础上使用的篮球场. 有一条大狗在何处运行Hobokenites经常拿自己的幼崽. 有丛林健身房,使 5 岁的我嫉妒. 在夏天, 霍博肯主机在公园的凉亭免费音乐会和节日. 有一个纪念碑消防员 (卡斯帕Buberl,1891), 一个退伍军人纪念, 和纪念碑Gugliemo马可尼 (电报的发明者).
  • 哥伦布公园 (9日之间克林顿街 &10圣日) - 超可爱公园 (即使这是一个非常讨厌的历史人物的名字命名). 公园内有篮球场, 游乐场, 网球场, 地掷球, 沙狐球, 和敲击墙壁. 在夏天. 他们为孩子们喷雾公园. 它是由查尔斯·劳里和设计 (预期它的名字) 有先生的雕塑. 哥伦布, 一个 "孙府" 这是一个下沉式花园凉亭.
  • 霍博肯岛 - 码头Ç公园(西纳特拉驱动器 & 4日) 是该市最新的公园. 它是在哈得逊河浮岛是微小, 但拥有许多珍品. 公园内有一个渔船码头 (我仍然在震荡,人们吃出来的那些水的鱼...但是,这是一个不同的故事), 对于小子游乐区, 一个可爱的长廊, 甚至鸟巢.
  • Pier A -  (100 西纳特拉驱动器) 就是谁跳到岸上Hobokenites崇拜太阳的地方. 这是一个地方的人玩足球的旗帜,并获得新的自由塔的一瞥. 从这里开始你的步行路程,走在西纳特拉驱动一路霍博肯年底.
  • 伊利森公园(10日之间的哈德逊街 &11圣日) 这原本是极乐世界,其中第一举办棒球比赛发生的一部分.  该公园是几步即将离开关闭麦克斯韦 (我们会想念你) 和广厦霍博肯.
  • 史蒂芬大学: 不是一个真正的公园, 但多孔烟, 这是在霍博肯最美丽的地方之一. 游览校园,偷偷在城堡点的纽约市最美丽的景色.

餐饮:  

霍博肯拥有万吨 (和成吨的餐馆). 大部分是平庸, 但好的是真的 (真的好). 什么是我所爱?

  • Cucharamama: (333 克林顿街) - 马里切尔和克拉拉是拉丁美食大师. 你一定会喜欢什么,你拿起在这里.
  • (104 华盛顿街仅) - 如果你有古巴食物在北卑尔根或市总工会, 这个地方是没有什么特别的...但如果你需要真正美味的古巴修复,你不希望使驱动器UC或NB和处理蹩脚的停车场, 岛上是你的答案. 当然, 食物比JC常规的地方价格较高, 但它是D-A-M-N好. 除了, 该工作的人有超甜.
  • 咖啡馆Michelina(423 布卢姆菲尔德) 记得我告诉过你真的好意大利美食. 是啊, 这是地方. 食物是不花哨, 但它是美味. 除了, 它们是BYO.
  • 卡罗的面包店卡罗的好. It was a favorite of my sister and me when we were younger. 它已为镇和旅游有了很大. 话虽如此, 准备在线等待. 如果当地人获得不生气. 如果你有一个ID霍博肯, 他们会让你跳过行......这是唯一公平 - 谢谢, Buddy 🙂

更多有用信息

  • Bars - 霍博肯有一个非常健康的夜生活. 有对每一种滋味吧. 基本上, every young person from Jersey goes to Hoboken on Friday & 周六晚上得到他们的饮料. 这是伟大的,当我年轻的时候, 但是当我老了,就住在那里, 我得到了呕吐的小病在AM人行道.
  • 圣. 帕特里克节: 酒吧说起, 圣. 帕特的是最大的一天饮用霍博肯...但它通常是圣前举行的周末. 帕特里克. 通过 8 am you will see 20-year-olds on line waiting to get into every bar. If you move to Hoboken or are planning to visit...I'd plan for another weekend (除非你在参加庆祝活动).
  • 麦当娜烈士的盛宴发生在九月和它是可爱的, 即使非信徒. 霍博肯的意大利社区 (这是可悲的 & 慢慢地被高昂的租金价格推出城) 通过镇与麦当娜游行. 他们甚至走进餐馆与他们的步操乐队. 真可爱. 有食物, 音乐, 游戏, and fun. 这是一个伟大的时间参观.
  • 无家可归: 有霍博肯无家可归, 但他们通常据为己有. 他们不求他们不要打扰居民或游客. 我从未有过的一个问题,在霍博肯无家可归者 (不像旧金山)
  • 留: 你可以做W酒店, 但它会花费你 (他们甚至没有一个游泳池). 检查出的Airbnb代替, 选择是有限的, 但你可能会得到幸运.
  • NYC霍博肯是超级靠近纽约. 您可以乘坐火车的路径到纽约或 126 NJ公交车,在任何时候在那里. 他们在夜间运行频率较低, 但伟大的一日游.
  • ROOM: 霍博肯有SOBI自行车. 退房的程序,有乐趣的两个轮子检查出城.
  • 停車處: 如果你是一个居民霍博肯, 你可以得到一个 居民停车证 对于 $30. 否则, 请当心迹象, 霍博肯警察部门将票并引导你. 如果你能找到一个 "允许停车区唯一" 标志 ( 它的白色标志绿色字母), 你可以停在那里的4小时visitor's 临街的一面. 检查上面的链接获取更多信息的情况下,他们改变的东西. 有很多在霍博肯停车甲板的太多,如果你不想抓住这个机会.
  • 出租车: 出租车在霍博肯将向您收取 $5 在城市的任何地方 (和 $1 每增加一人). 由Path抢出租车, 如果你抓住它在别处, 它会花费你 $6. At night when people are coming back from NYC, you may have to share with someone.
  • 总线您也可以抢 126. 它驱动上下华盛顿街. 和成本只是 $1.50 如果你留在镇上. 这总线还将带你到纽约.
  • 购物如果你需要一个商场, 你可以去新港泽西城 (轻轨将带你直接出现). 但是我要说跳过此霍博肯店. 有一些大店. 如果你有一只狗, 查看 Beowoof - 卡尔主人是真棒. 也 阿劳, 它仍然是我最喜欢的商店珠宝1.

Need more Hoboken Travel Tips?  Just ask by leaving a question in the comments. Looking forward to chatting with you. 

 

下面的两个选项卡下面的更改内容.

布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

我FriendsEat和Socialdraft的联合创始人. 我有与勃艮第霞多丽不健康的痴迷, ASOIAF, 和旅行.

最新的帖子布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳 (查看全部)

Sponsored

发表评论

Blanca Valbuena

I left a piece of my heart in Hoboken

  • Park on Sinatra Drive in Hoboken
  • Hoboken Baseball Memorial
  • Hudson Reporter Headquarters Hoboken
  • Sobi bicycle share program
  • HIstoric Home Hoboken 9th and Hudson
  • Freedom Tower New York
  • Soldier sculpture rifles hoboken
  • Hoboken Mural 150 Years of History
  • Manhattan Skyline Sunrise
  • Homeless in Hoboken
  • Small homes hoboken
  • Cake Boss, Buddy Valastro
  • Pier A Hoboken Sunrise
  • New York Skyline from Hoboken
  • Fish Head in Hoboken
  • Hudson River Sunrise
  • Italian Deli Hoboken
  • Mechanical Horse hoboken
  • Hoboken NJ Church Square Park
  • Hoboken Island
  • Hoboken's Hudson River Park
  • View of New York City
  • W Hotel Hoboken NJ
  • Water Play area Hoboken NJ
  • Hoboken Basketball Courts
  • Luca Brasi Italian Delicatessen
  • Cuban Restaurant Hoboken
  • Ferry at Lackawana
  • Columbus County Park Hoboken NJ
  • Gazebo at Columbus County Park in Hoboken
  • Firemen Monument Hoboken
  • Hoboken Church Square Park Spring
  • Monument to Guglielmo Marconi
  • Hoboken Church Square Park Playground
  • Fiore's Italian Delicatessen

Hoboken may be one of the loveliest towns in the USA. Growing up in Bergen County as a Jersey Girl, I remember my step dad telling me never to go to Hoboken. The town was dangerous, gritty. I found out this was completely wrong when I got into High School and Hoboken was our gateway to NYC. If you're not from the Gateway area, you've probably heard of Hoboken either from watching "On the Waterfront" with Marlon Brando. Or perhaps you've heard of it because Frank Sinatra was born. Or perhaps because Hoboken is the birth place of baseball. If Hoboken has just recently hit your ears, it is probably because of Buddy Vallastro and Carlo's Bake Shop. Today, you'll get all the info you need to know about Hoboken as well as Hoboken Travel Tips to help you have a great time in what has become one of New Jersey's best (and most expensive cities). 

Hoboken Travel Tips

Delis:

After World War I, Italians moved to Hoboken. This means that we now get to reap the rewards. You cannot go wrong with any of these delis, you may have to hit the gym to burn off all those delicious calories...but who cares. There are some incredible Italian delicatessens including:

  • Fiore's (414 Adams St) My favorite - every day at lunch time they serve the best sandwiches in town until they run out & close. Did I mention the best Mozzarella in NJ?
  • Lisa's (901 Park Ave) - It has been around since 1971 and it is as Italian as it gets. Pick up some Mutz, buy some Jersey tomatoes and make a Caprese. You will be happy.
  • Luca Brasi's (100 Park Ave) - Here you want to get the subs.
  • Vito's (806 Washington Street) - less popular than the rest, but just as good. The bread is the key.

Parks:

If you love parks and outdoor living, this is a great city for you, especially if you have kids or dogs. These are not all the parks in Hoboken, but just a few that I love and enjoy. 

  • Church Square Park (Garden Street between 4th & 5th St) - My favorite since I lived on 5th & Garden. It has recently been revamped and it is better than ever. It has basketball courts that are used on a daily basis. There's a HUGE dog run where Hobokenites often take their pups. There are jungle gyms that make 5 year old me jealous. In the summer, Hoboken hosts free concerts in the Gazebo and feasts at the park. There is a monument to Firemen (Caspar Buberl,1891), a veteran's memorial, and a monument to Gugliemo Marconi (inventor of the telegraph).
  • Columbus Park (Clinton Street between 9th &10th St) - Super cute park (even if it is named after a pretty nasty historical figure). The park has basketball courts, a playground, tennis court, bocce, shuffleboard, and a hitting wall. In the Summer. they have a spray park for the kids. It was designed by Charles Lowrie and (as expected by its name) has a sculpture of Mr. Columbus, a "Sun House" which is a gazebo with a sunken garden.
  • Hoboken Island - Pier C Park (Sinatra Drive & 4th) One of the newest parks in town. It is a floating island on the Hudson river that is tiny, but holds many treasures. The park has a fishing pier (I'm still in shock that people eat fish that comes out of those waters...but that is a different story), a play area for the kiddies, a lovely promenade, and even a rookery.
  • Pier A -  (100 Sinatra Drive) is the place where Hobokenites who skip the shore worship the sun. It's a spot where people play flag football and get a glimpse at the new Freedom tower. Start your walk here and walk on Sinatra Drive all the way to the end of Hoboken.
  • Elysian Park (Hudson Street between 10th &11th St) This was originally part of the Elysian Fields where the first organized baseball game took place.  The park is a few steps away from the soon to close Maxwells (we'll miss you) and the Hoboken mansions.
  • Steven's University: Not really a park, but holey smokes, this is one of the most beautiful places in Hoboken. Tour the campus and sneak over to Castle Point for the most beautiful views of NYC.

Dining:  

Hoboken has tons (and tons of restaurants). The majority are mediocre, but the good ones are really (really good). What do I love?

  • Cucharamama: (333 Clinton Street) - Maricel and Clara are masters of Latin Cuisine. You will love anything you pick up here.
  • La Isla(104 Washington Steet) - If you've had Cuban food in North Bergen or Union City, this place is nothing special...but if you need a fix for really delicious Cuban and you don't want to make the drive to UC or NB and deal with the crappy parking, La Isla is your answer. Sure, the food is priced higher than your regular place in JC, but it is D-A-M-N good. Besides, the people that work there are super sweet.
  • Cafe Michelina(423 Bloomfield) Remember what I told you about really good Italian food. Yeah, this is the place. The food is not fancy, but it is delicious. Besides, they are a BYO.
  • Carlo's Bake ShopCarlo's is good. It was a favorite of my sister and me when we were younger. It has been great for the town and tourism. That being said, be prepared to wait online. And don't get upset if locals get in. If you have a Hoboken ID, they will let you skip the line...it's only fair - Thanks, Buddy 🙂

More Helpful Information

  • Bars - Hoboken has a very healthy nightlife. There are bars for every flavor. Basically, every young person from Jersey goes to Hoboken on Friday & Saturday nights to get their drink on. This was great when I was young, but when I got older and lived there, I got a little sick of the puke in the sidewalk in the AM.
  • St. Patrick's Day: Speaking of bars, St. Pat's is the largest drinking day in Hoboken...but it is usually held the weekend before St. Patricks. By 8 am you will see 20-year-olds on line waiting to get into every bar. If you move to Hoboken or are planning to visit...I'd plan for another weekend (unless you're joining in the festivities).
  • The Feast of the Madonna Dei MartiriTakes place in September and it is lovely, even as a non-believer. Hoboken's Italian community (which is sadly & slowly being pushed out of town by high rent prices) parades with the Madonna through the town. They even walk into restaurants with their marching bands. Really lovely. There is food, music, games, and fun. This is a great time to visit.
  • Homeless: There are homeless in Hoboken, but they usually keep to themselves. They don't beg and they don't bother residents or tourists. I have never had an issue with the homeless in Hoboken (unlike San Francisco)
  • Stay: You can do the W Hotel, but it will cost you (and they don't even have a pool). Check out Airbnb instead, options are limited, but you may get lucky.
  • NYCHoboken is super close to NYC. You can take the Path train into New York or the 126 NJ transit bus and be there in no time. They run less frequently at night, but great for a day excursion.
  • SOBI: Hoboken has Sobi bikes. Check out the program and have fun checking out the city in two wheels.
  • Parking: If you are a Hoboken resident, you can get a resident's parking permit for $30. If not, please beware the signs, Hoboken's police department will ticket and boot you. If you can find a "Permit Parking Only Zone" sign ( it's the white sign with green letters), you can park there for four hours on the visitor's side of the street. Check the link above for more info in case they change things. There are lots of parking decks in Hoboken too if you don't want to take the chance.
  • Taxis: Cabs in Hoboken will charge you $5 anywhere in the city (and $1 for each additional person). Grab a cab by the Path, if you grab it elsewhere, it will cost you $6. At night when people are coming back from NYC, you may have to share with someone.
  • BusYou can also grab the 126. It drives up and down Washington St. and costs just $1.50 if you stay in town. This bus will also take you to NYC.
  • Shopping If you need a mall, you can go to Newport in Jersey City (the light rail will take you directly there). But I say skip this and shop in Hoboken. There are some great shops. If you have a dog, check out Beowoof - Karl the owner is awesome. Also Aaraa, it is still one of my all time favorite shops for jewelry.

Need more Hoboken Travel Tips?  Just ask by leaving a question in the comments. Looking forward to chatting with you. 

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Sponsored

Leave a Reply