布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

十佳邻里在里斯本葡萄牙

我希望把我的顶印象 10 在世界的最好的城市之一街区; 里斯本, 葡萄牙!     I have had the pleasure of staying in most of these neighborhoods in Lisbon.  对于那些我还没有住了一个多月, 我曾问当地的朋友给我自己的经验和意见.  如果您有任何建议,请随时把他们的意见.

十佳邻里在里斯本葡萄牙

阿尔法玛 & 恩

阿法玛邻里

是什么感觉: 这个社区的特点是微小的街道,  法多之声, 和令人惊叹的美景. 这是一款里斯本的最古老的街区,它显示了.    当你走动, 您将在街道的迷宫丢失, 而这正是让他与众不同. 不幸, 与此魅力已走过了大型旅游猛攻.  邻里是根据你在山有多高划分.   山中的城堡附近的顶 (卡斯特洛圣乔治) 格雷斯. 下降的河流,你会发现阿尔法玛.   有一堆的酒吧和餐馆不大. 尽管该地区有便宜的声誉, 价格已经飙升以来,游船在河边的那部分码头.

WHO住在这里: 这原本是 (现在仍然是) 工人阶级邻里.   外人往往对,直到你看不起 "进入" 与社区.  我的一个同事住在附近了几年,并告诉我,当她第一次在她的车被移动破碎成不断.   她 (幸) 到旧养老金领取者是说1天谁告诉她,只是把橙色腰带在她的窗口.  这就要求对可能的窃贼,她是从该地区.   她再也没有过的问题.

PROS: 小的河景.    有一个非常 "neighborhoody" 觉得可以让你爱上迅速下降它.    这是法多的家庭, 所以你要听音乐不断被传唱.     成本方面, 价格比在帖子中提到最街区更实惠.  大部分新装修的公寓看起来可怕从外面, 但一旦你走进去,你会被这些隐藏的宝石来相当深刻的印象.

缺点: 不要开车!   如果你不知道如何在街头导航 3 米宽你不会喜欢这个地区.  也, 停车场可以是一个噩梦. 白天, 期间,因为阿尔法玛靠近游船码头的游客得到溢出的区域.   笃笃车手带来新的访客进入阿尔法玛向他们展示法多和城市的历史.  这很烦人的真快.   租金最近波动, 所以你会看到很多的公寓已经转向Airbnbs或旅游线路.   这是一个加号和减号,因为你会得到更多的国际意识地主, 但价格已经因为它的跃升.   哦...好运气找到电梯 (电梯) 在建筑物.   公寓的地段有美丽的景色会 4-5 店内走了.  它的粗糙,但你几个月之后得到使用它... errr ...年.

耗资皇城 (啤酒) 在阿法玛 & GRACA: .80-2€
成本阿尔法玛有2间卧室的公寓租金 & GRACA: 1000每月€

新途径 & 阿尔瓦拉德

里斯本938996_1920

是什么感觉: 我会形容它像上东区 + 上西城我的朋友纽约.  还有更多的上层中产阶级和上层阶级的人, 而这个地区有公园是伟大的感觉 (非常大的和美丽 公园爱德华七世的 标志着这附近) 和城市生活.   一些最令人惊叹的建筑都可以在这里找到进行大规模的渠道一起.   如果你在巴黎度过的时间区域可能会觉得熟悉, 但沿着两侧有些大的地方有白天流量太大.

WHO住在这里: 这是一些富裕的家庭和中产阶级的搭配.  你不会看到领取养老金/退休人员在这里.   你不会看到许多家庭在这里是因为成本, 如果你这样做,你就会知道他们是有钱人.

PROS: 大部分公寓都相当宽敞. 良好的购物和交通设施.

缺点: 由于汽车污染.  每个盛大大道有这么多的流量这是荒谬的.   白天,您会打青蛙在街上,因为车的量.    公寓是大,但相当昂贵.

耗资皇城 (啤酒) 在FLOOD新闻 & 阿尔瓦拉德: 2€
成本租金在Avenidas酒店NOVAS有2间卧室的公寓 & 阿尔瓦拉德: 1500每月€

上城区奥拓

上城区奥拓派对

是什么感觉: 我会形容这是里斯本的东村.  大家谁住在这里或者是一些艺术家, 诗人, DJ或领取养老金谁也离不开谁.   到了晚上,附近开始活跃, 但不是像正常的活着我说活死人活着夜.    醉酒的人将填补街头.  时,有一个节日或假日它将被填充有英国, 西班牙和美国游客试图让自己喝的.  你会看到许多外国男子试图MAC它给当地名媛 - 这是徒劳. 葡萄牙妇女往往是保守的,并不会降你的球员的技巧. 你不想住在街上的任何地方有一个酒吧 (这意味着大部分的邻里).  如果你这样做, 你会睡不着.    如果你喜欢这种类型的氛围, 但不希望在它的心脏, 撒气在圣卡塔琳娜州或Brica社区.  它们是相邻的,仍然到的Bairro Alto交通十分便利.

WHO住在这里: 艺术家, 领取养老金, 外籍人士和新移民.

PROS: 想方?    需要是正确的里斯本/里斯本市中心区的中间.   想要有 50 不同的酒吧和餐馆可供选择.  你年轻,单身并在寻找挂钩? 如果你这是你的区域.

缺点: 老建筑和实在太多派对.   我把公寓上 "安静" 街道3周.  这是老, 需要大量的整修和有可怕的窗户, 所以感冒了真快.  最糟糕的是,我无法入睡3周,因为噪音难以忍受.   我每天醒来的时候跑步,街道上满塑料杯无处不在, 醉酒一半的英国人睡在门面和偶尔呕吐.   这是一个特殊的3周.

耗资皇城 (啤酒): 0.80-1€
成本两卧室租金: 1600每月€

院子的最-宫殿335041_1280

是什么感觉: 这更像是曼哈顿中城.  没有人真正住在这里, 但你有很多购物, 餐馆和人看.   这也是最吸引旅客的街区,因为它确实是市中心.

WHO住在这里: 人无我知道了,因为它有大量的客流量.  我几乎住在该地区的公寓,但做了谷歌地图之后走直通,我看到它是挤满了人.  我最近的地区经常光顾证实了我的怀疑.  如果你留在这儿, 你可以找到大型公寓 (取决于 3 卧室) 和很现代.

PROS: 我是一个学步车.  如果你是一个学步车,你会喜欢这个地方.   这是很容易步行从这里去市区任何东西.   是的,你可能不得不走了几个山头,但这是里斯本/里斯本, 这样的话全城.

缺点: 没有真正的葡萄牙当地住在这里, 只是银行和旅游的东西.  当高发季节结束该地区变成一座空城.

耗资皇城 (啤酒) 在低: 3€

成本BAIXA双卧室出租: 1800每月€

贝伦 & Restelo

贝伦 -  1079586_1920

是什么感觉: 贝伦是在葡京/里斯本郊外的一个迷人的地区.   它充满了老房子是不是在埃斯托利尔或Caiscas海滩-Y区.   有博物馆的负荷, 纪念碑和东西看.    该MAAT博物馆是其中值得一游只是为了它的惊人的建筑附近 (截至目前它在艺术上相当稀疏).   三要好得多博物馆还有的博物馆Coleção 贝拉多它有现代艺术和没有拥挤的人群中一个令人难以置信的集合, 全国 考古博物馆, 和莫斯泰罗DOS热罗尼姆斯这是绝对壮观 (但如此拥挤). 此外侧翼区周边LX厂一个新的时髦区.  该地区是半适合步行到Restelo和阿茹达, 但不是最宜人的步行. 从贝伦你需要或者采取尤伯杯或的士坐火车 (非常便宜) 你可以在桑托斯 10 分钟.

WHO住在这里: 该地区有两个贝伦和阿茹达低阶层居民洒.  我更富有的朋友都挖出贝伦美好家园和社区Restelo.  当我参观了他们的家园,我非常震惊,他们怎么都好看.   巨大的花园, 安静的区域, 大于您在里斯本得到正确.

PROS: 贝伦是在晚上,当旅游休假真正安静的区域.   如果你现在买,你可以得到一个良好的价值.

缺点: 一点点从最繁华的东西离开.   火车可拍摄约 20 分钟 (10 桑托斯, 20 以低) 和不运行24小时.    如果你是尤伯杯, 是关于 10 分钟,也许 7-8 欧元.

一个帝国的贝伦成本 (啤酒): 1-2.5€
成本贝伦双卧室出租: 1400每月€

现场欧里克

营欧里克

是什么感觉: 这是在城市的西北一个社区的地方.    坎波欧里克感觉就像在布鲁克林公园坡; 绿树成荫的街道, 当地人将他们的日子, 与孩子和狗的家庭.    坎波欧里克是热闹的住宅区.

WHO住在这里: 我的富裕很多朋友住在这个领域,因为你可以得到一个更大的公寓.    这不是一个巨大的养老金领取者/退休人员社区, 但你会遇到一些.  我经历了很多年轻家庭的面积试图从市中心的噪音脱身.

PROS: 很城镇-Y的感觉.  你会了解你的邻居和地区.  可爱的小商店在当地很多.   良好的市场在该地区和许多超市.  这也是公路那么容易得到和出城附近.

缺点: 你要下坡,后步行上山 (一会儿) 或乘坐电车到城市的主要部分.   最好是有车在这方面,但留意路边停车.  我的朋友谁从20世纪70年代有一个经典的奔驰永远不会移动,因为害怕有向他的车 "打猎" 为一个空间.

耗资皇城 (啤酒) 欧里克田间: .80€
成本两卧室租金: 1200每月€

希亚多

希亚多, 葡京

是什么感觉:  这是里斯本的SoHo区.    希亚多有最好的购物 (普林西比真正的后), 最佳的咖啡馆, 和要做的事情.    我会说这是最 "典型的葡萄牙" 附近,最有钱.  当你走动,你会发现很多大店如扎拉 (在低端), 赫尔穆特·朗 (在高端), FNAC, 甚至苹果商店 (这是一个重新卖家 - 但工程当你的机器不舒服).  这将是旅游 365 今年天,但你可以找到街道,将不会.

WHO住在这里: 富裕和上层中产阶级当地人和外国人.   有很多建筑下来由梅尔卡多Riberia (超时市场 - 诸如此类的争论,如果这是希亚多或距离Cais do Sodre) 这将带来很多新的单位纳入了未来几年发挥.   这完全是虽然一个集中高端市场.

PROS: 希亚多是超级适合步行, 有一个易于访问的夜生活, 和成吨的餐馆.    我爱地区, 但它确实得到一个有点多在白天的时候游客都达到顶峰.   即使有游客就从来没有感觉像铺天盖地的阿尔法玛或向下拜萨.

缺点: 您可能需要贷款,以获得租金.  价格高.  餐厅用餐会 15-30 欧元和帝国会 3 欧元最低.   所以准备.

耗资IMPERIAL在CHIADO的 (啤酒): 3€
成本两卧室租金 : 1700每月€

国家公园

网络峰会, 世博会, 里斯本

是什么感觉: 万国公园是世界博览会旧址 1998. 它已成为欧洲最大的重建项目之一. 这是一个从葡京中的所有其他街区形成了鲜明的区别. 这个地方是超现代的感觉有点像长岛市的感觉如何 15 多年前.  这里的建筑是一流的,有很多的事情,如果你有孩子做.

WHO住在这里: 上层阶级的外国人 (大多是中国黄金签证持有人究竟是谁没有住在自己的单位).   这是一个真正的鬼城,只有当你有一个大的贸易展跳起.

PROS: 它是安静的,通常当一个大的贸易展,除了发生.   有一个大的火车站,它使您能够访问所有里斯本, 而且其他城市在葡萄牙.    你不会有停车的问题在该地区的公寓是真正的现代化.   有一个叫瓦斯科达伽马大商场,也是一个桥梁的权利他们给你在伊比利亚半岛驾驶访问处处.

缺点: 30-40 根据交通从任何分钟路程.  建筑很多都被中国黄金签证者买下了, 所以你可能住在公寓里,从来没有看到你的邻居.

一个帝国作者PRACA DASNações公园COST (啤酒): 2€
成本两卧室租金: 2000每月€

真正的王子

princpe_real

是什么感觉: 这是里斯本/里斯本的格林威治村.   这是一个非常好的社区与高档商店和餐馆.    公寓内设有电梯,通常城市和河流的美景.   该地区是非常友好同性恋, 艺术家友好和方便的购物狂.    这是一个有点高端,但并不像超限其他几个街区.

WHO住在这里: 中间 & 上层中产阶级.   该社区是非常快乐友好,也很友好家庭.   你会看到很少领取养老金/退休人员,因为住房的成本较高,在这里比在里斯本的其他街区.

PROS: 有在附近的植物园沿大公园.   这是超级容易到处走,因为它是在山顶上.  体面的大小现代化的公寓很容易找到.

缺点: 众山小很多所以准备上下行走.   许多公寓正在建设中,如果你是在小街这样会吵.  价格较高的在这里比在里斯本/里斯本最多的地方, 但价格却值得投资.   由于这个区域被游客发现的地方会开始得到堆满了旅行度假.  所以准备.

一个帝国作者PRINCIPE实际成本 (啤酒): 2€
成本普林西REAL双卧室出租: 1600每月€

桑托斯 & 片

葡萄牙街区

是什么感觉: 这有如此大的魅力它的疯狂艺术区.     我在这里住了3个月,并会见了养老金领取, 艺术家, 和expat在该地区.   街道是典型的石头 (他们是可怕的为你的膝盖和背部), 但你也是一个 "石头扔掉" 距离河边.    该地区有相似的阿尔法玛, 但较少有风的街道,少了不少游客.  它仍然是游客不是很多网站看到未被发现.  这是一个居委会.

WHO住在这里: 中下阶层有一些很有钱的人起来拉帕.   你会看到一个家庭拥有整个豪宅旁领取退休金/退休人员住在2间房子.

PROS: 无游客或从游船的人.    有一些非常漂亮和现代建筑起来拉帕.    这个社区是十分社区中心, 所以你会知道你的Talho (屠夫), 市场业主, 餐馆老板,  甚至清洁人员.  在每个街道,你会发现 3 妇女谁看窗外每隔几个小时,看 "这是怎么回事".   与他们的朋友 (他们会帮你搞到糕点)!

缺点: 拉帕是因为高层建筑和大格式家园相当昂贵.     桑托斯提供了更多的实惠,但价格都在跳,因为法国社会已经购买了大量的公寓楼转换为度假或翻转. 你可以听到周围的法国在这一领域的每一个角落.

耗资IMPERIAL在桑托斯 & SHEET (啤酒): 0.80-1.50€
成本两卧室租金: 1300每月€

如果您对里斯本不同的街区有任何疑问或反馈/葡京, 请留下他们的意见.   我们喜欢听你的经验留在这个美丽的城市. 如果你想看到更多里斯本, 检查出我的 Instagram的饲料.

下面的两个选项卡下面的更改内容.
Socialdraft! FriendsEAT! 旅行!

Latest posts by Antonio Evans (查看全部)

4 评论对这个职位要 “十佳邻里在里斯本葡萄牙”

  • Melissa | Suitcase and Heels

    十一月 22, 2016 在 1:12 下午

    This will be a really handy guide to have bookmarked when I finally get to plan a trip to Lisbon. It’s been on my bucket list for awhile.

    • 布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

      十一月 22, 2016 在 1:25 下午

      Thanks Melissa. It’s really one of my favorite cities. I think you’ll fall in love when you visit.

  • 普里亚

    十二月 16, 2016 在 4:46 下午

    Lisbon is on our bucketlist, will be saving this for our trip there. The Alfama are looks quaint and charming place to wander

    • 布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

      十二月 16, 2016 在 4:55 下午

      I may be doing a permanent move there…so when you’re ready to come, let’s grab a bite 😀

发表评论

Top Ten Neighborhoods in Lisbon Portugal

I wanted to put together my impression of the Top 10 neighborhoods in one of the best cities of the world; Lisbon, Portugal!     I have had the pleasure of staying in most of these neighborhoods in Lisbon.  For the ones I have not lived in for more than a month, I have asked local friends to give me their experiences and opinions.  If you have any suggestions feel free to put them in the comments.

Top Ten Neighborhoods in Lisbon Portugal

Alfama & Graça

Alfama Neighborhood

WHAT IT’S LIKE: This neighborhood is characterized by tiny streets,  the sound of fado, and amazing views. This is one Lisbon's oldest neighborhoods and it shows.    As you walk around, you will be lost in a maze of streets, but this is exactly what makes it special. Unfortunately, with this charm has come a large tourist onslaught.  The neighborhood is divided according to how high up you are on the hill.   The top of the hill near the castle (Castelo Sao Jorge) is Graça. Down by river you will find the Alfama.   There are a bunch of bars and little eateries. While the area has a reputation for being cheap, prices have been soaring since the cruise boats dock by that part of the river.

WHO LIVES HERE: This was originally (and still is) a working class neighborhood.   Outsiders tend to be looked down upon until you "get in" with the community.  A colleague of mine lived in the neighborhood for a few years and told me when she first moved in her car was broken into constantly.   She (luckily) was talking to an older pensioner one day who told her just to put an orange sash in her window.  This dictates to the would-be thieves that she was from the area.   She never had a problem again.

PROS: Small with a view of the river.    Has a very "neighborhoody" feel that can make you fall in love with it quickly.    It is the home of Fado, so you will hear music being sung constantly.     Cost wise, prices are more affordable than most neighborhoods mentioned in the post.  Most of the newly renovated apartments look terrible from outside, but once you walk in you will be quite impressed by these hidden gems.

CONS: Don't drive!   If you do not know how to navigate in streets 3 meters wide you will not like this area.  Also, parking can be a nightmare. During the day, the area during gets overrun by tourists since the cruise boats dock near Alfama.   The Tuk Tuk drivers bring new visitors into the Alfama to show them Fado and the history of the city.  This gets annoying really quickly.   Rents have been fluctuating recently, so you will see many apartments have been turned to Airbnbs or Holiday Rentals.   This is a plus and minus since you get more international minded landlords, but prices have jumped because of it.   Oh...good luck finding a lift (elevator) in a building.   Lots of apartments that have beautiful views will be 4-5 store walk up.  It's rough but you getusede to it after a few months...errr...years.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL (Beer) IN THE ALFAMA & GRACA: .80-2€
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM APARTMENT RENTAL IN THE ALFAMA & GRACA: 1000€ per month
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM 100 SQ METER APARTMENT PURCHASE IN THE ALFAMA & GRACA: 500,000€ 

 

Avenidas Novas & Alvalade

lisbon-938996_1920

WHAT IT’S LIKE: I would describe it like the Upper East + Upper West Side to my NYC friends.  There are more upper-middle and upper class people, and this area has that great feel of park (the very large and beautiful Parque Eduardo the VII marks this neighborhood) and city life.   Some of the most stunning architecture can be found here along with massive avenues.   If you spent time in Paris the area would probably feel familiar, but along side some of the grand places there is too much traffic during day.

WHO LIVES HERE: It's mix of some wealthy families and middle class.  You will not see pensioners/retirees here.   You will not see many families here because of cost, and if you do you will know they are wealthy.

PROS: Most of the apartments are quite spacious. Good shopping and transportation links.

CONS: Pollution because of the cars.  Each grand boulevard has so much traffic it's ridiculous.   During the day you will be playing Frogger in the street because of the amount of cars.    Apartments are large but quite expensive.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL (Beer) IN AVENIDAS NOVAS & ALVALADE: 2€
COST FOR RENT FOR A 2-BEDROOM APARTMENT IN AVENIDAS NOVAS & ALVALADE: 1500€ per month 
COST FOR PURCHASE 2-BEDROOM APARTMENT 100 SQ M: 600,000k+ €

 

Bairro Alto

Bairro Alto Partying

WHAT IT’S LIKE: I would describe this as the East Village of Lisbon.  Everyone who lives here is either some artist, poet, DJ or a pensioner who can't leave.   At night the neighborhood comes alive, but not like normal alive I am talking night of living dead alive.    Drunken people will fill up the streets.  When there is a festival or a holiday it will be packed with British, Spanish and American tourists trying to get their drink on.  You will see many foreign men trying to mac it to the local ladies - this is a futile effort. Women from Portugal tend to be conservative and won't fall for your tricks guys. You do not want to live on any street where there is a pub (this means most of the neighborhood).  If you do, you will not sleep.    If you like this type of vibe, but don't want to be in the heart of it, get a flat in the Santa Catarina or Brica neighborhoods.  They are adjacent and still very accessible to Bairro Alto.

WHO LIVES HERE: Artist, pensioners, expats and new immigrants.

PROS: Wanna party?    Need to be right in the middle of Lisboa/Lisbon's downtown district.   Want to have 50 different bars and restaurants to chose from.  Are you young and single and looking to hook up? If that you this is your area.

CONS: Old buildings and really too much partying.   I took an apartment on a "quiet" street for 3-weeks.  It was old, needed lots of renovations and had terrible windows, so it got cold really quick.  The worst part is I couldn't sleep for 3-weeks because the noise was unbearable.   Every day I woke up for a run the streets were full of plastic cups everywhere, drunken Brits half sleeping on door fronts and the occasional vomit.   It was a special 3-weeks.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL (Beer): 0.80-1€
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM RENTAL: 1600€ per month 
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM 100 SQ M PURCHASE: 700,000+€

Baixa

yard-of-the-palace-335041_1280

WHAT IT’S LIKE: This is more like Midtown Manhattan.  No one really lives here, but you have lots of shopping, restaurants and people watching.   It's also the most touristy of the neighborhoods since it literally is downtown.

WHO LIVES HERE: No one I know anymore because it has lots of foot traffic.  I almost stayed in an apartment in the area but after doing a Google Maps walk thru I saw it was packed with people.  My recent frequenting of area confirmed my suspicions.  If you do stay here, you can find large apartments (up to 3 bedrooms) and very modern.

PROS: I am a walker.  If you are a walker you will love this place.   It's so easy to get to most anything in downtown by foot from here.   Yes you may have to walk up a few hills but this is Lisboa/Lisbon, so that's the case all over the city.

CONS: No real local Portuguese live here, just banks and tourist stuff.  When high season ends the area becomes a ghost town.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL (Beer) IN BAIXA: 3€

COST OF A 2-BEDROOM RENTAL IN BAIXA: 1800€ per month

COST OF A 2-BEDROOM 100 SQ M PURCHASE: 700,000€

Belém & Restelo

belem-1079586_1920

WHAT IT’S LIKE: Belém is a charming area at the outskirts of Lisboa/Lisbon.   It is filled with old homes that aren't on the beach-y areas of Estoril or Caiscas.   There are loads of museums, monuments and stuff to see.    The MAAT museum is in the neighborhood which is worth a visit just for it's amazing architecture (as of right now it is quite sparse in art).   Three much better museums there are the Museu Coleção Berardo which has an incredible collection of modern art and no crowds, the National Archaeology Museum, and the Mosteiro dos Jerónimos which is absolutely spectacular (but so crowded). Also flanking the area is a new hipster area surrounding the LX Factory.  The area is semi-walkable to Restelo and Ajuda, but not the most pleasant walk. From Belem you need to either take an Uber or taxi or take the train (very cheap) and you can be in Santos in 10 minutes.

WHO LIVES HERE: The area has sprinkles of low-middle class residents in both Belém and Ajuda.  My more wealthy friends are scooping up beautiful homes in Belém  and the Restelo neighborhoods.  When I visited their homes I was pretty shocked how nice they were.   Massive gardens, quiet area, larger than you get in Lisbon proper.

PROS: Belem is really quiet area during evenings when tourist leave.   You can get a good value if you are buying right now.

CONS: A little bit away from most stuff downtown.   The train can take about 20 minutes (10 to Santos, 20 to Baixa) and doesn't run 24-hours.    If you Uber it, it's about 10 minutes and maybe 7-8 euros.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL IN BELEM (Beer): 1-2.5€
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM RENTAL IN BELEM: 1400€ per month

COST OF A 2-BEDROOM 100 SQ M PURCHASE IN BELEM: 800,000€

Campo de Ourique

Camp Ourique

WHAT IT’S LIKE: It's a community places at the northwest of the city.    Campo de Ourique feels like Park Slope in Brooklyn; tree-lined streets, locals going about their day, families with kids and dogs.    Campo de Ourique is a lively residential district.

WHO LIVES HERE: Lots of my wealthier friends live in this area because you can get a larger apartment.    It's not a massive pensioner/retiree community, but you will meet some.  I experienced lots of young families in area trying to get away from the noise of downtown.

PROS: Very town-y feel.  You will get to know your neighbor and the area.  Lots of cute small locally shops.   A good market in the area and lots of supermarkets.  It is also near the highway so easy to get in and out of the city.

CONS: You have to walk downhill and back uphill (a while) or take a tram down to main part of the city.   It's better to have a car in this area but watch for street parking.  My friend who has a classic Mercedes from the 1970's won't ever move his car because of fear of having to "hunt" for a space.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL (Beer) IN CAMPO DE OURIQUE: .80€
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM RENTAL: 1200€ per month

COST OF A 2-BEDROOM 100 SQ M PURCHASE IN CAMPO DE OURIQUE: 700,000+€

Chiado

chiado, Lisboa

WHAT IT’S LIKE:  This is the SoHo of Lisbon.    Chiado has the best shopping (after Principe Real), the best cafes, and things to do.    I would say this is the least "Typical Portuguese" neighborhood and most wealthy.  When you walk around you will find lots of big shops such as Zara (on the low end), Helmut Lang (on the high end), FNAC, and even an Apple Store (it's a re-seller - but works when your machine is not feeling well).  It will be tourist 365 days of year but you can find streets that won't be.

WHO LIVES HERE: Wealthy and upper-middle class locals and foreigners.   There is a lot of construction down by Mercado Riberia (Time Out Market - sort of debatable if this is Chiado or Cais do Sodre) which will bring a lot of new units into play over next few years.   It is wholly though focused on a higher end market.

PROS: Chiado is super walkable, has an easy access to nightlife, and tons of restaurants.    I love the area, but it does get a bit much during the day when the tourist are at their peak.   Even with the tourists it never feels overwhelming like in the Alfama or down in Baixa.

CONS: You might need a loan to get an rental.  Prices are high.  Restaurant meals will be 15-30 Euro and an Imperial will be 3 Euros minimum.   So be prepared.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL IN CHIADO (Beer): 3€
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM RENTAL : 1700€ per month

COST OF A 2-BEDROOM 100 SQ M PURCHASE IN CHIADO: 700,000€

Parque das Nações

Web Summit, Expo, Lisbon

WHAT IT’S LIKE: Parque das Nacoes is the former site of the World Fair of 1998. It has become one of the largest redevelopment projects in Europe. It's a stark difference from all other neighborhoods in Lisboa. This place is super modern and feels a bit like how Long Island City felt about 15 years ago.  The architecture here is top notch and there are plenty of things to do if you have kids.

WHO LIVES HERE: Upper-class expats (mostly Chinese Gold Visa holders who actually don't live in their flats).   It's a real ghost town that only springs up when you have a big trade show.

PROS: It's quiet usually except when a big trade show happens.   There is a big train station which give you access to all of Lisbon, but also other cities in Portugal.    You won't have parking issues in the area and the apartments are really modern.   There is a big mall called Vasco da Gama and also a bridge right their giving you driving access to everywhere in the Iberian Peninsula.

CONS: 30-40 minutes away from anything depending on traffic.  Lots of buildings have been bought out by the Chinese Gold Visa seekers, so you might live in an apartment and never see your neighbors.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL IN PRACA DAS NACOES (Beer): 2€
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM RENTAL: 2000€ per month

COST OF A 2-BEDROOM 100 SQ M PURCHASE IN PARQUE DAS NACOES: 500,000€

Príncipe Real

princpe_real

WHAT IT’S LIKE: This is the Greenwich Village of Lisboa/Lisbon.   It is a very nice neighborhoods with high end shops and restaurants.    Apartments have lifts and usually a good view of the city and river.   The area is very gay friendly, artist friendly and shopaholic friendly.    It's a bit high end but not overrun like a few other neighborhoods.

WHO LIVES HERE: Middle & upper middle class.   The neighborhood is very gay friendly and also very family friendly.   You will see very few pensioners/retirees because the cost of housing is higher here than most other neighborhoods in Lisbon.

PROS: There is a great park along with the botanical gardens in the neighborhood.   It's super easy to walk everywhere since it is at the top of the hill.  Decent size modern apartments are easy to find.

CONS: Lots of small hills so be prepared to walk up and down.   Many of the apartments are under construction so will be noisy if you are in the side street.  Prices are higher here than most places in Lisboa/Lisbon, but the prices are worth the investment.   As this area gets discovered by tourists the place will begin to get cluttered with holiday rentals.  So be prepared.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL IN PRINCIPE REAL (Beer): 2€
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM RENTAL IN PRINCIPE REAL: 1600€ per month

Santos & Lapa

Portugal neighborhoods

WHAT IT’S LIKE: This art district that has so much charm it's crazy.     I stayed here for 3-months and met every pensioner, artist, and expat in the area.   Streets are typical stone (they are horrible for your knees and back), but you are also a "stone throw away" from the riverfront.    The area has similarity to the Alfama, but less windy streets and a lot less tourists.  It is still undiscovered by tourists and not many sites to see.  It's a neighborhood neighborhood.

WHO LIVES HERE: Lower middle class with a few very wealthy people up in Lapa.   You will see whole mansions owned by one family next to a pensioner/retiree living in a 2-room house.

PROS: No tourists or people from the cruise boats.    There are some very nice and modern buildings up in Lapa.    This neighborhood is very community centric, so you will know your Talho (butcher), market owner, restaurant owner,  and even the cleaning people.  On each street you will find 3 women who look out window every few hours to see "what's going on".   Make friends with them (they will hook you up with pastries)!

CONS: Lapa is quite expensive because of the high rise building and large format homes.     Santos offers more affordable but prices are jumping because the French community has purchased lots of the apartment blocks to convert to holiday rentals or to flip. You can hear French around every corner in this area.

COST OF AN IMPERIAL IN SANTOS & LAPA (Beer): 0.80-1.50€
COST OF A 2-BEDROOM RENTAL: 1300€ per month

If you have any questions or feedback on the different neighborhoods in Lisbon/Lisboa, please leave them in comments.   We love to hear your experience staying in this beautiful city. And if you want to see more of Lisbon, check out my Instagram feed.

The following two tabs change content below.
Socialdraft! FriendsEAT! Travel!

Latest posts by Antonio Evans (see all)

Sponsored

8 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “Top Ten Neighborhoods in Lisbon Portugal”

  • Melissa | Suitcase and Heels

    November 22, 2016 at 1:12 pm

    This will be a really handy guide to have bookmarked when I finally get to plan a trip to Lisbon. It’s been on my bucket list for awhile.

    • Blanca Valbuena

      November 22, 2016 at 1:25 pm

      Thanks Melissa. It’s really one of my favorite cities. I think you’ll fall in love when you visit.

  • Priya

    December 16, 2016 at 4:46 pm

    Lisbon is on our bucketlist, will be saving this for our trip there. The Alfama are looks quaint and charming place to wander

    • Blanca Valbuena

      December 16, 2016 at 4:55 pm

      I may be doing a permanent move there…so when you’re ready to come, let’s grab a bite 😀

  • Bia

    August 19, 2017 at 1:12 pm

    I loved your analysis of the neighborhoods. It is very detailed and helpful.
    What is the purchase price in Príncipe Real and Santos & Lapa ?
    Thanks

    • Blanca Valbuena

      August 19, 2017 at 2:22 pm

      Hi Bia,

      Principe Real is one of the most expensive neighborhoods in the city. It’s wonderful, but it is quite trendy. For a 2 bedroom, you should expect anywhere above 450K Euros (depending on the condition). In Lapa, a good 2 bedroom can cost between 500k-1 mil…some fixer uppers are going at about 275k euros. The market is rising quickly here, so it is not as good an investment as it was say 4 years ago, but it is still significantly cheaper than say Paris. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply