Blanca Valbuena

Versailles: Paradis et enfer

  • Fontaine dédié au dieu du vin
  • Versaille's Mirrored Room
  • Fontaine de Dragon Versailles
  • Allégorie du printemps fontaine Versailles Château
  • Fontaine du château de Versailles Encelade
  • Fontaine au Dieu Apolloin Château Versailles

Vous avez toujours rêvé d'aller àVersailles. Après tout, il est le plus beau château dans le monde, right?

Abso-freakin-lument. Mais vous détestez. Why, tu demandes? Parce que, tout comme Venise et Dubrovnik, Versailles est un lieu qui est ridiculement envahie par les touristes imbéciles qui ne savent même pas comment se comporter. Les volumes de personnes sont si grandes que le château est presque impossible de traverser. Les foules sont si grandes que les gardes ne peuvent même pas prendre soin de l'œuvre d'art. Je devais crier à un touriste américain connard qui a été en contact avec une peinture. Puis il a eu les couilles de me regarder d'un air incrédule, comme si je avais pas le droit de le faire. Si quelqu'un d'entre vous connaissent la "gentilhomme" dans les photos, s'il vous plaît lui donner le message suivant que je peut avoir été trop furieuse d'être articulée quand je criais à lui dans un mauvais français:

Cela va QUE VOUS ET LE PLUS NOMBREUX COMME VOUS -  L'ART EST PAS LE VÔTRE - L'ART EST FRAGILE - L'ART EST VIEUX - SI VOUS toucher avec Grubby, DISGUSTING, Kentucky Fried Chicken Fingers de lécher, VOUS ALLEZ ruiner l'ART. VOUS ÊTES loin d'être aussi important ou aussi important que cet art est. Vous vivrez AU PLUS 100 ANS, Mais cet art peut vivre beaucoup plus longtemps si CULS comme vous ne touchez pas.

Maintenant que nous avons obtenu que sur la manière, Je vais vous donner quelques conseils sur ce que vous devriez voir à Versailles, ainsi que des choses qui feront beaucoup plus agréable votre voyage.

 

 

Les choses à voir à Versailles

L'Orangerie - Oranges douces ont été très précieux en France à l'époque. Ils avaient été mis en place en France autour du 15ème siècle et ont été importants pour le commerce. L'orangerie de Versailles a été lancé par Jules Hardouin-Mansart in1684, avant toute autre partie du complexe a été commencé.  Certains de ces arbres que vous allez voir, il ya plus de 200 years old. Ce sont essentiellement les espaces souterrains où les arbres fruitiers peuvent être hiverné et amenés au printemps. Ne manquez pas la statue équestre du Bernin.

The Fountain of Latona - La fontaine, conçu par Balthazar Marsy dispose la déesse Latone que le "topper gâteau".  Il a d'abord assis sur le sommet d'un rocher, but Hardouin-Mansart placed Latona and her children in the top register on a marble base made up of four tiers. Latona, Apollon & La mère de Diana,  protège ses enfants des paysans de Lycie qui refusent de la laisser boire de leur eau.  Elle a les transformer en lézards et les grenouilles (que vous voyez sur les registres inférieurs). Dans les registres intermédiaires, vous pouvez voir la transformation qui se passe et sur le fond inscrivez vous voyez lézards & tortues entièrement transformés. Quelque chose me dit le roi vraiment identifié avec Latone, pourquoi? Il y avait un événement appelé La Fronde qui a eu lieu pendant la jeunesse du roi. Les personnes remises en question et se levèrent contre la royauté. The coup was put down by monarchic forces but only at great effort. It was because of this idea of the constant threat of uprising that it was believed that Louis XIV was leery about living in Paris (cœur de la Fronde). Le roi érigé cette allégorie comme un avertissement à ceux qui peuvent se soulever contre la monarchie, eux aussi, être mises à grenouilles si ils se révoltèrent.

Fontaine au Dieu Apolloin Château Versailles

Fontaine d'Apollon par André Le Nôtre et Jean-Baptiste Tuby à Versailles France

La fontaine d'Apollon -Cette fontaine a remplacé la Fontaine des Cygnes.  This gilt lead group by Tuby depicts Apollo on his chariot and was inspired by a Le Brun painting. Apollo is seen rising from the horizon on his quadriga (Je dois une chose pour quadriges - ne me lancez pas sur la Tombe du Infernal Quadriga). La composition est étonnante lorsque l'eau est sur. Il semble que si les pièces d'eau à son commandement et ajoute mouvement et de dynamisme. L'eau jaillit même dans une Fleur de Lis, un symbole de la royauté française. Basically, cette sculpture est le roi en disant, Je suis pas un simple roi. JE SUIS APOLLO.

Le Bosquet de Apollo - Hugh Hefner avait rien sur Louis XIV. This, à mon avis, est la grotte ultime.

The Colonnade avec Pluton & Perséphone - Construit par Hardouin-Mansart, la Colonnade remplacé Springs Grove Le Nôtre. There are 32 marble columns. The arcades is decorated with low reliefs showing children. The arches depict nymphs and naiads. Le sujet de la sculpture à la colonnade est une autre scène des métamorphoses où Pluton son porte loin de sa mère Demeter. Demeter punit alors la terre avec les saisons. The sculpture was executed by Girardon (1678) who took inspiration from Bernini who sculpted the same scene in 1620.

Fontaine de Dragon Versailles

Versailles Fountain of the Dragon by Gaspard Marsy in 1667.

La fontaine du Dragon- I have a thing for dragons, vous pouvez blâmer George RR. Martin for that obsession. The Dragon Fountain depicts a winged snake killed by Apollo's arrow .  Le dragon est entouré par des dauphins et des putti, armés d'arcs et de flèches comme ils montent cygnes.

Avenue des Enfants- Menant à la fontaine du dragon est une avenue d'enfants. Il est une double rangée de "tiny" fontaines représentant des enfants.

The Grand Canal -  Il est énorme. Si vous pensez qu'il semble grand en images, attendre jusqu'à ce que vous voyez en personne.  Louis XIV avait fait des modèles de navires ont fait flotter sur le canal. Venise fois doué deux gondoles (qui est venu avec gondoliers) au roi. Louer un bateau et obtenir une bonne séance d'entraînement du haut du corps. Theinfini sensation du grand canal fait vous sentir lainfini pouvoir du roi.

Mirrored Room Versaille

La galerie des Glaces à Versailles

Galerie des Glaces - Ceci est la chose tout le monde veut voir, Le célèbreGalerie des Glaces. Il est magnifique ... la salle est par Hardouin Mansart en 1678, et les plafonds ont été peints par Charles Le Brun dans le mode qui a été inventé dans un hôtel sur l'Ile St. Louis Le Vau (Hôtel Lambert). Combinaison de peinture, sculpture et arts décoratifs ainsi que l'architecture qui avait été précédé par des choses que nous trouver ailleurs, comme Vaux Le Vicomte, Hôtel Lambert, etc ... Vous avez vraiment la chance de voir le développement de l'art français ici.

Bust of Louis XIV by Bernini - 1665 - Le roi a invité dessins des artistes les plus importants. Bernin est venu à Paris pour 5 mois et sculpté cette pièce. Pensez-y comme une claque dans la face à l'Italie depuis la patronne du Bernin était le Pape, mais il sentait cette commission était si important qu'il allait quitter Rome pour 5 mois à sculpter.

Conseils pour rendre votre voyage facile Versailles & Amusement

  • Passeport pass - Obtenir cette. Il coûte € 18 (ou € 25 quand il ya des spectacles d'eau) mais cela vous donne accès n'importe où sur le terrain.
  • Les billets en préventeAchetez vos billets à l'avance afin que vous puissiez sauter les lignes. Si vous avez oublié d'acheter vos billets en ligne, aller à la tourism office in Versailles when you get to town. Il est assez vide et vous pouvez acheter votre forfait de passeport il.
  • Rent a bike - Il ya des locations de vélo à les jardins. Ramassez une bouteille de rosé au château, un jambon beurre, and find yourself a nice quiet spot. This will make the trip to Versailles worth it.
  • Get there early - like I said, this is one of the worst places for tourists. So if you get there early, vousmay avoid some of the crowds. Give yourself plenty of time. Versailles is big, an hour or two won't do it.
  • Go in late September/early October - les foules sont plus petits et les fontaines sont toujours sur. 
  • Check out the city - La ville de Versailles est réelletres charmant. Certainement faire un peu de temps à marcher à travers et ramasser la nourriture à l'un de leurs restaurants.
  • Portez un écran solaire & comfortable shoes - qui est juste du bon sens.

Versailles Histoire

La propriété qui est maintenant Versailles appartenait à un homme florentin nommé Gondi (un Médicis) qui était une partie de la parliment à Paris. Comme de bons membres parlementaires ont eu tendance à faire, il a invité son roi Louis XIII à arrêter pour une chasse dans ses forêts. Louis est tombé en amour immédiatement et heureusement pour Gondi son sort était beaucoup mieux que le gars qui possédait la propriété Versailles est calquée. Louis XIII a acheté un morceau de la propriété pour son usage et a commencé à apporter des améliorations. Il a commencé par l'embauche de Le Roi (un architecte) pour construire un petit château de chasse. Il était une structure simple en pierre avec une toiture en ardoise. En temps voulu, Louis XIII a décidé d'acheter l'ensemble de la propriété. By 1643, la propriété était plus un château de chasse humble ... Versailles avait transformé en une ville avec plus de 1,000 personnes. Le roi est mort en 1642 quand son fils était un simple 5 years old.

In 1661 lorsque Louis XIV a commencé sa propre règle, il a montré un intérêt dans le site. Il aimait l'idée d'échapper à Paris et ses fonctions politiques. Paris était un lieu rude pour le roi. Politique et de l'insurrection avaient interféré avec son amusant. Il a commencé à montrer de l'intérêt à l'endroit de Versailles et a décidé de déménager ses bureaux de Paris à Versailles.

Ceci est où Nicolas Fouquet vient en. Il était le ministre des Finances de Louis XIV (roi junior). Apparemment, Nicolas Fouquet faisait si bien avec les finances du roi qu'il a décidé d'embaucher un de France les plus recherchés après achitects, Louis Le Vau, André Le Nôtre et Charles Le Brun à re-concevoir son château -Vaux-Le-Vicomte. Il a décidé (comme Gondi) qu'il divertir le roi. Malheureusement pour lui. le roi était tellement impressionné par le château, il commença à se demander comment Fouquet pouvait se permettre une telle Chateau étonnante. Trois semaines après leur rencontre, Fouquet a été arrêté pour détournement de fonds. Son bien a été saisi et est devenu le modèle pour ce qui est vu stylistiquement à Versailles.

Louis XIV (Junior King) ensuite embauché son propre architecte, Louis Le Vau, après avoir vu son travail à Vaux-Le-Vicomte, de faire complètement sur le château dans un plein sur le château ainsi que l'architecte paysagiste André Le Nôtre à embellir les lieux. By 1682, le tribunal avait officiellement déménagé de Paris à Versailles. Paris a perdu son titre de capitale ... et tous ceux qui voulaient passer à Versaille a obtenu un lopin de terre dans la ville gratuitement - chaque année si ils payaient des impôts et a construit la maison pour les spécifications décidées par l'architecte en chef du roi (les règlements de zonage d'amour dois).

In 1678, le roi a officiellement transféré sa cour et le gouvernement à Versailles. Comme de 1682, Paris était plus la capitale de la France. La ville de Versailles a grandi comme le roi permis à quiconque d'avoir un grand nombre dans la ville gratuitement tant qu'ils payaient un impôt chaque année et construit une maison selon l'architecte établi en chef du roi.

La maison de Louis XIV à Versailles est un signe que par ce temps ce vocabulaire de l'architecture (Classique Langue - arches, colonne, colonnes engagées, éléments horizontaux) est pleinement établie, elle est la seule façon de construire et personne ne revenir au passé médiéval.

Création de jardins devient un élément majeur ... Land reprend bâtiment. Le patron fait une déclaration de ses aspirations et la façon dont les choses devraient être dans son monde. Fondamentalement, le roi gouverne le peuple, architecture, et nature.

Maintenant que nous avons obtenu grâce à un peu d'histoire, Je sais que vous voulez voir le château. Heck, Je ne pouvais pas résister à. Je vous suggère d'y arriver super tôt avant la foule rouler dans. Dès que le château commence à se sentir étouffant .... foutre le camp et dans ses magnifiques jardins.

 

Comment se rendre à Château Versailles

En Train:

Versailles Rive Gauche (RER C depuis les stations Saint-Michel et du Champ de Mars de Paris)
Versailles Rive Droite (Transilien par les stations de Saint-Lazare et La Défense de Paris)
Versailles Chantiers (Transilien de la gare Montparnasse de Paris)

En Bus:

NE PRENEZ PAS UN BUS - le train est un tour plus rapide et plus agréable.

En Voiture: Prendre l'A13, sortie au Centre Versailles. Il ya un parking à la Place d'Armes, Allée de Bailly, Grand Trianon et le Petit Trianon

Les deux onglets suivants changent de contenu ci-dessous.

Blanca Valbuena

Je suis le co-fondateur de FriendsEat et Socialdraft. J'ai une obsession malsaine avec Chardonnay bourguignon, ASOIAF, et Voyage.

Derniers messages de Blanca Valbuena (voir tout)

Sponsored

5 COMMENTAIRES SUR CE POST Pour “Versailles: Paradis et enfer”

Leave a Reply

Blanca Valbuena

Versailles: Heaven and Hell

  • Fountain dedicated to the god of wine
  • Versaille's Mirrored Room
  • Fountain of Dragon Versailles
  • Allegory of Spring fountain Versailles Castle
  • Fountain of Enceladus Versailles castle
  • Fountain to the God Apolloin Versailles Castle

You've been dreaming of going to Versailles. After all, it is the most beautiful Castle in the world, right?

Abso-freakin-lutely. But you'll hate it. Why, you ask? Because, just like Venice and Dubrovnik, Versailles is a place that is ridiculously overrun by idiotic tourists who don't even know how to behave. The volumes of people are so large that the castle is almost impossible to traverse. The crowds are so large that guards can't even take care of the art work. I had to yell at some asshole American tourist who was touching a painting. Then he had the balls to look at me incredulously as if I had no right to do this. If any of you know the "gentleman" in the pictures, please give him the following message as I may have been too furious to be articulate when I was yelling at him in broken French:

THIS GOES TO THAT YOU AND THE MANY MORE LIKE YOU -  THE ART IS NOT YOURS - THE ART IS FRAGILE - THE ART IS OLD - IF YOU TOUCH IT WITH YOUR GRUBBY, DISGUSTING, KENTUCKY FRIED CHICKEN LICKING FINGERS, YOU ARE GOING TO RUIN THE ART. YOU ARE NOT ANYWHERE NEAR AS IMPORTANT OR AS SIGNIFICANT AS THIS ART IS. YOU'LL LIVE AT MOST 100 YEARS, BUT THIS ART CAN LIVE ON MUCH LONGER IF ASSES LIKE YOU DON'T TOUCH IT.

Now that we've gotten that out of the way, I'll give you some tips on what you should see at Versailles, as well as things that will make your trip significantly more pleasant.

 

 

Things to see in Versailles

The Orangerie - Sweet oranges were quite precious in France at the time. They had been introduced to France around the 15th century and were important for commerce. The orangerie at Versailles was started by Jules Hardouin-Mansart in1684, before any other part of the complex was begun.  Some of the trees that you will see there are over 200 years old. These are basically the subterranean spaces where the fruit trees can be wintered over and brought into spring. Do not miss the equestrian statue by Bernini.

The Fountain of Latona - The fountain, designed by Balthazar Marsy features the goddess Latona as the "cake topper".  It originally sat on top of a rock, but Hardouin-Mansart placed Latona and her children in the top register on a marble base made up of four tiers. Latona, Apollo & Diana's mother,  protects her children from the peasants of Lycia who refuse to let her drink from their water.  She has them turn into lizards and frogs (which you see on the lower registers). In the middle registers, you can see the transformation happening and on the bottom register you see lizards & turtles fully transformed. Something tells me the king really identified with Latona, why? There was an event called The Fronde that took place during the King’s youth. The people challenged and rose up against royalty. The coup was put down by monarchic forces but only at great effort. It was because of this idea of the constant threat of uprising that it was believed that Louis XIV was leery about living in Paris (heart of the Fronde). The king erected this allegory as a warning to those who may rise up against the monarchy that they too would be turned to frogs if they rebelled.

Fountain to the God Apolloin Versailles Castle

Fountain of Apollo by Andre Le Notre and Jean-Baptiste Tuby in Versailles France

The Fountain of Apollo -This fountain replaced the Fountain of the Swans.  This gilt lead group by Tuby depicts Apollo on his chariot and was inspired by a Le Brun painting. Apollo is seen rising from the horizon on his quadriga (I have a thing for quadrigas - don't get me started on the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga). The composition is stunning when the water is on. It looks as if the water parts at his command and adds movement and dynamism. The water even spouts in a Fleur de Lis, a symbol of the French royalty. Basically, this sculpture is the king saying, I am no mere king. I AM APOLLO.

The Grove of Apollo - Hugh Hefner had nothing on Louis XIV. This, in my opinion, is the ultimate grotto.

The Colonnade with Pluto & Persephone - Built by Hardouin-Mansart, the Colonnade replaced the Springs Grove Le Nôtre. There are 32 marble columns. The arcades is decorated with low reliefs showing children. The arches depict nymphs and naiads. The subject of the sculpture in the colonnade is another scene from the metamorphoses  where pluto carries her away from her mother Demeter. Demeter then punishes the earth with the seasons. The sculpture was executed by Girardon (1678) who took inspiration from Bernini who sculpted the same scene in 1620.

Fountain of Dragon Versailles

Versailles Fountain of the Dragon by Gaspard Marsy in 1667.

The Dragon Fountain - I have a thing for dragons, you can blame George R.R. Martin for that obsession. The Dragon Fountain depicts a winged snake killed by Apollo's arrow .  The dragon is surrounded by dolphins and putti armed with bows and arrows as they ride swans.

Avenue des Enfants - Leading to the dragon fountain is an avenue of children. It is a double row of "tiny" fountains depicting children.

The Grand Canal -  It is huge. If you think it looks big in pictures, wait until you see it in person.  Louis XIV actually had models of ships made to float on the canal. Venice once gifted two gondolas (which came with gondoliers) to the king. Rent a boat and get a good upper body workout. The infinite feel of the great canal makes you feel the infinite power of the king.

Versaille's Mirrored Room

The Hall of Mirrors in Versailles

Galerie des Glaces - This is the thing everyone wants to see, the famed Hall of Mirrors. It's stunning...the room is by Hardouin Mansard in 1678, and the ceilings were painted by Charles Le Brun in the mode that was invented in a hotel on Ile St. Louis by Le Vau (Hotel Lambert). Combination of painting, sculpture and decorative arts as well as architecture that had been preceded by things we find elsewhere, like Vaux Le Vicompte, Hotel Lambert, etc… You really get to see the development of French art here.

Bust of Louis XIV by Bernini - 1665 - The king invited designs from the most important artists. Bernini came to Paris for 5 months and sculpted this piece. Think of it as a slap in the face to Italy since Bernini's patron was the Pope, but he felt this commission was so important that he would leave Rome for 5 months to sculpt it.

Tips to Make your Versailles Trip Easy & Fun

  • Passeport pass - Get this. It costs €18 (or €25 when there are water shows) but this gets you access anywhere on the grounds.
  • Advance ticketsBuy your tickets in advance so you can skip the lines. If you forgot to buy your tickets online, go to the tourism office in Versailles when you get to town. It's pretty empty and you can buy your passport pass there.
  • Rent a bike - There are bike rentals at the gardens. Pick up a bottle of rose at the castle, a jambon beurre, and find yourself a nice quiet spot. This will make the trip to Versailles worth it.
  • Get there early - like I said, this is one of the worst places for tourists. So if you get there early, you may avoid some of the crowds. Give yourself plenty of time. Versailles is big, an hour or two won't do it.
  • Go in late September/early October - the crowds are smaller and the fountains are still on. 
  • Check out the city - The actual city of Versailles is tres charmant. Definitely make some time to walk through and pick up food at one of their restaurants.
  • Wear sunscreen & comfortable shoes - that's just common sense.

Versailles History

The property that is now Versailles belonged to a Florentine man named Gondi (a Medici) who was a part of the parliment in Paris. As good Parliamentary members tended to do, he invited his king Louis XIII to drop by for a hunt in his forests. Louis fell in love immediately and thankfully for Gondi his fate was much better than the guy who owned the property Versailles is modeled after. Louis XIII purchased a piece of the property for his use and began to make enhancements. He started off by hiring Le Roi (an architect) to build a small hunting chateau. It was a simple stone structure with a slate roof. In due time, Louis XIII decided to buy the entire property. By 1643, the property was no longer a humble hunting chateau...Versailles had turned into a town with over 1,000 people. The King died in 1642 when his son was a mere 5 years old.

In 1661 when Louis XIV began his own rule, he showed an interest in the site. He liked the idea of escaping Paris and his political duties. Paris was a rough place for the king. Politics and insurrection had interfered with his fun. He began to show interest in the Versailles location and decided to move his offices from Paris to Versailles.

This is where Nicholas Fouquet comes in. He was the minister of finance to Louis XIV (king Junior). Apparently, Nicholas Fouquet was doing so well with the king's finances that he decided to hire one of France's most sought after achitects, Louis Le Vau, André Le Nôtre and Charles Le Brun to re-design his Chateau -Vaux-Le-Vicompte. He decided (like Gondi) that he would entertain the king. Unfortunately for him. the king was so impressed with the castle, he began to ask himself how Fouquet could afford such an amazing Chateau. Three weeks after their meeting, Fouquet was arrested for embezzlement. His property was seized and became the model for what is seen stylistically in Versailles.

Louis XIV (King Junior) then hired his own architect, Louis Le Vau, after seeing his work at Vaux-Le-Vicompte, to completely make over the chateau into a full on castle as well as landscape architect Andre Le Notre to spruce up the grounds. By 1682, the court had officially moved from Paris to Versailles. Paris lost its title of capital...and anyone who wanted to move to Versaille got a piece of land in the city for free - if they paid taxes each year AND built the house to the specs decided by the architect in chief of the king (gotta love zoning laws).

In 1678, the king officially transferred his court and the government to Versailles. As of 1682, Paris was no longer the capital of France. The city of Versailles grew as the king allowed anyone to have a lot in the city for free as long as they paid a tax every year and built a house according to established architect in chief of the king.

Louis XIV’s house in Versailles is a sign that by this time this vocabulary of architecture (Classical Language – arches, column, engaged columns, horizontal elements) is fully established, it is the only way to build and nobody would go back to the medieval past.

GARDEN design becomes a major element…Land takes over building. The patron makes a statement of his aspirations and the way things should be in his world. Basically the king rules the people, architecture, and nature.

Now that we've gotten through a bit of history, I know you want to see the castle. Heck, I could not resist. I suggest you get there super early before the crowds roll in. As soon as the castle starts to feel stuffy....get the hell out and into its gorgeous gardens.

 

How to Get to Versailles Castle

By Train:

Versailles Rive Gauche (RER C from the Saint-Michel and Champ de Mars stations from Paris)
Versailles Rive Droite (Transilien from Saint-Lazare and La Défense stations from Paris)
Versailles Chantiers (Transilien from Montparnasse station from Paris)

By Bus:

DO NOT TAKE A BUS - the train is a quicker and more pleasant ride.

By Car: Take the A13, exit at Versailles Centre. There's parking at the Place d’Armes, Allée de Bailly, Grand Trianon and Petit Trianon

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

5 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “Versailles: Heaven and Hell”

Leave a Reply