Blanca Valbuena

in Memoriam: Petey

  • American staffordshite

 

Sorry, wenn dieser Beitrag ein wenig zerstreut ist, aber Petey verstarb gestern, und ich muss alles über ihn aufzuzeichnen, bevor ich es vergesse, wie beschissen Zeit die ganze Zeit zu tun, geschieht. Der ursprüngliche Post war "Treffen Sie Petey" und veröffentlicht im Juli 5, 2013. Nicht sicher, warum ich beschlossen, nur zu aktualisieren ... aber hier geht.

PeteyPetey war das beste Geschenk, das ich je erhalten. Er kam zu mir von meinem Ex-Freund Kevin. Ich hatte versucht, es für etwa drei Monate mit ihm zu brechen. Nicht, weil er war ein schrecklicher Kerl, aber nur, weil ich wusste, dass unsere Ziele im Leben nicht erfüllen. Er wollte der Polizeiakademie und hoffte, mich zu heiraten, damit ich zu Hause bleiben könnte und einen Wurf von Kindern erhöhen. Das war nie mein Ziel,. Mein Vater, ein hochrangiger Polizist in Kolumbien, schlagen die Scheiße aus meiner Mutter auf einer regelmäßigen Basis. Er hielt ein Schwert an den Hals, brach sich die Nase, und sogar versucht, mich zu entführen, nachdem sie getrennt. Glücklicherweise, wir lebten auf der anderen Straßenseite aus dem Bürgermeister unserer Stadt, der bemerkt, was los war und kümmerte sich um die Dinge. Während ich dies schreibe, Ich kann sehen, warum ich immer so eine Abneigung gegen die Ehe und gebärfähigen hatte. Ich war eine Schule Nerd / Parteimädchen und alles, was ich wollte leben tun war in NYC, bekommen einen Job in einer Galerie oder einem Museum und ein Tässchen Tee mit den Reichen und Berühmten. Ich denke, dass Kevins letzte Ausweg zu bekommen, war mir zu bleiben, wenn er mich fragen genannt, wenn ich einen Welpen gesucht.

Asbury Park 2013

Natürlich habe ich. I had had dogs my entire life. My mom tells me that when I was born my dad's German gave birth to a litter of 12 Welpen. Als ich um 9, Ich hatte einen Mini-Dobermann namens Jerry. Er wurde in Kolumbien verlassen, als wir in die USA gezogen in 1987. In meiner Jugend, meine Mama, Oma und ich rettete ein 11 jährige Spitz. Ich nannte sie Mimi. Wir denken, dass sie missbraucht wurde, aber wir gaben ihr drei wundervolle Jahre. Ihr Vergehen war das erste Mal, dass ich wirklich mit dem Tod beschäftigt. Ich hatte einen Hund gehabt, da, weil meine Mutter den neuen Mann keinen Hund wollte. Für ihn, Hunde waren außerhalb Kreaturen. Für mich, sie waren ein Teil der Familie.

Petey Gehen in Central Park

Es stellte sich heraus, dass ich in einem finanziellen Loch war (College ist nicht billig) und ich war zu Hause leben ... aber Miete zu zahlen (billig mieten). Ich sagte, es ficken. Ich zahle Miete, Ich akzeptiere Kevin Geschenk. Er war winzig. Petey war wahrscheinlich um 4 Monate alt, und er war alles, Kopf und Pfoten. Ich würde ihn schleichen und die Treppe hinunter ruhig ihn ins Bad zu nehmen. Er wurde bald trainiert Haus, aber er wuchs schnell und das Geheimnis war heraus. Wenn Vasilios (mein Stiefvater) argumentiert, dass ich keinen Hund haben könnte. Ich warf in seinem Gesicht, dass mein (Schritt) Bruder und Schwester lebte zu Hause, nicht zahlen Miete, und hatte College Geld, das er für sie gerettet ... was mein Bruder auf einem Auto verwendet (verlor es in einem Rennen), und meine Schwester (RUHE IN FRIEDEN) verwendet werden, wenn sie mit ihren gewalttätigen Freund weggelaufen. Just for Kontext, meine Mutter war mit ihm für mehr als 20 Jahre, aber ich war nie als ein behandelt "Tochter"...die in aller Fairness, ich war nicht. Aber ich denke, dass meine Mutter sich nicht stark genug war, zu behaupten, wegen seiner Beschimpfungen. Sie sagte sogar einmal mir, dass seine Worte verletzt sie mehr als jeder Kick meinem Vater. ein Sieg in so viele Möglichkeiten bekommen Petey im Haus zu bleiben, wurde.

petey Bett

 

Ich habe endlich Kevin zu verstehen, dass wir wirklich aufgebrochen und begann Datierung. Kat (meine Schwester - die ich liebte wie eine Schwester - und immer noch tun) vorgeschlagen Match.com. Sie hatte Spaß mit ihm. Ich arbeitete bei Nordström, wie in der IT-Abteilung - Wirtschaftsprüfung, Bestandskontrolle, und Schadenverhütung waren alle unter unseren Regenschirm. Ich habe Scheiße und arbeitete lächerlich Stunden bezahlt, und ich war nicht etwa jemand von der Arbeit bis heute wieder (Kevin arbeitete dort). Ich sagte, es ficken, Ich werde es machen.

Petey Glücklich Central Park

Ich mein Profil aktualisiert, meine süßeste Bild hochgeladen und beantwortet so genau, wie ich konnte. Willst du Kinder - Nein. Möchtest du heiraten - Nein. Dies erwies sich als die beste Entscheidung, die ich gemacht. Ich war bald im Chat mit "renoirm". An American-Dominikanische-Kubaner, die in Long Island City lebte, NY. Ich bin ein großer Filmfan, und er ging nach New York University für Film. We spent hours chatting about movies we loved. I was thrilled at the prospect of not having to sit through another shitty action/jungle film. Wir setzen ein Datum.

Petey Rock Abenteuer Central Park

Antonio, Petey, und ich wurde bald eine Familie. Die erste Nacht blieb er über, Petey aß sein Trainer Brieftasche und ein paar hundert Dollar-Scheine, die dort waren, während wir schliefen. Ein anderer Tag, er war Putting Lotion auf seine Pfoten, weil sie rauh fühlte (normale Hündchen callousing vom Laufen). Ich wusste, es war Antonio. Dank Spiel!

 

Petey, Antonio und ich am See bei Ramapo Reserve circa 2006

There are so many memories we will have about our lives together. Petey was a ball of energy when he was little. Er hatte sogar eine Unterschrift zu bewegen; the exorcist. Er würde drehen sich im Kreis super schnell und Longe bei Ihnen auf dem Hintern zu klopfen und lecken Sie alles über. Er würde wecken Sie mich an 2, 3, und 4 bin ihn auf Spaziergängen zu nehmen. Er war nie ein Indoor-barker, aber wenn wir im Park waren, war es eine andere Geschichte. Er würde bei Gänsen bellen, Eichhörnchen, alles, was er dachte, dass er fangen konnte. Er hatte nie das Vergnügen ... und vielleicht sollte ich es ihm gegeben haben.

Petey's least favorite thing - getting clean - Hoboken 2009

Als er älter wurde,, er mellowed nach unten ziemlich viel und bekam auf Antonio Zeitplan. Statt mit mir Aufwachen an 5:30 bin, er würde für Antonio warten aufstehen seinen Tag zu beginnen. Er liebte es uns auf dem Bett kuscheln und für jeden von uns warten würde aufstehen über die Stelle zu nehmen, damit er in einigen Liebkosungen schleichen konnte. Er würde fast den ganzen Tag schlafen, aber liebte, um den Hund zu gehen und gehen laufen, wo er würde versuchen, jeden Hund Buckel. Ich war noch nie so schlechte Gewohnheit, können korrigiert. Nachts, er würde auf unserem Bett hüpfen vor uns dorthin zu gelangen und lag quer über es so keiner von uns auf dem Bett hüpfen konnte.

Petey Laufen in Riverside Park März 2014

Er war ein super intelligenter Hund. Er nahm Tricks in wenigen Minuten ... und gelernt, wie schnell seine Menschen austricksen zu bekommen, was er wollte,. Er würde die A-B-Split-Tests durchführen, die perfekte nettes Gesicht zu finden: Heben linke Augenbraue, lecken Lippen. Heben rechten Augenbraue, lecken Lippen. Widen Auge, offener Mund, Drop Ohren. Neigekopf, zwinkern, Augenbrauen hochziehen. Er würde dies zusammen, bis er bekam, was er wollte,.

Laufen in Riverside Park März 2014

Er wurde auch eine natürliche Uhr. Jeden Tag um die Mittags und 17.00 Uhr auf den Punkt, er würde kommen und sitzen und starren mich an meinem Schreibtisch. Er sagte "mittch es ist Essenszeit. Holen Sie Ihren faulen Arsch ab und füttern mich". Ich bin immer noch an der Richtigkeit seiner Timing erstaunt. Sommerzeit verwirrte ihn wirklich nach oben. Ich liebte, dass, wenn er ein Bad benötigt, er würde wie cheetos riechen ... und wenn wir es zu lange gehen lassen, er würde riechen wie Doritos. His nickname became Petey Cheetos.

Pete hielt mich Firma in meinem verrückt Morgen Spaziergänge. An Wochentagen, wir würden gehen Riverside Park von 63rd Street bis 100th Street und zurück. An Wochenenden, wir würden entweder zu Fuß den ganzen Weg zur 125th Street oder treffen seine Frenchie Freund Claude Leine frei im Central Park laufen. Das war sein Lieblings Tag der Woche. Als wir müssten sie verlassen nach Hause zu kommen, er stehen würde, seinen Boden, sieh mich an und dann schauen, Claude aus Protest unserer Weggang.

 

Doggy nap Zeit

Things Petey Loved

Erdnussbutter: Das erste Mal, gaben wir ihm Erdnussbutter, seine "kleine rosa Marker" kam heraus.

Baden: Er hasste Bäder, aber liebte den Strand und den See.

Markknochen: Seine zweite Lieblingsfestlichkeit.

6 handed Massagen: Er würde es lieben, wenn meine Mutter, Antonio und ich ihm alles zugleich pet.

Stehlen Lebensmittel: Petey war ein versierter Dieb. Er stahl ganze Baguettes, Avocados, Äpfel, Birnen, ganzer Fisch, Eine Tomate (dass man die er nicht essen).

Wandern: Petey war eine erstaunliche Bergsteiger und Wanderer. Er liebte die Palisades und jeder Strand, die schroffen Felsen hatte zu klettern.

Schnee petey

 

Seine letzten Tage. Antonio und ich verließ für Portugal im Juni 17. Er war mit Diane zu bleiben. Sie ist unglaublich und hat seinen Hund Walker / Sitter, seit er ein Welpe war (wenn Sie ein Wanderer in der NYC / NJ Bereich - Schick mir eine Nachricht. Ich gebe Ihnen ihren Info). Ich messaged Diane auf dem 18., und sie sagte Petey eine Explosion hatte, Gut essen, und spielt mit seinem Hundefreunde. Am 23. Juni haben wir eine Notiz von ihr, dass er nicht seine Nahrung zu essen wollte (er war auf eine strenge Diät von Stella & Chewys). Sie sagte, sie machte ihn Rührei, Karotten und ein Steak und er aß, dass. Am 2. Juli, schrieb sie uns, uns zu sagen, dass sein Appetit war rückläufig. Ich bat sie, ihn zum Tierarzt zu nehmen. Er ging zum Tierarzt am nächsten Tag und wir waren, sagte er Lungenkrebs hatte. Wir buchten das nächste Flug wir uns leisten konnten und zu Hause waren ihm am 6. Juli zu holen. Er ging von einem 54 lb großes Stück der Liebe ein 37 lb Masse von Traurigkeit in weniger als einer Woche. Am 7., nahmen wir ihn zu dem Onkologen, da die Krebsdiagnose von einem regulären Tierarzt kam. Der Onkologe bestätigt unsere schlimmsten Befürchtungen. Er adviced nehmen wir Petey nach Hause, geben ihm ein paar Steroide, um zu sehen, ob er essen würde und ein wenig mehr bequem sein - aber dass er dauern würde max eine Woche. Am nächsten Tag, er war immer noch nicht essen und trinken. Sein Atem ging schwer, und wir haben die Wahl, sein Leiden zu verkürzen. In der Nacht fuhren wir ihn zum Tierarzt für seinen letzten Besuch.

Petey Strand

Im Rückblick, Ich fühle, dass ich hätte wissen müssen,.

Er begann auf seinen Spaziergängen zurück zu ziehen, aber ich nahm an, es war alt age..or stubborness. Als er noch ein Welpe war, würde er seine tush auf dem Boden pflanzen, wenn ich ihm nicht die Art und Weise nahm er gehen wollte. Ich dachte, das war die gleiche Sache. Er war ein wenig träge kurz bevor wir links, aber es war Sommer. Summers waren nicht seine Lieblingszeit, zu heiß für ihn ... so dachte ich, es war nur die Hitze. Er würde gelegentlich Husten trocken, aber er hatte das sein ganzes Leben und die Tierärzte bei Banfield getan, wo ich ihn nie nahm hatte mir darüber Sorgen zu machen (grrrrr). Während forschen, Ich fand heraus, dass ein unproduktiver trockener Husten ein sehr guter Indikator für Lungenkrebs bei Hunden. Ich wünschte, ich hätte dies bekannt.

petey Sunnin

Das Onkologe und das gesamte Personal im Blue Pearl in NYC war erstaunlich,. Ich wünschte, ich ihn dort mein ganzes Leben, anstatt crappy Banfield genommen hatte, die ich nie gemocht. Obwohl Petey keine Geschichte der Aggressivität hatte ... er biss nie jemand, sie würden ihn mundtot. I think that this was because he was a Pittie & denn er würde protestieren, wenn sie das Thermometer auf seinem Hintern stecken. Teufel, Ich würde das gleiche tun.

Petey Close up

Ich sagte mir, ich würde während des Verfahrens nicht weinen. Ich wollte Petey nicht zu sehen, mich weinen, wenn sie ihn in den Schlaf. Ich wollte sicherstellen, dass ich für ihn stark war. I was pretty successful and made sure I looked at him as he passed. I hope he went peacefully and with the least amount of pain.

petey extreme Nahaufnahme

Sorry für die schimpfen und gehen Sie Ihren Hund eine Umarmung geben.

süßeste petey

Dies sind Symptome von Lungenkrebs bei Hunden, Halten Sie ein Auge auf Ihren Welpen für diese & Check hier für mehr Informationen hier.

  • Coughing - unproduktive Hack wie Husten, der in keinem Schleim oder Flüssigkeit führt (Petey hatte diese, aber wir dachten, nichts davon)
  • Lethargie
  • Gewichtsverlust
  • Appetitverlust
  • Schwierigkeiten beim Atmen oder Atemnot.

Petey Antonio

 

 

 

Die folgenden zwei Registerkarten ändern Inhalt unten.

Blanca Valbuena

Ich bin der Mitbegründer von FriendsEat und Socialdraft. Ich habe eine ungesunde Obsession mit Burgunder Chardonnay bekam, ASOIAF, und Reisen.

Neueste Beiträge von Blanca Valbuena (alles sehen)

Tags:

8 Kommentare zu diesem Beitrag zu “in Memoriam: Petey”

  • Nelly Patricia Gourzis

    Juli 6, 2013 beim 1:29 bin

    Hi, I’m Petey’s grandma and very proud of him; since he was a puppy you can see how loving he’s being; all the years with him are filled with nice memories; sneaking him in to the house was a labor of love! He grow up into a loving companion for us, specially when my mother has to come back to our country, I missed her a lot and he was always laying with me and my sadness; years later when she died, a was sitting him because his parents went to Europe,as soon as I’ve heard the notice he sat down with me and start his labor of love and compassion, even my friends got really surprised when they saw him all the time with me; the funeral was overseas and I spend five days away, when I got back he continues his loving labor, thanks God for Petey!

  • Diane

    Juli 18, 2014 beim 11:29 bin

    What a beautiful piece for my beautiful boy! He was truly a “superdog” in every way, a champion of mixed breeds, with
    a huge heart overflowing with love and loyalty for his parents. While saying my goodbyes, I thanked him for the bond and
    love we shared together and asked him to look over my other animal friends in heaven. And he replied with his eyes….
    no problem Auntie D! Petey, you will forever be in my heart.

    • blancavalbuena

      Juli 18, 2014 beim 1:01 pm

      Thank you Diane, you are one of Petey’s special people. One of those you can tell he was truly overjoyed to see. I am so thankful that you were there for us during this rough time and although Petey has passed I hope to have an incredibly long friendship with you.

  • Diane

    Juli 18, 2014 beim 2:22 pm

    …..In Memory of Petey…..

    Do not stand at my ash and weep,
    I am not there, I do not sleep.

    I am a thousand winds that blow.
    I am the diamond glints of snow.
    I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
    I am the gentle Autumn rain.

    When you awaken in the morning’s hush,
    I am the swift uplifting rush.

    Of quite birds in circled flight.
    I am the soft stars that shine at night.

    Do not stand at my ash and cry.
    I am not there. I did not die.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Blanca Valbuena

In Memoriam: Petey

  • American staffordshite

 

Sorry if this post is a little scattered, but Petey passed away yesterday and I need to record everything about him before I forget it as shitty time happens to do all the time. The original post was "Meet Petey" and posted on July 5, 2013. Not sure why I decided to just update it...but here goes.

PeteyPetey was the best present I ever received. He came to me from my ex-boyfriend Kevin. I had been trying to break it off with him for about three months. Not because he was a horrible guy, but merely because I knew that our life goals did not meet. He was going to the Police academy and hoped to marry me so I could stay home and raise a litter of kids. This has never been my goal. My dad, a high ranking police officer in Colombia, beat the crap out of my mom on a regular basis. He held a sword to her neck, broke her nose, and even tried to kidnap me after they separated. Luckily, we lived accross the street from the Mayor of our town who noticed what was going on and took care of things. As I write this, I can see why I have always had such an aversion to marriage and child bearing. I was a school nerd/party girl and all I wanted to do was live in NYC, get a job at a gallery or museum and hobnob with the rich and famous. I think that Kevin's last resort to getting me to stay was when he called to ask me if I wanted a puppy.

Asbury Park 2013

Of course I did. I had had dogs my entire life. My mom tells me that when I was born my dad's German gave birth to a litter of 12 puppies. When I was around 9, I had a mini Doberman pinscher named Jerry. He was left in Colombia when we moved to the US in 1987. In my teens, my mom, grandma and I rescued an 11 year old Pomeranian. I named her Mimi. We think she was abused, but we gave her three wonderful years. Her passing was the first time I truly dealt with death. I hadn't had a dog since because my mom's new husband did not want a dog. For him, dogs were outside creatures. For me, they were part of the family.

Petey Walking in Central Park

Turns out I was in a financial hole (college is not cheap) and I was living at home...but paying rent (cheap rent). I said fuck it. I pay rent, I am accepting Kevin's gift. He was tiny. Petey was probably around 4 months old and he was all head and paws. I would sneak him up and down the stairs quietly to take him to the bathroom. He was soon house trained, but he grew fast and the secret was out. When Vasilios (my step father) argued that I could not have a dog. I threw in his face that my (step) brother and sister lived at home, did not pay rent, and had college money that he saved for them...which my brother used on a car (lost it in a race), and my sister (RIP) used when she ran away with her abusive boyfriend. Just for context, my mom was with him for over 20 years, but I never was treated as a "daughter"...which in all fairness, I was not. But I think my mom was not strong enough to assert herself due to his verbal abuse. She even once told me that his words hurt her more than any kick my father delivered. Getting Petey to stay at the house was a win in so many ways.

petey bed

 

I finally got Kevin to understand that we were really broken up and started dating. Kat (my sister - who I loved like a sister - and still do) suggested Match.com. She was having fun with it. I was working at Nordstrom as in the Information Management department - auditing, inventory control, and loss prevention were all under our umbrella. I got paid shit and worked ridiculous hours, and I was not about to date anyone from work again (Kevin worked there). I said fuck it, I'll do it.

Petey Happy Central Park

I updated my profile, uploaded my cutest picture and answered as accurately as I could. Do you want children - no. Do you want to get married - no. This turned out to be the best decision I made. I was soon chatting with "renoirm". An American-Dominican-Cuban guy that lived in Long Island City, NY. I am a huge film buff, and he went to NYU for film.  We spent hours chatting about movies we loved.  I was thrilled at the prospect of not having to sit through another shitty action/jungle film. We set a date.

Petey rock adventures Central Park

Antonio, Petey, and I soon became a family. The first night he stayed over, Petey ate his coach wallet and a couple of hundred dollar bills that were in there while we slept. Another day, he was putting lotion on his paws because they felt rough (normal doggy callousing from walking). I knew Antonio was it. Thanks Match!

 

Petey, Antonio and me at the lake at Ramapo Reserve circa 2006

There are so many memories we will have about our lives together. Petey was a ball of energy when he was little. He even had a signature move; the exorcist. He would spin around in circles super quick and lunge at you to knock you on your ass and lick you all over. He'd wake me at 2, 3, and 4 am to take him out on walks. He was never an indoor barker, but when we were in the park it was another story. He'd bark at geese, squirrels, anything he thought he could catch. He never had that pleasure...and maybe I should have given it to him.

Petey's least favorite thing - getting clean - Hoboken 2009

As he grew older, he mellowed down quite a bit and got on Antonio's schedule. Instead of waking up with me at 5:30 am, he'd wait for Antonio to get up to begin his day. He loved cuddling us on the bed and would wait for either of us to get up to take over the spot so he could sneak in some cuddles. He would sleep most of the day, but loved to walk and go to the dog run where he would try to hump every dog. I was never able to get this bad habit corrected.  At night time, he'd hop on our bed prior to us getting there and lay across it so neither of us could hop on the bed.

Petey running in Riverside Park March 2014

He was a super smart dog. He picked up tricks in minutes...and learned how to quickly outsmart his humans to get what he wanted. He would do A-B split tests to find the perfect cute face: Lift left eyebrow, lick lips. Lift right eyebrow, lick lips. Widen eye, open mouth, drop ears. Tilt head, wink, raise eyebrows. He would co this until he got what he wanted.

Running in Riverside Park March 2014

He also became a natural clock. Every day at noon and 5pm on the dot, he would come and sit and stare at me at my desk. He was saying "Bitch it's dinner time. Get off your lazy ass and feed me". I'm still amazed at the accuracy of his timing. Daylight savings time really messed him up. I loved that when he needed a bath, he would smell like cheetos...and if we let it go too long, he'd smell like Doritos. His nickname became Petey Cheetos. 

Pete kept me company in my insane morning walks. On weekdays, we'd walk Riverside Park from 63rd Street to 100th Street and back. On weekends, we would either walk all the way to 125th Street or meet his Frenchie friend Claude to run leash free in Central Park. That was his favorite day of the week. When we'd have to leave them to come home, he would stand his ground, look at me and then look at Claude in protest of our leaving.

 

doggy nap time

Things Petey Loved

Peanut butter: The first time we gave him peanut butter, his "little pink marker" came out.

Swimming: He hated baths, but loved the beach and the lake.

Marrow Bones: His 2nd favorite treat.

6 Handed Massages: He'd love it when my mom, Antonio and I all pet him at the same time.

Stealing Food: Petey was an accomplished thief. He stole whole baguettes, avocados, apples, pears, whole fish, a tomato (that one he did not eat).

Hiking: Petey was an amazing climber and hiker. He loved the Palisades and any beach that had craggy rocks to climb.

snow petey

 

His last days. Antonio and I left for Portugal on June 17. He was to stay with Diane. She is incredible and has been his dog walker/sitter since he was a puppy (if you need a walker in the NYC/NJ area - message me. I'll give you her info). I messaged Diane on the 18th and she said Petey was having a blast, eating well, and playing with his doggy friends. On June 23rd we got a note from her that he did not want to eat his food (he was on a strict diet of Stella & Chewys). She said she made him scrambled eggs, carrots and a steak and that he ate that. On July 2nd, she wrote us to tell us that his appetite was declining. I asked her to take him to the vet. He went to the vet the next day and we were told he had lung cancer. We booked the closest flight we could afford and were home to pick him up on July 6th. He went from a 54 lb hunk of love to a 37 lb mass of sadness in less than a week. On the 7th, we took him to the oncologist since the Cancer diagnosis came from a regular vet. The oncologist confirmed our worst fears. He adviced we take Petey home, give him some steroids to see if he would eat and be a little more comfy - but that he would last max a week. The next day, he was still not eating and drinking. His breathing was labored and we made the choice to shorten his suffering. That night we drove him to the vet for his final visit.

Petey beach

In retrospect, I feel that I should have known.

He started to pull back on his walks, but I assumed it was old age..or stubborness. When he was a puppy he would plant his tush on the floor if I was not taking him the way he wanted to go. I thought this was the same thing. He was a little sluggish right before we left, but it was Summer. Summers were not his favorite time, too hot for him...so I thought it was just the heat. He would occasionally cough dry, but he had done this his whole life and the vets at Banfield where I took him had never told me to worry about this (grrrrr). While doing research, I found out that an unproductive dry cough is a very good indicator of lung cancer in dogs. I wish I had known this.

petey sunnin

The Oncologist and the entire staff at Blue Pearl in NYC was amazing. I wish I had taken him there my whole life instead of crappy Banfield which I never liked. Even though Petey had no history of aggressiveness...he never bit anyone, they would muzzle him. I think that this was because he was a Pittie & because he would protest when they stuck the thermometer up his butt. Heck, I'd do the same.

Petey Close up

I told myself I would not cry during the procedure. I did not want Petey to see me cry when they put him to sleep. I wanted to make sure I was strong for him. I was pretty successful and made sure I looked at him as he passed.  I hope he went peacefully and with the least amount of pain.

petey extreme close up

Sorry for the rant and go give your dog a hug.

cutest petey

These are symptoms of lung cancer in dogs, keep an eye on your pups for these & check here for more info here.

  • Coughing - non-productive hack like cough that results in no mucus or fluid (Petey had this, but we thought nothing of it)
  • Lethargy
  • Weight loss
  • Loss of appetite
  • Trouble breathing or shortness of breath.

Petey Antonio

 

 

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Tags:

9 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “In Memoriam: Petey”

  • Nelly Patricia Gourzis

    July 6, 2013 at 1:29 am

    Hi, I’m Petey’s grandma and very proud of him; since he was a puppy you can see how loving he’s being; all the years with him are filled with nice memories; sneaking him in to the house was a labor of love! He grow up into a loving companion for us, specially when my mother has to come back to our country, I missed her a lot and he was always laying with me and my sadness; years later when she died, a was sitting him because his parents went to Europe,as soon as I’ve heard the notice he sat down with me and start his labor of love and compassion, even my friends got really surprised when they saw him all the time with me; the funeral was overseas and I spend five days away, when I got back he continues his loving labor, thanks God for Petey!

  • Diane

    July 18, 2014 at 11:29 am

    What a beautiful piece for my beautiful boy! He was truly a “superdog” in every way, a champion of mixed breeds, with
    a huge heart overflowing with love and loyalty for his parents. While saying my goodbyes, I thanked him for the bond and
    love we shared together and asked him to look over my other animal friends in heaven. And he replied with his eyes….
    no problem Auntie D! Petey, you will forever be in my heart.

    • blancavalbuena

      July 18, 2014 at 1:01 pm

      Thank you Diane, you are one of Petey’s special people. One of those you can tell he was truly overjoyed to see. I am so thankful that you were there for us during this rough time and although Petey has passed I hope to have an incredibly long friendship with you.

  • Diane

    July 18, 2014 at 2:22 pm

    …..In Memory of Petey…..

    Do not stand at my ash and weep,
    I am not there, I do not sleep.

    I am a thousand winds that blow.
    I am the diamond glints of snow.
    I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
    I am the gentle Autumn rain.

    When you awaken in the morning’s hush,
    I am the swift uplifting rush.

    Of quite birds in circled flight.
    I am the soft stars that shine at night.

    Do not stand at my ash and cry.
    I am not there. I did not die.

Leave a Reply