布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

在悼念: 皮蒂

  • American staffordshite

 

很抱歉,如果这个职位是一个小散, 但皮蒂昨天去世了,我需要记录关于他的一切之前,我忘了是低劣时有发生做所有的时间. 最初的职位是 "符合皮蒂" 并张贴在七月 5, 2013. 不知道为什么,我决定只更新......但在这里不用.

皮蒂皮蒂是我这辈子收到的最好的礼物. 他来找我,从我的前男友凯文·. 我一直在试图与他分手是三个月左右. 不是因为他是一个可怕的家伙, 而仅仅是因为我知道我们的人生目标没有达到. 他要警校,并希望嫁给我,让我能呆在家里抚养孩子一窝. 这从来不是我的目标. 我的爸爸, 在哥伦比亚高阶警官, 击败屁滚尿流我妈定期. 他拿着一把剑,以她的脖子, 打破了她的鼻子, 甚至试图绑架我,他们分开后,. 幸, 我们住翻过从我们镇上谁注意到发生了什么事情市长街道并采取处理后事. 当我写这篇文章, 我明白为什么我一直有这样的厌恶婚姻和孩子轴承. 我是一所学校书呆子/派对女孩和所有我想做的事在纽约住了, 在画廊或博物馆得到一份工作,并与富人和名人的人交往. 我认为凯文的不得已让我留下来是当他打电话来问我,如果我想要一只小狗.

阿斯伯里帕克 2013

当然,我做. I had had dogs my entire life. My mom tells me that when I was born my dad's German gave birth to a litter of 12 小狗. 当我身边 9, 我有一个名为杰里迷你杜宾犬. 他被留在哥伦比亚,当我们搬到美国 1987. 在我十几岁, 我的妈妈, 奶奶和我的获救 11 岁的博美犬. 我叫她的咪咪. 我们认为,她被滥用, 但我们给了她三妙年. 她的离世是我第一次真正处理死亡. 我还没有,因为,因为我妈妈的新丈夫不想狗狗. 为了他, 狗被外界生物. 为了我, 它们是家庭的一部分.

皮蒂走在中央公园

原来我是在一个金融漏洞 (大学并不便宜) 而我家里......但支付租金 (租金便宜). 我说他妈的它. 我付房租, 我接受凯文的礼物. 他很小. 皮蒂是大概在 4 个月大,他是所有头和爪子. 我会偷偷地溜到他上下楼梯悄悄带他到浴室. 他很快就被内部培训, 但他越来越快,秘密是出. 当瓦西利奥斯 (我的继父) 认为我不能有一只狗. 我在他的脸上扔我的 (步) 弟弟和妹妹住在家里, 没有支付租金, 并有大学的钱,他保存了他们...哪位哥哥上车使用 (失去了它在比赛中), 和我的妹妹 (安息) 使用时,她偷走了她的男友虐待. 只是上下文, 我妈跟他超过 20 年份, 但我从来没有被视为 "女儿"...这在所有的公平性, 我不是. 但我觉得我妈是不够的,断言自己强,由于他的辱骂. 她甚至曾经告诉我,他的话伤害了她比任何踢我的父亲交付. 获取皮蒂留在房子在很多方面一胜.

皮蒂床

 

我终于得到了凯文明白,我们真的破了,并开始约会. 吉 (我的姐姐 - 谁我喜欢像一个姐姐 - 现在仍然如此) 建议Match.com. 她有它的乐趣. 我在诺思通工作作为信息管理系 - 审计, 库存控制, 防损都在我们的伞. 我拿工资shit和工作荒谬小时, 我是不是要再次日期从工作的人 (凯文在那里工作). 我说他妈的它, 我会做的.

皮蒂快乐中央公园

我更新我的个人资料, 上传我的可爱的图片,并尽可能准确,因为我可以回答. 你想要孩子 - 没有. 你想要结婚吗 - 没有. 这竟然是我做出的最好的决定. 我很快就与聊天 "renoirm". 住这长岛市的美式多明尼加古巴的家伙, 纽约. 我是一个巨大的影迷, 和他去纽约大学电影. We spent hours chatting about movies we loved. I was thrilled at the prospect of not having to sit through another shitty action/jungle film. 我们设定一个日期.

皮蒂摇滚冒险中央公园

安东尼奥, 皮蒂, 我很快成为一个家庭. 第一天晚上,他住在, 皮蒂吃了他的教练钱包和一对夫妇的百元大钞的人在那里,而我们睡. 另一天, 他把化妆水在他的爪子,因为他们觉得粗糙 (从走路正常狗callousing). 我知道安东尼奥是它. 由于比赛!

 

皮蒂, 安东尼奥和我在在拉马波储备大约湖 2006

There are so many memories we will have about our lives together. Petey was a ball of energy when he was little. 他甚至有一个招牌动作; the exorcist. 他会在旋转圈超快速,弓步你敲你在你的屁股和遍布舔你身边. 他会叫醒我的 2, 3, 和 4 我带他出去散步. 他从来室内巴克, 但是,当我们在公园里它是另一回事. 他会在鹅吠叫, 松鼠, 任何他认为他可以赶上. 他从未有过那种快乐......也许我应该是给他.

Petey's least favorite thing - getting clean - 霍博肯 2009

随着年龄的增长, 他婉转下来颇有几分上了车队的日程安排. 而不是在跟我醒来 5:30 上午, 他会等待安东尼起床,开始他一天. 他喜欢拥抱我们在床上,将等待我们俩起床接管现场,所以他可以在某些拥抱潜行. 他会睡了大半天, 但爱走路,去狗跑,在那里他将尽力驼背每只狗. 我从来没有能够得到纠正这个坏习惯. 在晚上的时间, 他会之前,我们跳上我们的床上到达那里,并通过它奠定我们俩都无法跳可以在床上.

皮蒂 在河滨公园三月运行 2014

他是一个非常聪明的狗. 他几分钟拿起技巧...并很快地学会如何智取他的人类得到他想要的东西. 他会做A-B分割测试,以找到最完美的可爱的脸: 抬起左眉, 舔唇. 抬起右眉, 舔唇. 开阔视野, 张开嘴, 滴耳朵. 云台, 眨眼, 引人侧目. 他将这种合作,直到他得到了他想要的东西.

跑在河滨公园三月 2014

他也成为一个自然的时钟. 每天中午和下午五点, 他会来,在我的办公桌上坐下来,盯着我. 他说: "同TCH它的晚饭时间. 下车你懒的屁股,喂我". 我仍然惊讶于他的计时精度. 夏令时真是乱了他. 我爱,当他需要洗澡, 他会闻起来像奇多......如果我们让他走太久, 他会闻起来像多力多滋. His nickname became Petey Cheetos.

皮特陪伴着我在我的疯狂早晨散步. 在工作日, 我们会走河滨公园从63街到第100街和背部. 在周末, 我们要么走一路125街或满足他的Frenchie朋友克劳德运行皮带免费在中央公园. 这是他最喜欢的星期几. 当我们不得不离开他们回家, 他会站在他的立场, 看看我,再看看克劳德在我们离开的抗议.

 

狗午睡时间

事情皮蒂喜爱

花生酱: 我们第一次给了他的花生酱, 他的 "粉红色的小标志" 出来.

游泳的: 他讨厌浴, 但热爱沙滩和湖泊.

是髓骨: 他的第二个最喜欢请客.

6 双手按摩: 他会喜欢它,当我的妈妈, 安东尼奥和我都宠他在同一时间.

偷菜: 皮蒂是一个多才多艺的小偷. 他偷了整个法国面包, 牛油果, 苹果, 梨, 全鱼, 一个番茄 (那一个,他没有吃).

徒步旅行: 皮蒂是一个了不起者和徒步旅行者. 他爱帕利塞德和有怪石嶙峋爬上任何海滩.

雪皮蒂

 

他最后的日子. 安东尼奥和我离开葡萄牙六月 17. 他留在黛安. 她是令人难以置信,而且一直是他的狗步行者/保姆,因为他是一只小狗 (如果你需要一个沃克在纽约/新泽西区 - 给我发短信. 我给你她的信息). 我传递消息18日戴安娜和她说皮蒂是有一个爆炸, 吃得好, 和他的狗朋友一起玩. 6月23日我们得到了一张纸条从她那里他不想吃他的食物 (他对斯特拉严格的饮食 & Chewys). 她说,她让他炒鸡蛋, 胡萝卜和牛排,他吃了. 7月2日, 她写道:我们告诉我们,他的胃口却在不断下降. 我问她带他到兽医. 他到兽医第二天,我们被告知他患有肺癌. 我们订了我们可以承受的最接近的飞行和家里人来接他7月6日. 他从去 54 爱情磅大块一 37 在不到一个星期的忧伤磅质量. 7日, 我们带他到肿瘤科医生,因为癌症的诊断,从一个普通的兽医来了. 肿瘤科医生证实了我们最坏的恐惧. 他劝我们采取皮蒂回家, 给他一些类固醇,看他是否会吃多一点舒适 - 但他将持续最多一个星期. 下一天, 他仍然不能大吃大喝. 他的呼吸吃力,我们作出的选择来缩短他的痛苦. 那天晚上,我们开车把他送到兽医为他的最后一次访问.

皮蒂海滩

回想起来, 我觉得我应该知道.

他开始拉回到他的散步, 但我以为这是老age..or固执. 当他还是一只小狗,他将自己的种植屁股在地板上,如果我没有服用他想要走的路. 我认为这是同样的事情. 他是一个有点呆滞的权利,我们离开之前, 但它是夏季. 萨默斯是不是他喜欢的时间, 太热了他......所以我认为这只是热. 他偶尔会咳嗽干, 但他这个做了他的整个生命和班菲尔德在兽医那里我把他从来没有告诉我不用担心这个 (grrrrr). 虽然做研究, 我发现非生产性干咳是肺癌的狗很好的指标. 我希望我早知道这样.

皮蒂sunnin

肿瘤学家 在蓝珍珠在纽约的全体工作人员是惊人的. 我希望我带他有我的整个生命,而不是糟糕的班菲尔德,我从来不喜欢. 尽管皮蒂没有侵略性的历史......他不会咬任何人, 他们将他的枪口. I think that this was because he was a Pittie & 因为当他们把温度计了他的屁股,他将抗议. 哎呀, 我会做同样的.

皮蒂特写

我告诉自己,在手术过程中我不会哭. 我不想给皮蒂看到我哭,当他们把他睡觉. 我想确保我强他. I was pretty successful and made sure I looked at him as he passed. I hope he went peacefully and with the least amount of pain.

皮蒂大特写

很抱歉的咆哮,去给你的狗一个拥抱.

可爱的皮蒂

这些都是在狗肺癌的症状, 留意你的幼崽,这些 & 点击此处查看 这里更多信息.

  • 咳嗽 - 非生产性黑客样咳嗽导致中没有粘液或流体 (皮蒂有这个, 但我们认为它没什么)
  • 昏睡
  • 减肥
  • 食欲不振
  • 呼吸困难或呼吸短促.

安东尼奥·皮蒂

 

 

 

下面的两个选项卡下面的更改内容.

布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

我FriendsEat和Socialdraft的联合创始人. 我有与勃艮第霞多丽不健康的痴迷, ASOIAF, 和旅行.

最新的帖子布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳 (查看全部)

Sponsored

9 评论对这个职位要 “在悼念: 皮蒂”

  • 耐莉帕特里夏Gourzis

    七月 6, 2013 在 1:29 上午

    Hi, I’m Petey’s grandma and very proud of him; since he was a puppy you can see how loving he’s being; all the years with him are filled with nice memories; sneaking him in to the house was a labor of love! He grow up into a loving companion for us, specially when my mother has to come back to our country, I missed her a lot and he was always laying with me and my sadness; years later when she died, a was sitting him because his parents went to Europe,as soon as I’ve heard the notice he sat down with me and start his labor of love and compassion, even my friends got really surprised when they saw him all the time with me; the funeral was overseas and I spend five days away, when I got back he continues his loving labor, thanks God for Petey!

  • Diane

    七月 18, 2014 在 11:29 上午

    What a beautiful piece for my beautiful boy! He was truly a “superdog” in every way, a champion of mixed breeds, with
    a huge heart overflowing with love and loyalty for his parents. While saying my goodbyes, I thanked him for the bond and
    love we shared together and asked him to look over my other animal friends in heaven. And he replied with his eyes….
    no problem Auntie D! 皮蒂, you will forever be in my heart.

    • blancavalbuena

      七月 18, 2014 在 1:01 下午

      Thank you Diane, you are one of Petey’s special people. One of those you can tell he was truly overjoyed to see. I am so thankful that you were there for us during this rough time and although Petey has passed I hope to have an incredibly long friendship with you.

  • Diane

    七月 18, 2014 在 2:22 下午

    …..In Memory of Petey…..

    Do not stand at my ash and weep,
    I am not there, I do not sleep.

    I am a thousand winds that blow.
    I am the diamond glints of snow.
    I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
    I am the gentle Autumn rain.

    When you awaken in the morning’s hush,
    I am the swift uplifting rush.

    Of quite birds in circled flight.
    I am the soft stars that shine at night.

    Do not stand at my ash and cry.
    I am not there. I did not die.

发表评论

Blanca Valbuena

In Memoriam: Petey

  • American staffordshite

 

Sorry if this post is a little scattered, but Petey passed away yesterday and I need to record everything about him before I forget it as shitty time happens to do all the time. The original post was "Meet Petey" and posted on July 5, 2013. Not sure why I decided to just update it...but here goes.

PeteyPetey was the best present I ever received. He came to me from my ex-boyfriend Kevin. I had been trying to break it off with him for about three months. Not because he was a horrible guy, but merely because I knew that our life goals did not meet. He was going to the Police academy and hoped to marry me so I could stay home and raise a litter of kids. This has never been my goal. My dad, a high ranking police officer in Colombia, beat the crap out of my mom on a regular basis. He held a sword to her neck, broke her nose, and even tried to kidnap me after they separated. Luckily, we lived accross the street from the Mayor of our town who noticed what was going on and took care of things. As I write this, I can see why I have always had such an aversion to marriage and child bearing. I was a school nerd/party girl and all I wanted to do was live in NYC, get a job at a gallery or museum and hobnob with the rich and famous. I think that Kevin's last resort to getting me to stay was when he called to ask me if I wanted a puppy.

Asbury Park 2013

Of course I did. I had had dogs my entire life. My mom tells me that when I was born my dad's German gave birth to a litter of 12 puppies. When I was around 9, I had a mini Doberman pinscher named Jerry. He was left in Colombia when we moved to the US in 1987. In my teens, my mom, grandma and I rescued an 11 year old Pomeranian. I named her Mimi. We think she was abused, but we gave her three wonderful years. Her passing was the first time I truly dealt with death. I hadn't had a dog since because my mom's new husband did not want a dog. For him, dogs were outside creatures. For me, they were part of the family.

Petey Walking in Central Park

Turns out I was in a financial hole (college is not cheap) and I was living at home...but paying rent (cheap rent). I said fuck it. I pay rent, I am accepting Kevin's gift. He was tiny. Petey was probably around 4 months old and he was all head and paws. I would sneak him up and down the stairs quietly to take him to the bathroom. He was soon house trained, but he grew fast and the secret was out. When Vasilios (my step father) argued that I could not have a dog. I threw in his face that my (step) brother and sister lived at home, did not pay rent, and had college money that he saved for them...which my brother used on a car (lost it in a race), and my sister (RIP) used when she ran away with her abusive boyfriend. Just for context, my mom was with him for over 20 years, but I never was treated as a "daughter"...which in all fairness, I was not. But I think my mom was not strong enough to assert herself due to his verbal abuse. She even once told me that his words hurt her more than any kick my father delivered. Getting Petey to stay at the house was a win in so many ways.

petey bed

 

I finally got Kevin to understand that we were really broken up and started dating. Kat (my sister - who I loved like a sister - and still do) suggested Match.com. She was having fun with it. I was working at Nordstrom as in the Information Management department - auditing, inventory control, and loss prevention were all under our umbrella. I got paid shit and worked ridiculous hours, and I was not about to date anyone from work again (Kevin worked there). I said fuck it, I'll do it.

Petey Happy Central Park

I updated my profile, uploaded my cutest picture and answered as accurately as I could. Do you want children - no. Do you want to get married - no. This turned out to be the best decision I made. I was soon chatting with "renoirm". An American-Dominican-Cuban guy that lived in Long Island City, NY. I am a huge film buff, and he went to NYU for film.  We spent hours chatting about movies we loved.  I was thrilled at the prospect of not having to sit through another shitty action/jungle film. We set a date.

Petey rock adventures Central Park

Antonio, Petey, and I soon became a family. The first night he stayed over, Petey ate his coach wallet and a couple of hundred dollar bills that were in there while we slept. Another day, he was putting lotion on his paws because they felt rough (normal doggy callousing from walking). I knew Antonio was it. Thanks Match!

 

Petey, Antonio and me at the lake at Ramapo Reserve circa 2006

There are so many memories we will have about our lives together. Petey was a ball of energy when he was little. He even had a signature move; the exorcist. He would spin around in circles super quick and lunge at you to knock you on your ass and lick you all over. He'd wake me at 2, 3, and 4 am to take him out on walks. He was never an indoor barker, but when we were in the park it was another story. He'd bark at geese, squirrels, anything he thought he could catch. He never had that pleasure...and maybe I should have given it to him.

Petey's least favorite thing - getting clean - Hoboken 2009

As he grew older, he mellowed down quite a bit and got on Antonio's schedule. Instead of waking up with me at 5:30 am, he'd wait for Antonio to get up to begin his day. He loved cuddling us on the bed and would wait for either of us to get up to take over the spot so he could sneak in some cuddles. He would sleep most of the day, but loved to walk and go to the dog run where he would try to hump every dog. I was never able to get this bad habit corrected.  At night time, he'd hop on our bed prior to us getting there and lay across it so neither of us could hop on the bed.

Petey running in Riverside Park March 2014

He was a super smart dog. He picked up tricks in minutes...and learned how to quickly outsmart his humans to get what he wanted. He would do A-B split tests to find the perfect cute face: Lift left eyebrow, lick lips. Lift right eyebrow, lick lips. Widen eye, open mouth, drop ears. Tilt head, wink, raise eyebrows. He would co this until he got what he wanted.

Running in Riverside Park March 2014

He also became a natural clock. Every day at noon and 5pm on the dot, he would come and sit and stare at me at my desk. He was saying "Bitch it's dinner time. Get off your lazy ass and feed me". I'm still amazed at the accuracy of his timing. Daylight savings time really messed him up. I loved that when he needed a bath, he would smell like cheetos...and if we let it go too long, he'd smell like Doritos. His nickname became Petey Cheetos. 

Pete kept me company in my insane morning walks. On weekdays, we'd walk Riverside Park from 63rd Street to 100th Street and back. On weekends, we would either walk all the way to 125th Street or meet his Frenchie friend Claude to run leash free in Central Park. That was his favorite day of the week. When we'd have to leave them to come home, he would stand his ground, look at me and then look at Claude in protest of our leaving.

 

doggy nap time

Things Petey Loved

Peanut butter: The first time we gave him peanut butter, his "little pink marker" came out.

Swimming: He hated baths, but loved the beach and the lake.

Marrow Bones: His 2nd favorite treat.

6 Handed Massages: He'd love it when my mom, Antonio and I all pet him at the same time.

Stealing Food: Petey was an accomplished thief. He stole whole baguettes, avocados, apples, pears, whole fish, a tomato (that one he did not eat).

Hiking: Petey was an amazing climber and hiker. He loved the Palisades and any beach that had craggy rocks to climb.

snow petey

 

His last days. Antonio and I left for Portugal on June 17. He was to stay with Diane. She is incredible and has been his dog walker/sitter since he was a puppy (if you need a walker in the NYC/NJ area - message me. I'll give you her info). I messaged Diane on the 18th and she said Petey was having a blast, eating well, and playing with his doggy friends. On June 23rd we got a note from her that he did not want to eat his food (he was on a strict diet of Stella & Chewys). She said she made him scrambled eggs, carrots and a steak and that he ate that. On July 2nd, she wrote us to tell us that his appetite was declining. I asked her to take him to the vet. He went to the vet the next day and we were told he had lung cancer. We booked the closest flight we could afford and were home to pick him up on July 6th. He went from a 54 lb hunk of love to a 37 lb mass of sadness in less than a week. On the 7th, we took him to the oncologist since the Cancer diagnosis came from a regular vet. The oncologist confirmed our worst fears. He adviced we take Petey home, give him some steroids to see if he would eat and be a little more comfy - but that he would last max a week. The next day, he was still not eating and drinking. His breathing was labored and we made the choice to shorten his suffering. That night we drove him to the vet for his final visit.

Petey beach

In retrospect, I feel that I should have known.

He started to pull back on his walks, but I assumed it was old age..or stubborness. When he was a puppy he would plant his tush on the floor if I was not taking him the way he wanted to go. I thought this was the same thing. He was a little sluggish right before we left, but it was Summer. Summers were not his favorite time, too hot for him...so I thought it was just the heat. He would occasionally cough dry, but he had done this his whole life and the vets at Banfield where I took him had never told me to worry about this (grrrrr). While doing research, I found out that an unproductive dry cough is a very good indicator of lung cancer in dogs. I wish I had known this.

petey sunnin

The Oncologist and the entire staff at Blue Pearl in NYC was amazing. I wish I had taken him there my whole life instead of crappy Banfield which I never liked. Even though Petey had no history of aggressiveness...he never bit anyone, they would muzzle him. I think that this was because he was a Pittie & because he would protest when they stuck the thermometer up his butt. Heck, I'd do the same.

Petey Close up

I told myself I would not cry during the procedure. I did not want Petey to see me cry when they put him to sleep. I wanted to make sure I was strong for him. I was pretty successful and made sure I looked at him as he passed.  I hope he went peacefully and with the least amount of pain.

petey extreme close up

Sorry for the rant and go give your dog a hug.

cutest petey

These are symptoms of lung cancer in dogs, keep an eye on your pups for these & check here for more info here.

  • Coughing - non-productive hack like cough that results in no mucus or fluid (Petey had this, but we thought nothing of it)
  • Lethargy
  • Weight loss
  • Loss of appetite
  • Trouble breathing or shortness of breath.

Petey Antonio

 

 

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Tags:

9 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “In Memoriam: Petey”

  • Nelly Patricia Gourzis

    July 6, 2013 at 1:29 am

    Hi, I’m Petey’s grandma and very proud of him; since he was a puppy you can see how loving he’s being; all the years with him are filled with nice memories; sneaking him in to the house was a labor of love! He grow up into a loving companion for us, specially when my mother has to come back to our country, I missed her a lot and he was always laying with me and my sadness; years later when she died, a was sitting him because his parents went to Europe,as soon as I’ve heard the notice he sat down with me and start his labor of love and compassion, even my friends got really surprised when they saw him all the time with me; the funeral was overseas and I spend five days away, when I got back he continues his loving labor, thanks God for Petey!

  • Diane

    July 18, 2014 at 11:29 am

    What a beautiful piece for my beautiful boy! He was truly a “superdog” in every way, a champion of mixed breeds, with
    a huge heart overflowing with love and loyalty for his parents. While saying my goodbyes, I thanked him for the bond and
    love we shared together and asked him to look over my other animal friends in heaven. And he replied with his eyes….
    no problem Auntie D! Petey, you will forever be in my heart.

    • blancavalbuena

      July 18, 2014 at 1:01 pm

      Thank you Diane, you are one of Petey’s special people. One of those you can tell he was truly overjoyed to see. I am so thankful that you were there for us during this rough time and although Petey has passed I hope to have an incredibly long friendship with you.

  • Diane

    July 18, 2014 at 2:22 pm

    …..In Memory of Petey…..

    Do not stand at my ash and weep,
    I am not there, I do not sleep.

    I am a thousand winds that blow.
    I am the diamond glints of snow.
    I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
    I am the gentle Autumn rain.

    When you awaken in the morning’s hush,
    I am the swift uplifting rush.

    Of quite birds in circled flight.
    I am the soft stars that shine at night.

    Do not stand at my ash and cry.
    I am not there. I did not die.

Leave a Reply