提示参观地狱的Quadriga墓萨尔泰阿诺意大利

  • 红头发的一个身影, 獠牙, 和一个钻FROW命令四个动物引领四马
  • 伊特鲁里亚人经常使用他们的海马陪葬艺术
  • 伊特鲁里亚蛇妖在墓萨尔泰阿诺
  • 海豚往往被伊特鲁里亚陪葬艺术
  • 伊特鲁里亚佣人葡萄酒过滤器
  • 地狱的Quadriga墓的一个细节显示了马车的车轮
  • 该dustcloud是similat在托斯卡纳看到其他墓葬
  • 据说这个斜倚男性夫妇可能是父亲和儿子, 但也有人说,这可能是恋人
  • 地狱的Quadriga萨尔泰阿诺墓口
  • 原地等待,当你参观地狱四马墓
  • 伊特鲁里亚石棺

一位在罗格斯我最喜欢艺术史课与 乔斯林竹篙斯莫尔教授. 她是谁教伊特鲁里亚艺术导师的重地.  她不再教罗格斯, 但如果你是在这种类型的题目有兴趣在所有, 我强烈建议你拿起她的书和论文 - 许多可用的 罗格斯大学的免费网站....无论如何....我成了地狱的Quadriga的4世纪墓略有痴迷同时服用她的课, 所以当我听说我是前往托斯卡纳, 我知道这将是我的网站不能错过的一个.

地狱的Quadriga墓

这个墓最好的部分是,它是一个小十多年前发现 (2003 如果我没有记错的话). 这意味着它是令人难以置信的形状,并没有屈服于游客成群结队的气息. 话虽如此, 它是旧的,它确实有损害. 它被洗劫一空在各种场合, 但在这里看到的图像媲美它的时间其他任何墓. 您将在这里拥有一个了不起的经验. 之前,我对我的提示您的光临, let me tell you why you absolutely need to book your appointment to see the Tomb of The Infernal Quadriga. (如果你想要的提示, 只是滚动到页面底部).

这些墓葬告诉我们很多关于伊特鲁里亚人的信仰和生活方式. 我们得到的他们是如何生活的想法, 连衣裙的, 他们在信, 和更多. 这里是你会看到什么... ...和一点点信息,以激起你的兴趣:

伊特鲁里亚石棺

雪花石棺在地狱的Quadriga墓与斜倚男性人物. 最有可能的老男人在夫妻的绘画中

石棺 & 海马

这雪花石棺的形状为躺椅赖以死者坐在仿佛在等待着晚餐. 这是在非常恶劣的形状,因为它是由抢劫者粉身碎骨, 但是,当看着一个个斜倚夫妇就在身边画, 可以想见的保姆是什么样子. 他休息的地方是当时相当昂贵. 石棺背后,是海马的壁画(海马). 这是在伊特鲁里亚墓画一个共同的主题为远航的表示到阴曹地府.

伊特鲁里亚蛇妖在墓萨尔泰阿诺

在地狱的Quadriga墓一个奇特的恶魔是一个三头蛇与毒牙和鸡冠花

三头蛇

在墙上石棺左侧,你会看到一个美妙的野兽. 这种双色调的怪物分享它的身上有三个头. 这是一个非常有趣的东西. 每头配上一只公鸡的冠, 并有一个大胡子嘴威胁牙齿. 感觉好像这条蛇是从守卫它的敌人石棺.

据说这个斜倚男性夫妇可能是父亲和儿子, 但也有人说,这可能是恋人

在地狱的Quadriga墓斜倚男性夫妇特写

斜倚情侣

这名男夫妇坐在一个令人难以置信的亲密姿势. 较小, 深色皮肤的家伙似乎宠爱注意力放在大, 苍白, 胡子拉碴的男人. 他们可能是父子或一些其他类型的关系. 大胡子男人是最有可能离去, 因为他是在同一个姿势作为石棺. 站在他们身后 (接近石棺) 是过滤酒的工具仆人.

红头发的一个身影, 獠牙, 和一个钻FROW命令四个动物引领四马

在地狱的Quadriga墓的红为首的数字据说是卡伦, 但这是激烈争论

地狱火的Quadriga

该墓被命名后,是一个不可思议的壁画描绘了一个骑手带领四马 (有四只动物战车, 通常马, 但在这里,你有狮鹫和狮子). 其实,这是你看到的,当你走在你的左手边的第一件事, 但我想保存此为去年. 司机有淡白色的皮肤, 红发到他/她的衣服搭配, 激烈紧锁面带芳在其嘴.

该dustcloud是similat在托斯卡纳看到其他墓葬

在地狱的Quadriga墓的数字是由阴影或尘云陷害.

目前还不清楚该人士是谁. 它是人类? 它是一个恶魔? 它是男性或女性? 下图是身着红色火红的头发. 它的脸是激烈, 皱着眉头. 虽然它的脸是白色的, 有其脸颊线条,可以使一个人. 背后, 有什么似乎是黑烟框架图中的云. 也许这是一个影子,企图. 无论哪种方式, 这是非常先进和成熟的艺术.

地狱的Quadriga墓的一个细节显示了马车的车轮

所述的Quadriga的轮. 甚至有个栏恶魔拿着轮

据博物馆的网站 (和考古学家认为走我们走过坟墓), 司机可能是Charun, ,将采取死者进入阴间生物, 虽然如果是这样的话, 艺术家已经从预期的表示偏离. 一般, Charun将用锤描绘, 通常与万特, 另一位导游阴间. 这导致有关数字有更多的问题.

还有人说,这可能是因为光皮和相似之处该地区其他妇女画的女人, 尤其是距离Velia从奥喀斯墓. 两者都是 "陷害" 一个黑影/防尘, 两者都在轮廓, 两者有相似颜色的头发是波浪.  这两种绘画的感觉是完全不同的, 但可以肯定能让艺术家的选择之间的连接. 如果驾驶员确实是女人, 她也很激烈, 强大, 不要与被弄乱. 她的头发飞回她的马的速度. 这绝对是令人惊讶地看到.

伊特鲁里亚佣人葡萄酒过滤器

仆人将应变酒为户主, 他的家人和客人

仆人

该墓也让我们见识到了伊特鲁里亚人的阶级关系. 公务员会迎合富裕的家庭成员, 像这样谁带过来一个过滤酒的年轻人. 它告诉我们,有富国和穷国之间一个完善的动态.

海豚往往被伊特鲁里亚陪葬艺术

海豚代表陷入黑道是伊特鲁里亚古墓的流行主题

海豚

在四马下河曲, 你会看到海豚在超过交替颜色看起来像一个波浪纹. 这类似于母狮墓, 可是,这里的描述是少了很多图案,似乎是更场景的一部分. 这也反映了海马的目的作为突入黑社会的隐喻.

如何获得门票参观的Quadriga地狱之墓

你需要知道的最重要的事情是,该墓是唯一一个星期开一次 (星期六) 只接受预约. 这可能是一个痛苦的你, 但是这是真棒. 更多网站应该制定这样的规则来保护这些作品我们的文化遗产.

You can make your appointment by calling 0039 0578269261 或通过电子邮件或info.museo@comune.sarteano.si.it museo@comune.sarteano.si.it. 我用电子邮件方式,并收到了响应和确认非常快. 您的机票包括了一趟小, 但真的很酷的博物馆位于城市中的Sarteano, 它的使用时间的好方法,而你等待你的墓查看预约.

参观时间整个月而异:

十月至五月: 每天一次访问 11:30上午
六月至九月: 每日两次访问 9:30am或 6:00下午

路线指引Quadriga的地狱之墓

一旦你获得任命, 你需要的Sarteano的考古博物馆拿起你的票. 它位于:

罗马街, 24 萨尔泰阿诺.

那么你必须开车到网站本身. 这可能是一个问题,如果你没有车棒 (像我), 所以要确保你有别人和你谁可以驾驶棒, 或者您预定汽车服务的时间提前.

开慢点一旦你到通向现场的道路, 这导致该网站可以很容易在乡间小路上错过和掉头都很难做出这个狭窄的道路.

信息 & 提示参观的Quadriga地狱之墓
原地等待,当你参观地狱四马墓

如果你到了地狱的Quadriga的早期墓, 你可以在休息了由树荫一条长凳

1. 不要出现得太早. 我们到过那里 45 分钟才,这是非常热 - 七月 - 同时有树木在网站上的长凳, 它在该地区变得非常热, 而且由于它是如此接近镇, 我建议你最多有 - 15 提前分钟.

2. 把水, 一顶帽子和防晒. 一旦你的网站, 有没有别的有, 所以一定要带的东西与你的情况下,你渴了或饿了.

地狱的Quadriga萨尔泰阿诺墓口

有 3 在地狱的Quadriga墓口入口, 只有中心墓壁画

3. 穿单位. 这是一个超级简单的墓参观. 你不必翻越岩石或山峦......但单位会让你的生活在网站上更容易.

4. 带上毛衣. 即使是在夏季用电高峰, 该墓是相当冷静. 这是由于湿度控制,以保持良好的状态画. 你必须通过需要非常迅速关闭两扇门走. 一旦内部温度下降是明显, 所以带上薄毛衣穿一旦进入.

5. 带相机. 是啊...你可以,只要你不使用闪光灯拍照.

6. 打算花时间在镇. 我们订了我们的访问为下午6点, 但你提倡拿起你的票 4. 这意味着我们有 2 小时杀. 这个镇是安静和平静, 但也有一些酒吧和餐馆.

7. 本集团将小. 我们有两对夫妇, 一个用于同日有孩子. 仅这意味着 8 人们总加考古学家和她的翻译.

8. 尊重. 请勿触摸的东西,有一个好时机.

如果你错过了墓

不一样的东西, 但他们重建在博物馆主壁画, 这样你就可以得到他们的样子的想法.

Where to Stay Near the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga

你在托斯卡纳, stay in Tuscany. You can stay at an Airbnb, at a Tuscan villa, or a hotel (but I'm no fan of hotels...so follow the order above. If you have never picked an Airbnb before, I've got a tutorial on how to pick the perfect Airbnb rental

Here are a few places to stay I think you'll love near the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga:

Albergo Roberta Nadia & Felice are famous in Sarteano...so are the thermal pools. 所以, if you want to enjoy the hills of Tuscany, 红酒, archaeology and relaxation...this is the place. 

Albergo Santa ChiaraThe ultimate in romance. This place is GORGEOUS! The place is huge and there aren't so many rooms, so it feels like you have the whole place to yourself.  Giorgio & Chloe will make you feel like a part of their family.

Alessandra's Airbnb: Imagine staying in a gorgeous Tuscan home with fireplaces to keep you warm. Did I mention great wifi? And the best list of things to-do in Sarteano? You're going to love this place. 

下面的两个选项卡下面的更改内容.

布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

我FriendsEat和Socialdraft的联合创始人. 我有与勃艮第霞多丽不健康的痴迷, ASOIAF, 和旅行.

最新的帖子布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳 (查看全部)

Sponsored

一个评论对这个职位要 “提示参观地狱的Quadriga墓萨尔泰阿诺意大利”

发表评论

Blanca Valbuena

Tips for Visiting The Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga in Sarteano Italy

  • A figure with red hair, fangs, and a burrowed frow commands the four animals leading the quadriga
  • Etruscans often used seahorses in their funerary art
  • Etruscan Snake Demon in Tomb in Sarteano
  • Dolphins are often seen in Etruscan funerary art
  • An Etruscan servant with a wine strainer
  • A detail of the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga showing the wheel of the carriage
  • The dustcloud is similat to other tombs seen in Tuscany
  • It is said this reclining male couple could be father and son, but others say it could be lovers
  • The mouth of the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga in Sarteano
  • place to wait when you visit the tomb of the infernal quadriga
  • Etruscan sarcophagus

One of my all time favorite Art History classes at Rutgers was with Professor Jocelyn Penny Small. She is a powerhouse of an instructor who taught Etruscan Art.  She no longer teaches at Rutgers, but if you are interested at all in this type of subject, I highly recommend you pick up her books and papers - many available on the Rutgers website for FREE....anyhow....I became slightly obsessed with the 4th Century Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga while taking her class, so when I heard I was headed to Tuscany, I knew that this would be one of the sites I could not miss.

Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga

The best part about this tomb is that it was discovered a little over ten years ago (2003 if I am not mistaken). This means it is in incredible shape and has not succumbed to the breath of hordes of visitors. That being said, it is old and it does have damage. It was looted on various occasions, but the images seen here rival any other tomb of its time. You will have an amazing experience here. Before I get to my tips for your visit, let me tell you why you absolutely need to book your appointment to see the Tomb of The Infernal Quadriga. (If you want the tips, just scroll to the bottom of the page).

These tombs tell us plenty about the beliefs and lifestyles of the Etruscans. We get an idea of how they lived, dressed, what they believed in, and more. Here is what you will see...and a little info to pique your interest:

Etruscan sarcophagus

Alabaster sarcophagus at the tomb of the Infernal Quadriga with a reclining male figure. Most likely the older man seen in the painting of the couple

The Sarcophagus & Hippocampus

This alabaster sarcophagus is shaped as a reclining chair upon which the deceased sits as if waiting for dinner. It is in very bad shape since it was smashed to pieces by looters, but when one looks at the painting of the reclining couple on the side, one can imagine what the sitter looked like. His resting place was quite costly for the time. Behind the sarcophagus is a wall painting of a seahorse  (Hippocampus). This was a common theme in Etruscan tomb painting as a representation of the voyage into the netherworld.

Etruscan Snake Demon in Tomb in Sarteano

A peculiar demon at the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga is a three headed snake with fangs and a cockscomb

Three Headed Snake

On the wall to the left of the sarcophagus you will see a wonderful beast. This two toned monster shares its body with three heads. It is quite an interesting creature. Each head is topped with the crest of a rooster, and has a bearded mouth with threatening teeth. It feels as if this snake is guarding the sarcophagus from its enemies.

It is said this reclining male couple could be father and son, but others say it could be lovers

Closeup of the reclining male couple in the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga

The Reclining Couple

This male couple sits in an incredibly intimate pose. The smaller, darker skinned fellow seems to dote attention on the larger, paler, bearded male. They could be father and son or some other type of relation. The bearded man is most likely the departed, since he is in the same pose as that of the sarcophagus. Standing behind them (closer to the sarcophagus) is a servant with a tool to filter wine.

A figure with red hair, fangs, and a burrowed frow commands the four animals leading the quadriga

The red headed figure at the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga is said to be Karun, but this is hotly debated

The Infernal Quadriga

The tomb is named after is an incredible wall painting depicting the a rider leading a quadriga (a chariot with four animals, usually horses, but here you have griffons and lions). This is actually the first thing you see when you walk in on your left hand side, but I wanted to save this for last. The driver has pale white skin, red hair to match his/her dress, an intense furrowed face with a fang in its mouth.

The dustcloud is similat to other tombs seen in Tuscany

The figure at the tomb of the Infernal Quadriga is framed by a shadow or dust cloud.

It is unclear who this personage is. Is it human? Is it a demon? Is it male or female? The figure is dressed in red with fiery red locks. Its face is intense, frowning. While its face is white, there are lines on its cheek that could make it a man. Behind it, there is what seems to be a cloud of black smoke framing the figure. Perhaps it is an attempt at a shadow. Either way, this is pretty advanced and sophisticated art.

A detail of the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga showing the wheel of the carriage

The wheel of the Quadriga. There is even a demon on th bar holding the wheel

According to the museum's website (and the archaeologist that walked us through the tomb), the driver could be Charun, the creature that would take the dead into the underworld, although if this is so, the artist has deviated from the expected representation. Normally, Charun would be depicted with a hammer, and usually with Vanth, another guide to the underworld. This leads to many more questions about the figure.

Others say this could be a woman because of the light skin and similarities to other paintings of women in the area, particularly Velia from the Tomb of Orcus. Both are "framed" by a dark shadow/dust, both are in profile, and both have similar color hair that is wavy.  The feel of both paintings is completely different, but one can certainly make a connection between the choices of the artists. If the driver is indeed a woman, she is fierce, powerful, not to be messed with. Her hair flies back with the speed of her horses. It is absolutely amazing to see.

An Etruscan servant with a wine strainer

A servant would strain wine for the head of the household, his family and guests

Servant

The tomb also gives us insight into the class relationships of the Etruscans. Servants would cater to members of rich families, like this young man who brought over a strainer for wine. It tells us that there was a well established dynamic between rich and poor.

Dolphins are often seen in Etruscan funerary art

Dolphins represented the descent into the underworld and were popular motifs of Etruscan tombs

Dolphins

On the meander below the quadriga, you will see dolphins in alternating colors over what looks like a wave pattern. This is similar to the Tomb of the Lionesses, but there the depiction is a lot less patterned and seems to be more a part of the scene. It also mirrors the purpose of the seahorse as a metaphor for the passing into the underworld.

How to Get Tickets to Visit the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga

The most important thing you need to know is that the Tomb is only open once a week (Saturdays) by appointment only. It may be a pain to you, but this is awesome. More sites should enact rules like this to preserve these pieces of our cultural heritage.

You can make your appointment by calling 0039 0578269261 or by emailing info.museo@comune.sarteano.si.it or museo@comune.sarteano.si.it. I used the email method and received a response and confirmation very quick. Your ticket will include a trip to the small, but really cool museum located in the city of Sarteano, it's a nice way to use up time while you wait for your Tomb viewing appointment.

Visit times vary throughout the months:

October-May: One visit daily at 11:30am
June-September: Two visits daily 9:30am or 6:00pm

Directions to the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga

Once you've secured the appointment, you need to pick up your tickets at the Archeological Museum of Sarteano. It is located at:

Via Roma, 24 in Sarteano.

You must then drive to the site itself. This can be an issue if you don't drive stick (like me), so make sure that you have someone with you who can drive stick, or that you book a car service ahead of time.

Drive slowly once you get onto the road that leads to the site, the country road that leads to the site can be easy to miss and u-turns are difficult to make on this narrow road.

Info & Tips for Visiting the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga
place to wait when you visit the tomb of the infernal quadriga

If you get to the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga early, you can rest at one of the benches that are shaded by trees

1. Don't get there too early. We were there 45 minutes before and it was very hot - July - while there are benches on the site with trees, it gets very hot in the area, and since it is so close to the town, I suggest you get there max - 15 minutes ahead of time.

2. Bring water, a hat and sun protection. Once you get to the site, there is nothing else there, so make sure you bring stuff with you in case you are thirsty or hungry.

The mouth of the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga in Sarteano

There are 3 entrances at the mouth of the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga, only the center tomb has frescoes

3. Wear flats. This is a super easy tomb to visit. You don't have to climb over rocks or hills...but flats will make your life easier on the site.

4. Bring a sweater. Even in the peak of Summer, the tomb is quite cool. This is due to humidity control in order to keep the paintings in good condition. You have to walk through two doors that need to be closed very quickly. Once inside the drop in temperature is noticeable, so bring a light sweater to wear once inside.

5. Bring a camera. Yup...you can take pictures as long as you don't use flash.

6. Plan to spend time in town. We booked our visit for 6pm, but you are urged to pick up your tickets at 4. This meant we had 2 hours to kill. The town is quiet and calm, but there are a few bars and restaurants.

7. The group will be small. We had a two couples, one with children there on the same date. That meant only 8 people in total plus the archaeologist and her translator.

8. Be respectful. Don't touch stuff and have a good time.

If you Miss the Tomb

Not the same thing, but they have reconstructed the main frescoes at the Museum, so you can get an idea of what they look like.

Where to Stay Near the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga

You're in Tuscany, stay in Tuscany. You can stay at an Airbnb, at a Tuscan villa, or a hotel (but I'm no fan of hotels...so follow the order above. If you have never picked an Airbnb before, I've got a tutorial on how to pick the perfect Airbnb rental

Here are a few places to stay I think you'll love near the Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga:

Albergo Roberta Nadia & Felice are famous in Sarteano...so are the thermal pools. So, if you want to enjoy the hills of Tuscany, wine, archaeology and relaxation...this is the place. 

Albergo Santa ChiaraThe ultimate in romance. This place is GORGEOUS! The place is huge and there aren't so many rooms, so it feels like you have the whole place to yourself.  Giorgio & Chloe will make you feel like a part of their family.

Alessandra's Airbnb: Imagine staying in a gorgeous Tuscan home with fireplaces to keep you warm. Did I mention great wifi? And the best list of things to-do in Sarteano? You're going to love this place. 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

ONE COMMENT ON THIS POST To “Tips for Visiting The Tomb of the Infernal Quadriga in Sarteano Italy”

Leave a Reply