• How to enjoy museums in New York without spending a dime
  • Wie das traf Museum für ein paar Cent zu genießen
  • Sie können für nahezu frei auf Satuday Nächte zum Guggenheim gehen

 

Ich habe in der NY-Metro-Bereich, seit ich in die USA verschoben, und vielleicht eines der besten Dinge über in der größten Stadt der Welt leben, ist, dass, wenn Sie es wissen gut, Sie können für sehr wenig Geld viel Spaß haben. Ich studierte Kunstgeschichte, so ich bin ein großer Fan von Museen. Die gute Nachricht ist, dass Sie nicht eine Tonne Geld zu zahlen, müssen NYC Kunstszene genießen. Die meisten Museen bieten freien oder ermäßigten Satz Daten, Galerien werden Schaltstangen machen (mit Getränken & Snacks Kunstliebhaber), und NYC ist ein Museum für sich mit einigen der größten Architektur der Welt. Dieser Beitrag führt Sie Kunst in Manhattan auf einen Haushalt zu genießen (Zukunft Beiträge auf der äußeren Stadtbezirken kommt bald).

FREE MUSEEN IN NYC - JEDEN TAG DER WOCHE

Wie das traf Museum für ein paar Cent zu genießen

Sie müssen nicht viel Geld zahlen, um das traf zu gehen. Sie arbeiten an einem empfohlenen Spende, was bedeutet, können Sie zahlen, was Sie wollen

Das Metropolitan Museum (The Cloisters / Die Breuer): Dieser ist nicht 100% frei, und es gab viel Streit über die MET, aber eine Sache, gilt. Ihre Gebühr ist ein "empfohlene Spende". Das bedeutet, dass, obwohl der Zähler sagt der "empfohlene Spende ist $25" Sie können so wenig oder so viel geben, wie Sie wollen. Also, wenn Sie gehen in, Sie können so wenig geben, wie .25 cents. Die besten Zeiten zu gehen, um die erfüllt sind entweder Super früh am Morgen, oder spät während des Tages. Diese Zeiten sind optimal für die Massen zu minimieren. Wenn du fertig bist, gehen, um den Haupteingang und eine Kartoffel knish greifen und einen Hot Dog von den erfahrenen Anbietern. Slather auf etwas Senf und genießen Sie einen klassischen NYC treat.

Ich empfehle auf das Gehen Cloisters. Es ist in Fort Tyron, so ist es eine längere U-Bahnfahrt, aber es ist so eine Reise wert. Packen Sie ein Picknick, genießen Sie es im Park, und besuchen Sie dann eine der NYC speziellsten Museen. Die Cloisters besteht aus mehreren Stücken von Spolien von Schlössern und Kirchen in Europa und hat eine unglaubliche mittelalterliche Kunstsammlung gemacht. Es gibt auch ein mittelalterlicher Garten und die schönsten Blick auf die Palisades.

  • Die MET 5th Ave ist offen 7 Tage in der Woche
  • Die MET Breuer ist montags geschlossen
  • Die Cloisters sind offen 7 Tage in der Woche

Das Museum an FIT - Wer liebt Mode braucht einen Halt am Fashion Institute of Technology Museum zu machen. Neben Mode, es gibt Gespräche, Ausstellungen, Signierstunden ... und Promis ... man weiß ja nie, wer Sie in bei einem Besuch laufen.

Adresse: 7th Avenue at 27th Street. 212-217-4530

Die New York Public Libary: Eine Bibliothek? Ein Museum? Heck yeah! The NYPL's Stephen A. Schwarzman-Gebäude, ist ein wunderschönes Denkmal der Beaux Arts Bewegung NYC. Es ist aus glänzend weißem Marmor, die schön gegen den Beton-Dschungel Kontraste. Es ist eine erstaunliche Sammlung Kinder, vergessen Sie nicht, zu sagen hallo zu Winnie the Pooh (er lebt dort). Wenn du gehst, vergessen Sie nicht, ein Bild mit Geduld und Standhaftigkeit zu nehmen, die Bibliothek des Löwen. Dann den Kopf über Bryant Park, schnappen Sie sich einen Sandwich und genießen Sie viele der Aktivitäten. Im Sommer gibt es kostenlose Filme. Das ist so nah an Midtown Manhattanites wage, so gehen und die Stadt zu genießen wie wir es tun.

Adresse: 5th Avenue & 42nd Street. 917-275-6975

FREE MUSEEN IN NYC - MONTAGS

Museum an der Eldridge Street entfernt: New York City hat eine reiche jüdische Geschichte. This is an incredible 19th Century Synagogue that has been restored. Es ist ein großartiger Ort für seine Architektur zu besuchen, aber sie halten auch große Kunst-Programme. Die Synagoge bietet kostenlose Führungen Montag von 10 bin zu Mittag.

Adresse: 12 Eldridge Straße. 212.219.0302

FREE MUSEEN IN NYC - DIENSTAGS

9/11 Denkmal & Museum: It always pains me to write about this one, da dieses Ereignis hat die Welt verändert. Wenigstens hat es für mich. Ich wusste, dass Menschen, deren Namen auf der Website eingeschrieben, einige, deren Leichen wurden nie hinter Freunde und Familie verlassen gefunden und. Die Seite ist schön und das Museum bietet freien Eintritt dienstags. Der Außenbereich ist immer offen und immer kostenlos. Nur ein winziger Gefallen ... nehmen Sie nicht selfies hier lächelnd. Hass ist ein Ruck, hier zu sein, aber dieses Denkmal markiert viele Menschen die Trauer. Überspringen Sie die selfies an einer beliebigen Stelle, die ein Denkmal ist, das ist einfach in schlechten Geschmack.

Adresse: World Trade Center Museum an 180 Greenwich St. 212-266-5211 |

Morgan Library and Museum: Bibliophiles wird sich freuen. Diese Bibliothek verfügt über eine der schönsten Sammlung seltener Bücher und Manuskripte. Es gibt sogar Konzerte und Shows auf besondere Nächte. Sie können kostenlos Freitag von 7-9pm zum Morgan gehen, und wenn Sie die McKim Zimmer zu sehen (Morgan Privatbibliothek, seine Studie und die Rotunde), you can go Tuesdays, 3-5 pm; freitags ab 7-9 pm; und Sonntag, 4-6 pm.

Adresse: 225 Madison Ave. 212-685-0008

FREE MUSEEN IN NYC - WEDNESDAYS

Museum der jüdischen Heritage: Das Museum erzählt die Geschichte des Holocaust aus den Augen derer, die durch sie erlitten. Es ist eine Hommage an ihr Erbe und erinnert uns an, was passieren kann, wenn wir Angst und Wut lassen uns zu kontrollieren. The museum offers free admission Wednesdays from 4-8 pm.

Adresse: 36 Battery Place. 646-437-4202

FREE MUSEEN IN NYC - DONNERSTAGS

Museum für Kunst und Design: Dies ist der ehemalige amerikanische Crafts Museum, aber es hat sich weiterentwickelt (oder dezentralisierten) ein Museum für Kunst und Design zu werden. Es ist ein schönes Museum direkt Central Park. The museum has a bunch of volunteer docents who lead ldiscussion-based visits to museum highlights. Diese sind auf einer first-come Basis, und diese sind "frei" mit Zulassung. This museum offers a pay what you will from 6 bis 09.00 Uhr.

addresss: 2 Columbus Circle, 212-299-7777

Neues Museum: Diese super modern, Box aussehendes Gebäude, wo Sie zeitgenössische Kunst zu sehen, gehen. Das Museum ist auch für Lesungen bekannt, Shows, und sogar Trivia. Sie können zahlen, was Sie von 7-9pm wollen (deren Vorschlag ist, $2). Wenn Sie bringen einen Mantel der Männer zu spenden, Sie erhalten freien Eintritt zu jeder Zeit.

Adresse: 235 Bowery, 212-219-1222

Museum of Chinese in America: Dieses Museum ist für die Erhaltung und feiert chinesische Kultur vollständig gewidmet. Sie setzen auch auf einige wirklich coole kulturelle Veranstaltungen. Das Museum ist kostenlos am ersten Donnerstag eines jeden Monats.

Adresse: 215 Zentrum St., 855-955-MOCA

FREE MUSEEN IN NYC - FREITAG

Asia Society: The place for Asian art. Es ist eine kleine, aber schön Sammlung kuratiert, die Kunst umfasst von 1000 BCE dem Jahr 1800. Die Mehrzahl der Stücke gehörten hier zu John D. Rockefeller und seine Frau. Freier Eintritt ist von September bis Juni im Handel erhältlich, 6-9pm.

Adresse: 725 Park Avenue., 212-288-6400

Japan Society
: Dieser Raum geht über alle japanischen Kunststile abzudecken. Gemälde Es gibt, Ausstellungen, Filme, Aufführungen, und mehr. Darüber hinaus, the building is spectacular. The Japan Society offers free entry from 6-9pm.

Adresse: 333 East 47th Street, 212-715-1255

Museum für moderne Kunst: Eines der besten Museen der NYC, es hat einige der schönsten Meisterwerke der modernen Kunst. Diese erstaunliche Raum bietet freien Eintritt am Freitag von 4-8pm.

Die New-York Historical Society: Dies ist das älteste Museum in NYC. Es erzählt die Geschichte von Amerika von einem Punkt des New Yorker Sicht. Es hat eine unglaubliche Sammlung und ist ein fabelhafter Ort, um Souvenirs zu holen. Das Museum bietet eine "zahlen, was du willst" Freitag von 6-8pm.

Adresse: 170 Central Park West, 212-873-3400

Rubin Museum of Art: Der Rubin ist bekannt für die Zusammen nachdenklich Exponate Gedanken zu fördern,. Der Fokus liegt auf dem Himalaya, Indien, und Umgebung. Dieses Museum ist frei am Freitag von 6-10pm.

Adresse: 150 West-17th Street, 212-620-5000

Kindermuseum von Manhattan: This one is great if you have little ones. Ein fantastischer Ort für Kinder zu lernen, beteiligen sich an Aktivitäten, und Freunde. Es gibt freien Eintritt 5-8pm der erste Freitag des Monats.

Adresse: 212 West-83rd Street, 212-721-1223

Neue Galerie: Der Fokus liegt dabei auf 20. Jahrhundert deutsche und österreichische Kunst. Wenn Sie in Bauhaus, Sie gehen, diesen Ort zu lieben. Es gibt auch ein sehr schönes Café, wo Sie Ihre Batterien wieder aufladen können. Die Neue bietet freien Eintritt von 6 -8Uhr der erste Freitag eines jeden Monats.

FREE MUSEEN IN NYC - SAMSTAG

Sie können für nahezu frei auf Satuday Nächte zum Guggenheim gehen

Das Guggenheim hat bezahlt, was man Samstagen Wunsch 5:45-7:45

Das Jüdische Museum: Sie haben eine fantastische Sammlung von Kunst aus der jüdischen Künstler, und sie setzen einige erstaunliche Ausstellungen und Programme. Sie können zahlen, was Sie wollen am Donnerstag aus 5-8 oder gehen Sie am Samstag in freien Eintritt genießen.

Adresse: 1109 5th Ave., 212-423-3200

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum: Ich schrieb eine meiner College-Papiere auf diesem Museum. unnötig zu erwähnen, ich mag das. Das Geheimnis ist hier von oben beginnen und arbeiten Sie sich nach unten. You'll enjoy pieces by Picasso, Kandinsky und Miró. Karten sind recht teuer, aber man kann bezahlen, was Sie wollen, samstags von 5:45-7:45pm.

Adresse: 1071 5th Avenue, 212-423-3500

El Museo del Barrio: Als kolumbianisch-Amerikaner, dessen Herz an eine kubanisch-Dominikanische-amerikanischen gebunden ist, Ich bitte Sie eindringlich, das Museo del Barrio zu überprüfen,. Es feiert die vielen Farben, Nuancen und Aromen der Lateinamerikaner und ihre Kunst. Es befindet sich im Norden von Central Park, so, wenn Sie fertig sind, können Sie die Straße überqueren und die ruhigere Bereiche NYC beliebtesten Grünflächen kennen lernen. Der Eintritt ist frei dritten Samstag eines jeden Monats.

Adresse: 1230 5th Ave., 212-831-7272

FREE MUSEEN IN NYC - SONNTAGS

The Frick: Wenn Sie ein Liebhaber der schönen Französisch Dinge sind ... Sie können nicht einfach die Frick verpassen. It's set in an NYC mansion and houses Monets and Renoirs among others. Es beherbergt auch eine Konzertreihe .... Sie können aus dem Garten im Innenhof kostenfrei hören. Wenn Sie würde lik kostenlos zu gehen, planen Sie Ihre Reise am Sonntag von 11.00 bis 13.00 Uhr.

Adresse: 1 East 70th St., 212-288-0700

Studio Museum in Harlem: Harlem ist eine von NYC aufregendsten Gegenden (und eines seiner trendiest im Augenblick). Planen Sie einen Sonntagsausflug in das Studio Museum und stellen Sie sicher, ein Zimmer zu reservieren bei roten Hahn für Gospel Brunch. Das Museum zeigt schwarze Künstler (Amerikanischen und internationalen), and has a great collection of photographs by James Van Der Zee.

Adresse: 144 West 125th Street. 212-864-4500

Galerien & zeigt folgen.

 

Die folgenden zwei Registerkarten ändern Inhalt unten.

Blanca Valbuena

Ich bin der Mitbegründer von FriendsEat und Socialdraft. Ich habe eine ungesunde Obsession mit Burgunder Chardonnay bekam, ASOIAF, und Reisen.

Neueste Beiträge von Blanca Valbuena (alles sehen)

Sponsored

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Blanca Valbuena

Cheap Things to Do in NYC: Museums, Galleries, and Art

  • How to enjoy the met museum for pennies
  • You can go to the Guggenheim for almost free on Satuday nights

 

I've been in the NY-Metro area since I moved to the USA, and perhaps one of the best things about living in the greatest city in the world is that once you know it well, you can have tons of fun for very little money. I studied Art history, so I am a BIG fan of museums. The great news is that you don't have to pay a ton of money to enjoy NYC's art scene. Most museums offer free or reduced rate dates, galleries become make shift bars (offering drinks & snacks to art lovers), and NYC is a museum in itself with some of the world's greatest architecture. This post will guide you to enjoying art in Manhattan on a budget (future posts on the outer boroughs coming soon).

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - EVERY DAY OF THE WEEK

How to enjoy the met museum for pennies

You don't have to pay a lot of money to go to the met. They work on a suggested donation which means you can pay what you want

The Metropolitan Museum (The Cloisters/The Breuer): This one is not 100% free, and there has been much controversy over the MET, but one thing holds true. Their fee is a "suggested donation". This means that although the counter says the "suggested donation is $25" you can give as little or as much as you want. So when you go in, you can give as little as .25 cents. The best times to go to the met are either super early in the morning, or late during the day. These times are optimal for minimizing crowds. When you're done, go out the main entrance and grab a potato knish and a hot dog from the veteran vendors. Slather on some mustard and enjoy a classic NYC treat.

I highly recommend going to the Cloisters. It is in Fort Tyron, so it is a longer subway ride, but it is so worth the trip. Pack a picnic, enjoy it in the park, and then visit one of NYC's most special museums. The Cloisters is made up of multiple pieces of spolia from castles and churches in Europe and has an incredible Medieval art collection. There is also a Medieval garden and the most beautiful view of the Palisades.

  • The MET 5th Ave is open 7 days a week
  • The MET Breuer is closed Mondays
  • The Cloisters are open 7 days a week

The Museum at FIT - Anyone who loves fashion needs to make a stop at the Fashion Institute of Technology's museum. Besides fashion, there are talks, exhibits, book signings...and celebs...you never know who you will run into during a visit.

Address: 7th Avenue at 27th Street.  212-217-4530

The New York Public LibaryA library? A museum? Heck yeah! The NYPL's Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, is a gorgeous monument of NYC's Beaux Arts movement. It's made of shiny white marble that contrasts beautifully against the concrete jungle. There's an amazing children's collection, don't forget to say hello to Winnie the Pooh (he lives there). When you leave, don't forget to take a picture with Patience and Fortitude, the library's lions. Then head over to Bryant Park, grab a sandwich and enjoy many of the activities. In the Summer there are free movies. This is as close to Midtown as Manhattanites will venture, so go and enjoy the city as we do.

Address: 5th Avenue & 42nd Street. 917-275-6975

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - MONDAYS

Museum at Eldridge Street: New York City has a rich Jewish history. This is an incredible 19th Century Synagogue that has been restored. It is a great place to visit for its architecture, but they also hold great art programs. The Synagogue offers free tours Monday from 10 am to noon.

Address: 12 Eldridge Street. 212.219.0302

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - TUESDAYS

9/11 Memorial & Museum: It always pains me to write about this one, as this event changed the world. At least it did for me. I knew people whose names are inscribed at the site, some whose bodies were never found and left friends and family behind. The site is beautiful and the museum offers free entry on Tuesdays. The outside area is always open and always free. Just a tiny favor...don't take smiling selfies here. Hate to be a jerk here, but this monument marks many people's grief. Skip the selfies at any site that is a memorial, this is simply in bad taste.

Address: World Trade Center Museum at 180 Greenwich St. 212-266-5211 |

Morgan Library and Museum: Bibliophiles will rejoice. This library has one of the most beautiful collection of rare books and manuscripts. There are even concerts and shows on special nights. You can go to the Morgan for free Fridays from 7-9pm, and if you want to see the McKim rooms (Morgan's private library, his study and the rotunda), you can go Tuesdays, 3-5 pm; Fridays from 7-9 pm; and Sundays, 4-6 pm.

Address: 225 Madison Ave. 212-685-0008

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - WEDNESDAYS

Museum of Jewish Heritage: This museum tells the story of the Holocaust from the eyes of those who suffered through it. It pays homage to their heritage and reminds us of what can happen when we let fear and anger control us. The museum offers free admission Wednesdays from 4-8 pm.

Address: 36 Battery Place. 646-437-4202

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - THURSDAYS

Museum of Arts and Design: This is the former American Crafts Museum, but it has evolved (or devolved) to become a museum of art and design. It's a lovely museum right by Central Park. The museum has a bunch of volunteer docents who lead ldiscussion-based visits to museum highlights. These are available on a first-come basis, and these are "free" with admission. This museum offers a pay what you will from 6 to 9pm.

Addresss: 2 Columbus Circle, 212-299-7777

New Museum: This super modern, box looking building is where you go to see Contemporary art. The museum is also known for readings, shows, and even trivia. You can pay what you want from 7-9pm (their suggestion is $2). If you bring a men's coat to donate, you get free entry any time.

Address: 235 Bowery, 212-219-1222

Museum of Chinese in America: This museum is fully dedicated to preserving and celebrating Chinese culture. They also put on some really cool cultural events. The museum is free the First Thursday of every month.

Address: 215 Centre St., 855-955-MOCA

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - FRIDAYS

Asia Society: The place for Asian art. It's a small, but beautifully curated collection that includes art from 1000 BCE to the 1800's. The majority of the pieces here belonged to John D Rockefeller and his wife. Free entry is available from September through June, 6-9pm.

Address: 725 Park Avenue., 212-288-6400

Japan Society
: This space goes beyond to cover all Japanese art styles. There are paintings, exhibits, films, performances, and more. On top of that, the building is spectacular. The Japan Society offers free entry from 6-9pm.

Address: 333 East 47th Street, 212-715-1255

Museum of Modern Art: One of NYC's best museums, it has some of the most beautiful masterpieces of Modern Art. This amazing space offers free entry on Fridays from 4-8pm.

The New-York Historical Society: This is the oldest museum in NYC. It tells the stories of America from a New Yorker's point of view. It has an incredible collection and is a fabulous place to pick up souvenirs. The museum offers a "pay what you will" Fridays from 6-8pm.

Address: 170 Central Park West, 212-873-3400

Rubin Museum of Art: The Rubin is known for putting together thoughtful exhibits to encourage thought. The focus is on the Himalayas, India, and the surrounding area. This museum is free on Fridays from 6-10pm.

Address: 150 West 17th Street, 212-620-5000

Children’s Museum of Manhattan: This one is great if you have little ones. A fantastic place for kids to learn, take part in activities, and make friends. There's free admission 5-8pm the first friday of the month.

Address: 212 West 83rd Street, 212-721-1223

Neue Galerie: The focus here is on 20th Century German and Austrian art. If you're into Bauhaus, you're going to love this place. There's also a very nice cafe where you can recharge your batteries. The Neue offers free admission from 6 -8pm the first friday of every month.

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - SATURDAYS

You can go to the Guggenheim for almost free on Satuday nights

The Guggenheim has Pay What You Wish Saturdays 5:45–7:45

The Jewish Museum: They have a fantastic collection of art from Jewish artists, and they put up some amazing exhibitions and programs. You can pay what you want on Thursdays from 5-8 or go in on Saturdays to enjoy free admission.

Address: 1109 5th Ave., 212-423-3200

Solomon R. Guggenheim MuseumI wrote one of my college papers on this museum. Needless to say, I like it. The secret here is start from the top and work your way down.  You'll enjoy pieces by Picasso, Kandinsky and Miró. Tickets are quite pricy, but you can pay what you want Saturdays from 5:45-7:45pm.

Address: 1071 5th Avenue, 212-423-3500

El Museo del Barrio:  As a Colombian-American whose heart is tied to a Cuban-Dominican-American, I strongly urge you to check out the Museo del Barrio. It celebrates the many colors, shades and flavors of Latin Americans and their art. It sits in the north of Central Park, so when you're done you can cross the street and get to know the more quiet areas of NYC's most beloved green space. Admission is free the third Saturday of every month.

Address: 1230 5th Ave., 212-831-7272

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - SUNDAYS

The Frick: If you're a lover of beautiful French things...you simply can't miss the Frick. It's set in an NYC mansion and houses Monets and Renoirs among others. It even hosts a concert series....you can listen free of charge from the garden courtyard. If you'd lik to go for free, schedule your trip on Sunday from 11am-1pm.

Address: 1 East 70th St., 212-288-0700

Studio Museum in HarlemHarlem is one of NYC's most vibrant neighborhoods (and one of its trendiest at the moment). Schedule a Sunday trip to The Studio Museum and make sure to make reservations at Red Rooster for Gospel Brunch. The museum showcases black artists (American and International), and has a great collection of photographs by James Van Der Zee.

Address: 144 West 125th Street. 212-864-4500

Galleries & shows to follow.

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Leave a Reply