Blanca Valbuena

Williamsburg Street Art

Ich bin kein Fan von Vandalismus, Graffiti inbegriffen. Nichts verschlimmert mich mehr als Idioten aus, die etruskische Katakomben in Rom kratzen, Chinesische Touristen, die scratchiti their names into Egyptian Tombs, Amerikanische imbeciles die Finger abbrechen 600-year-old sculptures, oder fühlen sie berechtigt sind, Kunstwerke zu berühren mit ihren schmuddelig ekelhaft Finger.  Ich bin dafür bekannt mein wütend Cheerleader Stimme in Museen auf der ganzen Welt zu verwenden, um unverantwortliche Eltern zu schreien, die ihre Kinder laufen lassen um wie Museen Spielplätze sind, Zuckungen, die nicht erkennen, dass ihre Finger haben Öle, die Gemälde und Wandteppiche ruinieren, sowie Menschen, die nicht abholen, nachdem ihre Hunde. Ich bin diese Person. Ich sehe etwas, I say something. Warum bringe ich irgendetwas davon nach oben? Weil ich bin begeistert, dass ich nicht mehr wütend sein müssen bei Straßenkunst (zumindest die ganze Zeit).  Ich bin begeistert, dass ich das Wort Graffiti hören und denken nicht von unschönen Tagging auf NYC U-Bahnen oder Menschen, wie die oben genannten.  Street Art has become incredibly sophisticated. Williamsburg Street Art is some of the finest in the USA and the world. 

Williamsburg Street Art

Ich liebe die Straßenkunst in Williamsburg. Es scheint ein Amalgam von Kindheit Mode Collagen und Koch-Ära Graffiti zu sein. Ich fühlte mich die Street Art ich in Williamsburg sah gritty Geschichte und die aktuelle der direkten Nachbarschaft des reflektierten (und die laufende) Gentrifizierung. Die Kunst ist es, junge, beschwingt, spielerisch, und unverschämt. Die meisten Stücke sind große Komposition und Farbtheorie auf sie angewendet. The art of Brooklyn's streets is not there to shock but to awe and impress. Wenn Sie Williamsburg treffen sich, expect to see a mix of paste-ups, Schablonen, Wandmalereien, Aufkleber, links Objekte, Graffiti, und Kombinationen von all diesen Kunstformen. Am wichtigsten, erwarten, dass sie zu lieben.

Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, das Lernen mehr, Buchen Sie sich einen Urlaub in Williamsburg & Auschecken Brooklyn Street Art und Straße Art Walk.

Wie nach Williamsburg zu bekommen

Flugzeuge: Fliegen Sie nach entweder JFK oder La Guardia.

  • Vom JFK - Ein Taxi nehmen, ernst, die U-Bahnen sind es nicht wert hier. Wenn Sie auf ein Abenteuer, Sie konnten den Air Train zu Howard Beach nehmen, hop dann auf der A Zug in Richtung Manhattan (das dauert eine Stunde), dann an der 14th Street aus und erhalten auf der L Zug (ein anderer 20 Protokoll) und steigen an der Bedford & N 7th Street (oder eine Straße näher an, wo Sie sich aufhalten).
  • Von La Guardia - Nehmen Sie einfach ein Taxi.

U-Bahn: 

  • J / M / Z Züge nach Marcy Avenue für Süden Williamsburg
  • L bis Bedford Avenue für Nordwilliamsburg.

Fähre

  • East River Ferry hält in Nord und Süd Williamsburg.

Übernachten in Williamsburg

  • AIRBNBMeine erste Wahl. Ich habe in einem schönen Loft-Wohnung mit einem tollen Küche für nur $325 pro Nacht.  Es wurde auch tierfreundlich, so konnte ich meinen Hund mitbringen, Petey, mit mir.
  • Whythe Hotels: Ich habe noch nie hier übernachtet, aber ich habe große Dinge gehört. Lohnt sich. Die Zimmer sind über $400 pro Nacht
  • König & Hain: Sie haben eine erstaunliche Pool. Auf eine gute Note, wenn Sie nicht wollen, in einem Hotel übernachten, Sie können eine Tageskarte kaufen, die Sie auf den Pool zugreifen geben. Gar nicht so schlecht. Die Zimmer sind auch über $400 pro Nacht.
Die folgenden zwei Registerkarten ändern Inhalt unten.

Blanca Valbuena

Ich bin der Mitbegründer von FriendsEat und Socialdraft. Ich habe eine ungesunde Obsession mit Burgunder Chardonnay bekam, ASOIAF, und Reisen.

Neueste Beiträge von Blanca Valbuena (alles sehen)

Sponsored

3 Kommentare zu diesem Beitrag zu “Williamsburg Street Art”

  • Charlie Calderin

    November 3, 2014 beim 3:00 pm

    Große Post und ich mit Ihnen voll und ganz zustimmen! ich, als ein Anfang Straßenfotograf auch geschrieben Bilder auf meinem Blog : FrommyheARTtoyourSOUL.blogspot.com
    auf meine Zeit in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. Ich liebe diese Gegend sowie Bushwick für die Straßenkunst und Bar-Szene! Viel Glück auf Ihrer Reise.

    • blancavalbuena

      Dezember 7, 2014 beim 1:48 pm

      Dank Charlie. Wird Auschecken Ihrem Blog. Lustig genug, einen Platz in Williamsburg ausgecheckt zu mieten und es war teurer als in Manhattan mieten…Stelle dir das vor.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Blanca Valbuena

I am not a fan of vandalism, graffiti included. Nothing aggravates me off more than idiots who scratch up Etruscan catacombs in Rome, Chinese tourists who scratchiti their names into Egyptian Tombs, American imbeciles who break fingers off 600-year-old sculptures, or feel they are entitled to touch artwork with their grubby disgusting fingers.  I've been known to use my angry cheerleader voice in museums throughout the world to yell at irresponsible parents who let their kids run around like museums are playgrounds, jerks who don't realize that their fingers have oils that will ruin paintings and tapestries, as well as people who don't pick up after their dogs. I am that person. I see something, I say something. Why do I bring any of this up? Because I am thrilled that I no longer need to be angry at street art (at least all the time).  I am excited that I can hear the word graffiti and not think of unsightly tagging on NYC subways or people like those mentioned above.  Street Art has become incredibly sophisticated. Williamsburg Street Art is some of the finest in the USA and the world. 

Williamsburg Street Art

I love the street art in Williamsburg. It seems to be an amalgam of childhood fashion collages and Koch-Era graffiti. I felt the street art I saw in Williamsburg reflected the neighborhood's gritty history and current (and ongoing) gentrification. The art is young, vibrant, playful, and impudent. Most pieces have great composition and color theory applied to them. The art of Brooklyn's streets is not there to shock but to awe and impress. When you hit up Williamsburg, expect to see a mix of paste-ups, stencils, murals, stickers, left objects, graffiti, and combinations of all these art forms. Most importantly, expect to love them.

If you're interested in learning more, book yourself a Williamsburg vacation & check out Brooklyn Street Art and Street Art Walk.

How to get to Williamsburg

Planes: Fly to either JFK or La Guardia.

  • From JFK - Take a taxi, seriously, the subways are not worth it here. If you're feeling adventurous, you could take the Air Train to Howard Beach, then hop on the A train towards Manhattan (which will take an hour), then get off at 14th Street and get on the L train (another 20 minutes) and get off at Bedford & N 7th Street (or a Street closer to where you are staying).
  • From La Guardia - Just take a taxi.

Subway: 

  • J/M/Z trains to Marcy Avenue for south Williamsburg
  • L to Bedford Avenue for north Williamsburg.

Ferry

  • East River Ferry stops in both North and South Williamsburg.

Where to Stay in Williamsburg

  • AirBnbMy first choice. I stayed at a lovely loft apartment with an awesome kitchen for just $325 per night.  It was also pet friendly, so I was able to bring my dog, Petey, with me.
  • Whythe Hotel: I've never stayed here, but I've heard great things. Worth checking out. Rooms are about $400 per night
  • King & Grove: They have an amazing pool. On a good note, if you don't want to stay in a hotel, you can buy a day pass that will give you access to the pool. Not bad at all. Rooms here are also about $400 per night.
The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Sponsored

3 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “Williamsburg Street Art”

  • Charlie Calderin

    November 3, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    Great post and I totally agree with you! I, as a beginning street photographer also posted images on my blog : FrommyheARTtoyourSOUL.blogspot.com
    on my time at Williamsburg, Brooklyn. I love that neighborhood as well as Bushwick for the street art and bar scene! Good luck on your travels.

    • blancavalbuena

      December 7, 2014 at 1:48 pm

      Thanks Charlie. Will be checking out your blog. Funny enough, checked out a place in Williamsburg to rent and it was more expensive than renting in Manhattan…go figure.

Leave a Reply