• Comment profiter des musées à New York sans dépenser un centime
  • Comment apprécier le musée rencontré pour quelques centimes
  • Vous pouvez aller à la Guggenheim pour presque gratuitement les nuits Satuday

 

Je suis allé dans la région de New York-Metro depuis mon arrivée aux Etats-Unis, et peut-être l'une des meilleures choses à propos de la vie dans la plus grande ville du monde est qu'une fois que vous le savez bien, vous pouvez avoir des tonnes de plaisir pour très peu d'argent. J'ai étudié l'histoire de l'Art, donc je suis un grand fan des musées. Les bonnes nouvelles est que vous ne devez pas payer une tonne d'argent pour profiter de la scène artistique de New York. La plupart des musées offrent dates gratuits ou réduits taux, galeries deviennent faire des barres de changement de vitesse (proposant des boissons & collations aux amateurs d'art), et à New York est un musée en lui-même avec certains des plus grands architecture du monde. Ce poste vous guidera à profiter de l'art à Manhattan sur un budget (futurs messages sur l'extérieur les arrondissements à venir).

MUSÉES GRATUITES DANS NYC - CHAQUE JOUR DE LA SEMAINE

Comment apprécier le musée rencontré pour quelques centimes

Vous ne devez pas payer beaucoup d'argent pour aller à la rencontré. Ils travaillent sur un don suggéré qui signifie que vous pouvez payer ce que vous voulez

Le Metropolitan Museum (Les Cloisters / Le Breuer): Celui-ci est non 100% free, et il y a eu beaucoup de controverses sur le MET, mais une chose est vraie. Leurs honoraires est un "don suggéré". Cela signifie que, bien que le compteur indique le "don suggéré est $25" vous pouvez donner aussi peu ou autant que vous voulez. Donc, quand vous allez dans, vous pouvez donner aussi peu que .25 cents. Les meilleurs moments pour aller à la rencontré sont soit super tôt le matin, ou à la fin de la journée. Ces temps sont optimales pour réduire au minimum les foules. Lorsque vous avez terminé, sortir de l'entrée principale et de saisir une knish de pommes de terre et un hot-dog par les vendeurs vétérans. Slather sur un peu de moutarde et profiter d'un traitement classique NYC.

Je recommande vivement d'aller à la Cloisters. Il est à Fort Tyron, il est donc un long trajet de métro, mais il est tellement vaut le détour. Un pique-nique, en profiter dans le parc, puis visiter l'un des musées les plus spéciaux de NYC. The Cloisters est composé de plusieurs morceaux de spolia de châteaux et d'églises en Europe et possède une collection médiévale incroyable d'art. Il y a aussi un jardin médiéval et la plus belle vue des Palisades.

  • Le MET 5th Ave est ouvert 7 jours par semaine
  • Le MET Breuer est fermé le lundi
  • Les Cloisters sont ouverts 7 jours par semaine

Le Musée de la FIT - Celui qui aime la mode a besoin de faire un arrêt au Fashion Institute du musée de la technologie. Outre la mode, il y a des pourparlers, expositions, séances de dédicaces ... et célébrités ... vous ne savez jamais qui vous allez rencontrer lors d'une visite.

Adresse: 7e Avenue à 27th Street. 212-217-4530

The New York Public Libary: Une bibliothèque? Un musée? Heck ouais! Le NYPL Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, est un monument magnifique du mouvement Beaux-Arts de New York. Il est fait de marbre blanc brillant qui contraste magnifiquement contre la jungle de béton. Il y a la collection une étonnante enfants, ne pas oublier de dire bonjour à Winnie l'ourson (il y vit). Lorsque vous quittez, ne pas oublier de prendre une photo avec Patience et Fortitude, Les lions de la bibliothèque. Puis dirigez-vous vers Bryant Park, prendre un sandwich et profiter de nombreuses activités. En été, il y a des films gratuits. Ceci est aussi proche de Midtown que Manhattanites oserai, donc aller et profiter de la ville comme nous le faisons.

Adresse: 5e Avenue & 42nd Street. 917-275-6975

MUSÉES GRATUITES DANS NYC - LUNDIS

Museum at Eldridge Street: New York City a une histoire juive riche. Ceci est une synagogue du 19ème siècle incroyable qui a été restauré. Il est un endroit formidable à visiter pour son architecture, mais ils tiennent aussi de grands programmes d'art. La synagogue propose des visites guidées gratuites lundi de 10 h à midi.

Adresse: 12 Eldridge Street. 212.219.0302

MUSÉES GRATUITES DANS NYC - MARDIS

9/11 Mémorial & Musée: Cela me peine toujours à écrire sur celui-ci, que cet événement a changé le monde. Au moins, il a fait pour moi. Je savais que les personnes dont les noms sont inscrits sur le site, certains dont les corps ne furent jamais retrouvés et ont quitté les amis et la famille derrière. Le site est magnifique et le musée offre une entrée gratuite le mardi. L'espace extérieur est toujours ouvert et toujours gratuit. Juste une petite faveur ... ne prenez pas sourire selfies ici. La haine d'être une secousse ici, mais ce monument marque la douleur de beaucoup de gens. Passer les selfies à tout site qui est un mémorial, cela est tout simplement de mauvais goût.

Adresse: Musée du World Trade Center à 180 Greenwich St. 212-266-5211 |

Morgan Library and Museum: Bibliophiles se réjouiront. Cette bibliothèque a l'une des plus belle collection de livres et de manuscrits rares. Il y a des concerts et des spectacles même sur des soirées spéciales. Vous pouvez aller à la Morgan pour les vendredis gratuits de 7-9pm, et si vous voulez voir les chambres McKim (bibliothèque privée de Morgan, son étude et la rotonde), vous pouvez aller mardi, 3-5 pm; vendredi de 7-9 pm; et le dimanche, 4-6 pm.

Adresse: 225 Madison Ave. 212-685-0008

MUSÉES GRATUITES DANS NYC - MERCREDIS

Musée de Heritag juivee: Ce musée raconte l'histoire de l'Holocauste aux yeux de ceux qui ont souffert à travers elle. Il rend hommage à leur héritage et nous rappelle ce qui peut arriver lorsque nous laissons la peur et la colère nous contrôler. Le musée propose gratuitement les mercredis d'admission de 4-8 pm.

Adresse: 36 Batterie Lieu. 646-437-4202

MUSÉES GRATUITES DANS NYC - JEUDIS

Musée des Arts et du Design: Ceci est l'ancien Musée American Crafts, mais il a évolué (ou déconcentrée) pour devenir un musée d'art et de design. Il est un beau droit de musée par Central Park. Le musée a un tas de docents bénévoles qui mènent des visites en fonction ldiscussion-Museum met en évidence. Ceux-ci sont disponibles sur une base du premier arrivé, et ceux-ci sont "free" avec l'admission. Ce musée offre un salaire de ce que vous voulez 6 à 21:00.

addresss: 2 Columbus Circle, 212-299-7777

Nouveau Musée: Ce super moderne, case bâtiment à la recherche est l'endroit où vous allez voir l'art contemporain. Le musée est également connu pour les lectures, montre, et même trivia. Vous pouvez payer ce que vous voulez à partir de 7-9pm (leur suggestion est $2). Si vous apportez le manteau d'hommes pour faire un don, vous obtenez une entrée gratuite en tout temps.

Adresse: 235 Bowery, 212-219-1222

Musée des Chinois en Amérique: Ce musée est entièrement dédié à la préservation et la célébration de la culture chinoise. Ils ont également mis sur certains événements culturels vraiment cool. Le musée est gratuit le premier jeudi de chaque mois.

Adresse: 215 Centre St., 855-955-MOCA

MUSÉES GRATUITES DANS NYC - VENDREDIS

Asia Society: Le lieu de l'art asiatique. Il est un petit, mais magnifiquement collection qui comprend l'art de commissaire 1000 BCE aux années 1800. La majorité des pièces ici appartenait à John D Rockefeller et sa femme. Entrée gratuite est disponible à partir de Septembre à Juin, 6-9pm.

Adresse: 725 L'avenue du Parc., 212-288-6400

Japan Society
: Cet espace va au-delà de couvrir tous les styles d'art japonais. Il y a des peintures, expositions, films, les performances, and more. On top of that, le bâtiment est spectaculaire. La Société japonaise offre une entrée gratuite à partir de 6-9pm.

Adresse: 333 East 47th Street, 212-715-1255

musée d'art moderne: L'un des meilleurs musées de New York, il a quelques-uns des plus beaux chefs-d'œuvre de l'art moderne. Cet espace étonnant offre une entrée gratuite le vendredi de 4-8pm.

Le New-York Historical Society: Ceci est le plus ancien musée à New York. Il raconte l'histoire de l'Amérique du point de vue du New Yorker. Il dispose d'une collection incroyable et est un endroit fabuleux pour acheter des souvenirs. Le musée offre une "payer ce que vous voulez" Vendredi de 6-8pm.

Adresse: 170 Central Park West, 212-873-3400

Rubin Museum of Art: Le Rubin est connu pour mettre ensemble des expositions réfléchies pour encourager la pensée. L'accent est mis sur l'Himalaya, Inde, et la région environnante. Ce musée est gratuite le vendredi de 6-10pm.

Adresse: 150 Ouest 17th Street, 212-620-5000

Musée des enfants de Manhattan: Celui-ci est très bien si vous avez des petits. Un endroit fantastique pour les enfants à apprendre, prendre part aux activités, et faire des amis. Il y a une entrée gratuite 5-8pm le premier vendredi du mois.

Adresse: 212 Ouest 83rd Street, 212-721-1223

Neue Galerie: L'accent est mis ici sur 20th Century allemand et l'art autrichien. Si vous êtes dans Bauhaus, vous allez adorer cet endroit. Il y a aussi un très bon café où vous pourrez recharger vos batteries. La Neue offre l'entrée gratuite à partir de 6 -8h le premier vendredi de chaque mois.

MUSÉES GRATUITES DANS NYC - LES SAMEDIS

Vous pouvez aller à la Guggenheim pour presque gratuitement les nuits Satuday

Le Guggenheim a payer ce que vous Souhait samedi 5:45-7:45

Le Musée juif: Ils ont une fantastique collection d'art d'artistes juifs, et ils ont mis en place des expositions et des programmes étonnants. Vous pouvez payer ce que vous voulez le jeudi de 5-8 ou rendez-vous dans le samedi pour profiter de l'entrée gratuite.

Adresse: 1109 5th Ave., 212-423-3200

Solomon R. Musée Guggenheim: Je l'ai écrit un de mes papiers d'université sur ce musée. Needless to say, J'aime ça. Le secret ici est de commencer par le haut et de travailler votre chemin vers le bas. Vous apprécierez des pièces de Picasso, Kandinsky et Miró. Les billets sont assez chers, mais vous pouvez payer ce que vous voulez le samedi de 5:45-7:45pm.

Adresse: 1071 5e Avenue, 212-423-3500

El Museo del Barrio: Comme un Colombien américain dont le cœur est attaché à un cubano-dominicaine-américaine, Je vous invite fortement à consulter le Museo del Barrio. Il célèbre les nombreuses couleurs, nuances et les saveurs des Latino-Américains et leur art. Il se trouve dans le nord de Central Park, donc quand vous avez terminé, vous pouvez traverser la rue et de connaître les zones les plus calmes de l'espace vert le plus aimé de NYC. L'entrée est gratuite le troisième samedi de chaque mois.

Adresse: 1230 5th Ave., 212-831-7272

MUSÉES GRATUITES DANS NYC - LES DIMANCHES

La Frick: Si vous êtes un amateur de belles choses françaises ... vous ne pouvez pas manquer la Frick. Il est situé dans un manoir NYC et abrite Monets et Renoirs entre autres. Il accueille même une série de concerts .... vous pouvez écouter gratuitement auprès de la cour du jardin. Si vous souhaitez Lik aller gratuitement, planifier votre voyage le dimanche de onze heures-13 heures.

Adresse: 1 East 70th St., 212-288-0700

Studio Museum in Harlem: Harlem est l'un des quartiers les plus animés de New York (et un de ses plus branchés au moment). Planifier un voyage dimanche au Studio Museum et assurez-vous de faire des réservations au Red Rooster Gospel Brunch. Le musée présente des artistes noirs (Américaine et internationale), et a une grande collection de photographies de James Van Der Zee.

Adresse: 144 Street West 125e. 212-864-4500

Galeries & montre à suivre.

 

Les deux onglets suivants changent de contenu ci-dessous.

Blanca Valbuena

Je suis le co-fondateur de FriendsEat et Socialdraft. J'ai une obsession malsaine avec Chardonnay bourguignon, ASOIAF, et Voyage.

Derniers messages de Blanca Valbuena (voir tout)

Sponsored

Leave a Reply

Blanca Valbuena

Cheap Things to Do in NYC: Museums, Galleries, and Art

  • How to enjoy the met museum for pennies
  • You can go to the Guggenheim for almost free on Satuday nights

 

I've been in the NY-Metro area since I moved to the USA, and perhaps one of the best things about living in the greatest city in the world is that once you know it well, you can have tons of fun for very little money. I studied Art history, so I am a BIG fan of museums. The great news is that you don't have to pay a ton of money to enjoy NYC's art scene. Most museums offer free or reduced rate dates, galleries become make shift bars (offering drinks & snacks to art lovers), and NYC is a museum in itself with some of the world's greatest architecture. This post will guide you to enjoying art in Manhattan on a budget (future posts on the outer boroughs coming soon).

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - EVERY DAY OF THE WEEK

How to enjoy the met museum for pennies

You don't have to pay a lot of money to go to the met. They work on a suggested donation which means you can pay what you want

The Metropolitan Museum (The Cloisters/The Breuer): This one is not 100% free, and there has been much controversy over the MET, but one thing holds true. Their fee is a "suggested donation". This means that although the counter says the "suggested donation is $25" you can give as little or as much as you want. So when you go in, you can give as little as .25 cents. The best times to go to the met are either super early in the morning, or late during the day. These times are optimal for minimizing crowds. When you're done, go out the main entrance and grab a potato knish and a hot dog from the veteran vendors. Slather on some mustard and enjoy a classic NYC treat.

I highly recommend going to the Cloisters. It is in Fort Tyron, so it is a longer subway ride, but it is so worth the trip. Pack a picnic, enjoy it in the park, and then visit one of NYC's most special museums. The Cloisters is made up of multiple pieces of spolia from castles and churches in Europe and has an incredible Medieval art collection. There is also a Medieval garden and the most beautiful view of the Palisades.

  • The MET 5th Ave is open 7 days a week
  • The MET Breuer is closed Mondays
  • The Cloisters are open 7 days a week

The Museum at FIT - Anyone who loves fashion needs to make a stop at the Fashion Institute of Technology's museum. Besides fashion, there are talks, exhibits, book signings...and celebs...you never know who you will run into during a visit.

Address: 7th Avenue at 27th Street.  212-217-4530

The New York Public LibaryA library? A museum? Heck yeah! The NYPL's Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, is a gorgeous monument of NYC's Beaux Arts movement. It's made of shiny white marble that contrasts beautifully against the concrete jungle. There's an amazing children's collection, don't forget to say hello to Winnie the Pooh (he lives there). When you leave, don't forget to take a picture with Patience and Fortitude, the library's lions. Then head over to Bryant Park, grab a sandwich and enjoy many of the activities. In the Summer there are free movies. This is as close to Midtown as Manhattanites will venture, so go and enjoy the city as we do.

Address: 5th Avenue & 42nd Street. 917-275-6975

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - MONDAYS

Museum at Eldridge Street: New York City has a rich Jewish history. This is an incredible 19th Century Synagogue that has been restored. It is a great place to visit for its architecture, but they also hold great art programs. The Synagogue offers free tours Monday from 10 am to noon.

Address: 12 Eldridge Street. 212.219.0302

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - TUESDAYS

9/11 Memorial & Museum: It always pains me to write about this one, as this event changed the world. At least it did for me. I knew people whose names are inscribed at the site, some whose bodies were never found and left friends and family behind. The site is beautiful and the museum offers free entry on Tuesdays. The outside area is always open and always free. Just a tiny favor...don't take smiling selfies here. Hate to be a jerk here, but this monument marks many people's grief. Skip the selfies at any site that is a memorial, this is simply in bad taste.

Address: World Trade Center Museum at 180 Greenwich St. 212-266-5211 |

Morgan Library and Museum: Bibliophiles will rejoice. This library has one of the most beautiful collection of rare books and manuscripts. There are even concerts and shows on special nights. You can go to the Morgan for free Fridays from 7-9pm, and if you want to see the McKim rooms (Morgan's private library, his study and the rotunda), you can go Tuesdays, 3-5 pm; Fridays from 7-9 pm; and Sundays, 4-6 pm.

Address: 225 Madison Ave. 212-685-0008

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - WEDNESDAYS

Museum of Jewish Heritage: This museum tells the story of the Holocaust from the eyes of those who suffered through it. It pays homage to their heritage and reminds us of what can happen when we let fear and anger control us. The museum offers free admission Wednesdays from 4-8 pm.

Address: 36 Battery Place. 646-437-4202

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - THURSDAYS

Museum of Arts and Design: This is the former American Crafts Museum, but it has evolved (or devolved) to become a museum of art and design. It's a lovely museum right by Central Park. The museum has a bunch of volunteer docents who lead ldiscussion-based visits to museum highlights. These are available on a first-come basis, and these are "free" with admission. This museum offers a pay what you will from 6 to 9pm.

Addresss: 2 Columbus Circle, 212-299-7777

New Museum: This super modern, box looking building is where you go to see Contemporary art. The museum is also known for readings, shows, and even trivia. You can pay what you want from 7-9pm (their suggestion is $2). If you bring a men's coat to donate, you get free entry any time.

Address: 235 Bowery, 212-219-1222

Museum of Chinese in America: This museum is fully dedicated to preserving and celebrating Chinese culture. They also put on some really cool cultural events. The museum is free the First Thursday of every month.

Address: 215 Centre St., 855-955-MOCA

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - FRIDAYS

Asia Society: The place for Asian art. It's a small, but beautifully curated collection that includes art from 1000 BCE to the 1800's. The majority of the pieces here belonged to John D Rockefeller and his wife. Free entry is available from September through June, 6-9pm.

Address: 725 Park Avenue., 212-288-6400

Japan Society
: This space goes beyond to cover all Japanese art styles. There are paintings, exhibits, films, performances, and more. On top of that, the building is spectacular. The Japan Society offers free entry from 6-9pm.

Address: 333 East 47th Street, 212-715-1255

Museum of Modern Art: One of NYC's best museums, it has some of the most beautiful masterpieces of Modern Art. This amazing space offers free entry on Fridays from 4-8pm.

The New-York Historical Society: This is the oldest museum in NYC. It tells the stories of America from a New Yorker's point of view. It has an incredible collection and is a fabulous place to pick up souvenirs. The museum offers a "pay what you will" Fridays from 6-8pm.

Address: 170 Central Park West, 212-873-3400

Rubin Museum of Art: The Rubin is known for putting together thoughtful exhibits to encourage thought. The focus is on the Himalayas, India, and the surrounding area. This museum is free on Fridays from 6-10pm.

Address: 150 West 17th Street, 212-620-5000

Children’s Museum of Manhattan: This one is great if you have little ones. A fantastic place for kids to learn, take part in activities, and make friends. There's free admission 5-8pm the first friday of the month.

Address: 212 West 83rd Street, 212-721-1223

Neue Galerie: The focus here is on 20th Century German and Austrian art. If you're into Bauhaus, you're going to love this place. There's also a very nice cafe where you can recharge your batteries. The Neue offers free admission from 6 -8pm the first friday of every month.

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - SATURDAYS

You can go to the Guggenheim for almost free on Satuday nights

The Guggenheim has Pay What You Wish Saturdays 5:45–7:45

The Jewish Museum: They have a fantastic collection of art from Jewish artists, and they put up some amazing exhibitions and programs. You can pay what you want on Thursdays from 5-8 or go in on Saturdays to enjoy free admission.

Address: 1109 5th Ave., 212-423-3200

Solomon R. Guggenheim MuseumI wrote one of my college papers on this museum. Needless to say, I like it. The secret here is start from the top and work your way down.  You'll enjoy pieces by Picasso, Kandinsky and Miró. Tickets are quite pricy, but you can pay what you want Saturdays from 5:45-7:45pm.

Address: 1071 5th Avenue, 212-423-3500

El Museo del Barrio:  As a Colombian-American whose heart is tied to a Cuban-Dominican-American, I strongly urge you to check out the Museo del Barrio. It celebrates the many colors, shades and flavors of Latin Americans and their art. It sits in the north of Central Park, so when you're done you can cross the street and get to know the more quiet areas of NYC's most beloved green space. Admission is free the third Saturday of every month.

Address: 1230 5th Ave., 212-831-7272

FREE MUSEUMS IN NYC - SUNDAYS

The Frick: If you're a lover of beautiful French things...you simply can't miss the Frick. It's set in an NYC mansion and houses Monets and Renoirs among others. It even hosts a concert series....you can listen free of charge from the garden courtyard. If you'd lik to go for free, schedule your trip on Sunday from 11am-1pm.

Address: 1 East 70th St., 212-288-0700

Studio Museum in HarlemHarlem is one of NYC's most vibrant neighborhoods (and one of its trendiest at the moment). Schedule a Sunday trip to The Studio Museum and make sure to make reservations at Red Rooster for Gospel Brunch. The museum showcases black artists (American and International), and has a great collection of photographs by James Van Der Zee.

Address: 144 West 125th Street. 212-864-4500

Galleries & shows to follow.

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Leave a Reply