Blanca Valbuena

Natalia Giraldo, Trento 53

  • A sculpture of the virgin mary made of salt by Medellin Artist natalia giraldo
  • Salt is a very smart medium for this sculpture of Lot's wife and Mary
  • Natalia Giraldo's Mary

Ran dans une pièce incroyable de colombienne artiste né Natalia Giraldo au Museo de Antioquia à Medellin, Colombia. Je l'ai tellement aimé, Je devais la recherche dès que je suis rentré.

La sculpture, en sel, assis seul dans une chambre. Il représente les ruines de deux figures féminines; la Vierge Marie, et Edith.

Il était tout à fait approprié que je voyais cette sculpture seulement quelques jours après la célébration de la Dia de Las Velitas. Le jour célèbre immaculée conception de Marie. Ceci est probablement le plus important aspect de tradition catholique. Sans Marie que le navire pour la naissance du Christ, il pourrait y avoir pas de christianisme. Marie est aussi l'idéal féminin de la Colombie (et certains peuvent même dire l'Amérique latine) Culture. Comme les petites filles, nous (comme je suis une femme latine et vécu cette première main) sont tous soulevé d'être pur, humble, et obéissant.

Le sel est un moyen très intelligent pour cette sculpture de la femme et de Marie de Lot

Sculpture de Marie fait de sel par l'artiste colombienne Natalia Giraldo

Edith, d'autre part représente la foi aveugle qui est nécessaire pour croire en la religion. Ceci est quelque chose qui est enraciné dans les enfants de familles catholiques en Colombie. Histoire dit qu'elle était la femme de Lot qui avait été bon pour deux anges qui sont venus à leur ville, Sodome. En raison de cette bonté, les anges dirent à Lot de prendre sa famille et de fuir la catastrophe qui arrivera la ville, mais leur a donné une règle ... ne pas regarder en arrière. Edith looked back and was turned to a pillar of salt. The moral of the story here is to have blind faith and follow the rules of the church, d'autre venir à la tragédie.

Le choix de Giraldo de milieu, sel est assez explicite. Il donne le contexte pour un chiffre qui a été réduit à seulement un visage et deux pieds. Il renvoie aussi à l'histoire de sel (consultez le livre de Mark Kurlansky si vous voulez en savoir plus - grand livre.) Le sel était très précieux. Il a été utilisé comme monnaie. Dans la culture juive, Il a également signifié la loyauté, purity, et l'engagement.

Mary Natalia Giraldo

La tête de Marie est détaché de son corps dans cette sculpture de Medellin femme artiste Natalia Giraldo

Les chiffres sont de taille de vie, ce qui les rend à la visionneuse relatable. Comme une femme, Je devais arrêter et de voir ce qui est arrivé. Pourquoi ces femmes ont été détruits, Pourquoi étaient-ils en pièces. Il était incroyablement puissant.

Giraldo a quelques photos de son travail sur son compte Facebook, bien que je ne pouvais pas trouver un site pour son. Si / quand je fais, Je vais mettre à jour ici. Pendant ce temps, si vous arrive d'être à Medellin, aller vérifier son out.

Les deux onglets suivants changent de contenu ci-dessous.

Blanca Valbuena

Je suis le co-fondateur de FriendsEat et Socialdraft. J'ai une obsession malsaine avec Chardonnay bourguignon, ASOIAF, et Voyage.

Derniers messages de Blanca Valbuena (voir tout)

4 COMMENTAIRES SUR CE POST Pour “Natalia Giraldo, Trento 53”

  • Leu

    January 13, 2016 à 12:55 pm

    Fascinating! 🙂

    • blancavalbuena

      January 14, 2016 à 3:43 pm

      There is some amazing art here. I just went to the Museum of Modern Art in Cartagena. Small, but serious collection. I’m so happy to be able to discover these artists 😀

  • Natalia Giraldo Giraldo

    Août 6, 2016 à 3:08 pm

    Hola, gracias por la reseña!

    • Blanca Valbuena

      Août 9, 2016 à 11:48 am

      Gracias por el comment Natalia. Me gusto mucho la obra y todos los significados que pueden ser encontrados. Vuelvo a Medellin al fin del año, me facinaria que nos tomaramos un vino o una tazita de cafe.

Leave a Reply

Blanca Valbuena

Natalia Giraldo, Trento 53

  • Salt is a very smart medium for this sculpture of Lot's wife and Mary
  • Natalia Giraldo's Mary

Ran into an incredible piece from Colombian born artist Natalia Giraldo at the Museo de Antioquia in Medellin, Colombia. I liked it so much, I had to research it as soon as I got home.

The sculpture, made of salt, sat alone in a room. It depicts the ruins of two female figures; the Virgin Mary, and Edith.

It was quite appropriate that I was seeing this sculpture just a few days after the celebration of the Dia de Las Velitas. The day celebrates Mary's immaculate conception. This is the probably the most important aspect of Catholic lore. Without Mary as the vessel for Christ's birth, there could be no Christianity. Mary is also the female ideal of Colombian (and some may say even Latin American) culture. As little girls, we (as I am a Latin woman and experienced this first hand) are all raised to be pure, humble, and obedient.

Salt is a very smart medium for this sculpture of Lot's wife and Mary

Sculpture of Mary made of Salt by Colombian Artist Natalia Giraldo

Edith, on the other hand represents the blind faith that is needed to believe in the religion. This is something else that is ingrained in the children of Catholic families in Colombia. Story says she was the wife of Lot who had been kind to two angels who came to their city, Sodom. Because of this kindness, the angels told Lot to take his family and flee the disaster that would befall the city, but gave them one rule...don't look back. Edith looked back and was turned to a pillar of salt. The moral of the story here is to have blind faith and follow the rules of the church, else come to tragedy.

Giraldo's choice of medium, salt is pretty self explanatory. It gives context to a figure that has been reduced to merely a face and two feet. It also refers back to salt's history (check out Mark Kurlansky's book if you want to learn more - great book.) Salt was quite valuable. It was used as currency. In Jewish culture, it also signified loyalty, purity, and commitment.

Natalia Giraldo's Mary

Mary's head is detached from her body in this sculpture by Medellin Woman artist Natalia Giraldo

The figures are life size, making them relatable to the viewer. As a woman, I had to stop and see what happened. Why were these women destroyed, why were they in pieces. It was incredibly powerful.

Giraldo has some pictures of her work on her Facebook account, although I was unable to find a website for her. If/when I do, I'll update here. In the mean time, if you happen to be in Medellin, go check her out.

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

4 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “Natalia Giraldo, Trento 53”

  • Leu

    January 13, 2016 at 12:55 pm

    Fascinating! 🙂

    • blancavalbuena

      January 14, 2016 at 3:43 pm

      There is some amazing art here. I just went to the Museum of Modern Art in Cartagena. Small, but serious collection. I’m so happy to be able to discover these artists 😀

  • Natalia Giraldo Giraldo

    August 6, 2016 at 3:08 pm

    Hola, gracias por la reseña!

    • Blanca Valbuena

      August 9, 2016 at 11:48 am

      Gracias por el comment Natalia. Me gusto mucho la obra y todos los significados que pueden ser encontrados. Vuelvo a Medellin al fin del año, me facinaria que nos tomaramos un vino o una tazita de cafe.

Leave a Reply