Blanca Valbuena

Lyon Frankreich Reisetipps

  • Lion Skulptur Ludwig XIV Platz
  • gebratene Froschschenkel in Lyon Frankreich
  • Gelato in Vieux Lyon Frankreich
  • LYON France Käse Hallen
  • Käse in der Halle in Lyon Frankreich
  • Ostern Schokoladen Lyon Frankreich Les Halles
  • Späte Claire Austern
  • Musee Gadagne Puppenmarionette Museum
  • Altstadt Lyon Frankreich
  • Geflügel in Les Halles Paul Bocuse
  • Puppets in Musee Gadagne
  • Boote auf dem Fluss Rhône in Lyon Frankreich
  • Treppen in der Rhone in Lyon Frankreich
  • Street of Beef Lyon Frankreich
  • Ruins Treppen La Fourvière
  • Lyon Frankreich Treppen
  • Einkaufen Lyon Frankreich
  • Taufstein Lyon Frankreich
  • Street Art in Lyon
  • Pool von der Rhone Lyon Frankreich
  • Kathedrale Lyon Frankreich
  • Kirche in Lyon
  • lyon Markt
  • Gemüse Lyon Frankreich
  • Saone Farmers Market in Lyon
  • Fountain Place de la République Lyon
  • Innereien Platte
  • Kirche la Fourvière Lyon
  • Kunst auf der Brücke in Lyon Frankreich
  • Schokoladen-Lamm Lyon Frankreich
  • Croque monsieur Lyon Frankreich
  • Schokolade Ostern Schafe Hallen Paul Bocuse
  • Bar Les Halles Lyon Frankreich
  • Löwe Skulptur Lyon Frankreich
  • Metall stieg auf der Straße Lyon Frankreich
  • Lyon Frankreich Mahlzeit
  • Paul Bocuse Auto

Magst du essen? Do you love food? Wenn ja, dann können Sie Lyon als Ihr nächstes Reiseziel zu prüfen,. Neben dem Essen, es gibt wunderbare Museen, Geschäfte, and parks. On top of that there is the wonderful Fete des Lumieres in the winter season. Es ist ein wunderbares, Arbeits Französisch Stadt. Die Leute sind freundlich, das Essen ist fantastisch, die Stadt ist sauber, schön, und im Gegensatz zu anderen europäischen Städten; Lyon Funktionen. Es funktioniert unglaublich gut. Ich empfehle Lyon ernsthaft für einen Urlaub in Frankreich. It's lovely and with these Lyon Travel tips, you'll have a wonderful time there.

Lyon Travel Tips

Lyon ist wie viele andere Städte einrichten, die auf einem Fluss sitzen. Es passiert einfach so zu sitzen, wo die Rhone und Saone kommen zusammen und viel wie NYC. Its old city sits where Manhattan would be. If you are on the Rhone side, Sie sind in Queens / Brooklyn. Sobald Sie auf die Insel zu bekommen, Sie sind in Manhattan ... und wenn Sie nach Vieux Lyon gehen ... du bist in New Jersey. Macht es viel einfacher, wenn Sie versuchen, um zu erhalten ... oh, yeah ... das "raueren" Teil von Lyon ... gerade passiert mit der Bronx zusammenfallen.

Warum gehst du Lyon zu lieben?

  • Es ist die Gastronomie Hauptstadt von Frankreich
  • Es ist ein UNESCO Weltkulturerbe
  • Wirklich cool Museen
  • Wenn Sie ein Mitglied des Hauses Lannister, Sie finden diese Stadt lieben ... es ist voll von Löwen
  • Die Stadt funktioniert einfach
  • Seine Lichterfest ist einer der erstaunlichsten Brille ich je erlebt habe.
LYON France Käse Hallen

Käse ist ein Muss in Lyon. Vor allem bei Cellerier Standortwahl ist die Halles Paul Bocuse

Gastronomie (Stuff Sie wollen zu essen, wenn Sie sind in Lyon)

Sie sagen, Sie gerne essen? Dann müssen Sie nach Lyon zu gehen. Es begann im 19. Jahrhundert. Zu dieser Zeit hing die Wirtschaft der Stadt auf Seide Arbeiter. Diese Seide Arbeiter würden wieder aufladen in "Stecker" einfach, modest establishments that served hearty cuisine to help them get through the long days. Lyon first made its mark on the French culinary scene in the 19th century, wenn die Stadt war das Zentrum der boomenden Seidenindustrie. Hungry Seide Arbeiter in kleinen Bistros gruppierten, genannt "bouchons" die robuste verbrauchen, billige Tarif notwendig, sie durch ihre 18-Stunden-Arbeitstage zu tragen. Dann, Waren Stecker nackten Knochen, Familienbetriebe, schmerzlich vermisst in Stil und Dekor, aber infundiert mit einer einladenden, Gutbürgerliches Ambiente (Sie können hier mehr darüber lesen). Zu dieser Zeit wurden die Küchen meist von uns Mädchen laufen. Es dauerte bis zur Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts für die Männer zu greifen.

Wenn Sie ein Fleischfresser, Du Lyonnais Kappen lieben. Wenn Sie ein gastronaut, Sie werden sie lieben.  Ich bin kolumbianisch, und als solche, Ich bin gut daran gewöhnt, essen Gehirne, Innereien, Zunge ... Ich liebe diese alle Wackel kleine Stückchen. Die Lyonnais sind nicht scheu, wenn es um Innereien kommt. Zu Ihrer typischen bouchon können Sie erwarten:

  • Andouille (gegrillte Wurst chitterlings)
  • Blutwurst (Blutwurst - ganz anders als kolumbianische Morcilla, aber genauso lecker)
  • Cervelle de canut "Gehirne der Seidenweber" aus Frischkäse, Knoblauch, und Schnittlauch.
  • Gateau Geflügel (Hühnerleber "Kuchen")
  • Schnauzen Esel("Esel Schnauze" Salat)
  • Knödel (Mehl, Ei und Sahne Knödel in der Regel mit Fisch wie Pike gefüllt)
  • Gekröse (Schwein oder Kuh Bauch).

Wenn Sie gehen zu Ihrer ersten Bouchon, dann bestellen Sie die Lyonnaise Platte. Es wird mit einer Auswahl dieser köstlichen Bits ... und Sie können Ihre Reisebegleiter gross out.

Wenn Sie nicht so abenteuerlich, wie ich bin, Sie brauchen sich keine Sorgen machen. Paul Bocuse ist König in Lyon und neue Küche ist seine Königin. Er machte Französisch Küche elegant, Feuerzeug, und mehr verfeinert. Teufel, das Bocuse d'Or die die begehrte Auszeichnung für Köche in der Welt ist nach ihm benannt. Und, Glück für dich und mich, Bocuse ist noch am Leben und Kochen, So können Sie nach einem der Kopf sein Restaurants und haben die Mahlzeit des Lebens. Am Anfang dieser, Sie können über den Kopf Les Halles de Lyon Paul Bocuse. Dies ist die Mutter aller Lebensmittelmärkte. Ich war dort auf einer fast täglichen Basis, als ich in Lyon (Ernst, Sie können meine überprüfen Foursquare Check-Ins).  Es liegt nahe dem Bahnhof Part Dieu entfernt und man kann fast alle Magen Wünsche dort füllen (wenn Sie eine korrekte Abrechnung der alles wollen, können Sie hier, lesen Sie in diesem Beitrag). Wenn Sie verfügen über eine Küche, Sie können gute Sachen abholen Sachen zu Hause. Wenn Sie nicht nur eines der vielen Restaurants in Les Halles holen. Sie werden nicht schief gehen.

Sie können auch den Bauernmarkt überprüfen, es findet am Samstagmorgen entlang der Saône in Vieux Lyon. Sie können einige sehr günstige Austern genießen, viele Erzeugnisse, und nach Hause gehen voll und glücklich.

****SIE MÜSSEN Leberverfettung MAKRONEN AT THE HALLS GET - Dein Geist wird geblasen!

Innereien Platte

Plat Lyonnaise ist ein typisches Gericht von Lyon Frankreich

Preiswerte Restaurants in Lyon

Sie müssen essen, während Sie in Lyon sind. Starten Sie spart bis. Zwar gibt es einige schöne und preiswerte Restaurants, wenn Sie in der kulinarischen Hauptstadt der Welt sind ... Sie können als gut essen in den besten Restaurants. That being said ... es sei denn, Sie sind Mark Zuckerberg, Ich empfehle diese schöne Einrichtungen für das beste Budget Essen Lyon Frankreich(und ich habe ihre voraussichtliche Preis inbegriffen):

die Garage - 29 Straße Bonel - 3rd Arrondisement -  20€ Mittagessen, 26€ Lyonnaise Menü - empfohlen Gericht Frikassee Großmutter Weg Kalbsnieren (ein fricasee der Leber wie Großmutter machte, würde).

Die Soul Sister - 209 Rue Dugesclin - 44€ Abendessen (5 Kurse), aber sie laufen täglich Angebote, die weniger teuer sind.  Die Entenbrust ist hervorragend.

Die Jean Moulin - 22 Gentil Straße - 2nd Arrondisement -  20€ Mittagessen - Der Koch hier ist jung, aber er ist unglaublich Fach. Die Atmosphäre ist einladend, aber gehobene.

Brasserie Leon de Lyon - 1 Rue Pleney - 1st Arrondisement - 21€ Mittagessen - Es ist in Familienbesitz und seit ewigen Zeiten. Es ist eine klassische Brasserie und ein Muss für einen Besuch in Lyon. Große quenelles.

 Puuh, die Boit - 23 rue Royale - 1st Arrondisement - 14€ Mittagessen - Wenn Sie einen japanischen Koch mitKunst, es ist schwer zu schief gehen. Dieses Restaurant ist fantastisch!

Les Halles Paul Bocuse - 102 Cours Lafayette - Pricing variieren je nachdem, wo Sie essen. Sie werden mit jedem Restaurant nicht schief gehen hier. Klicken Sie auf diesen Link für meine Super auf alles aufzuschreiben lang liebte ich es.

L'Institut - 20 Place Bellecour - Dies ist ein neues Restaurant in der Stadt und es ist mit dem Paul Bocuse Kochschule angeschlossen. Sie essen im Grunde ein 3 Sterne-Michelin-Sterne-Essen für die Kosten einer regelmäßigen Mahlzeit in der Stadt. Ja, es ist nicht "billig", aber in Wahrheit ... es ist eines der besten Preis-Restaurants in Lyon.

Römische Ruinen in Lyon, Frankreich

Stadionbestuhlung in der gallo-römischen Ruinen in Lyon sowie das, was scheint Geschäfte zu sein

Gallo-Römischen RuinenUNESCO Site in Lyon

Ich liebe UNESCO-Stätten. Jede der UNESCO, die ich besucht habe,, I have loved.  Lyon was made a UNESCO site in 1998. Lyon was originally a Roman city (gibt es Ruinen gibt, die Sie besuchen können).   UNESCO sagt, dass Lyon war eingeweiht "räumlich aufgrund der besonderen Art, in der sie entwickelt hat, Lyon zeigt in besonderer Weise den Fortschritt und die Entwicklung der architektonischen Gestaltung und Stadtplanung über viele Jahrhunderte."

Park La Tête d'Or Festival of Lights Lyon

Das Thema für die 2013 Fete des Lumières in Lyon war ein Chinese Corner. Die Besucher wurden Seerosen mit Kerzen gegeben auf dem See zu setzen

La Fete des Lumières

Das ist meine Lieblingszeit Lyon zu besuchen. Es ist kalt (wie US Winter kalt), aber die Stadt hastet mit Aufregung. Das Fest feiert ein Wunder durchgeführt von der Jungfrau Maria (sie rettete die Stadt vor der Pest). Frühzeitig, Menschen entzündete eine Kerze in ihrem Fenster in Dank. Jetzt ist die Stadt in den Lichtern eingehüllt und setzt auf den erstaunlichsten Lichtspiele. Die Stadt wird ziemlich verpackt, aber im Gegensatz zu Festivals in anderen Ländern, hier ist alles ordentlich und schön. Sie können Vin Chaud trinken auf der Straße selbst eine Knoblauchwurst Sandwich bekommen und die ganze Nacht damit verbringen, die Licht-Displays zu sehen. Wenn Sie während dieser Zeit tun, machen Reservierungen für das Abendessen wayyyyy vor der Zeit.

Transport in Lyon

Lyon hat genial ein Transportsystem

  • U-Bahn (A.K.A. TLC) - There are four lines which makes it particularly easy to navigate. 
  • Straßenbahnen & Trolleys - Diese sind genial. Sie sind sauber, schnell und einfach zu nehmen. Es gibt vier Leitungen. Wenn Sie auf hop, stellen Sie sicher, Ihr Ticket zu validieren.
  • Seilbahn - Es sind nur 2 Seilbahnen in Lyon. Sie werden höchstwahrscheinlich die Linie nutzen, um Fourvière
  • Bus - Diese sollen mehr zum Ausgehen von Lyon. Ich würde überspringen diese, wenn möglich,. Außerdem, Ich habe fast ein letztes Mal getötet Ich war in Lyon.
  • Vélo'v - Es ist Lyons Fahrrad Aktie System. Superspaß und wirklich praktisch. Es gibt Vélo'v Stationen fast überall.
Musee Gadagne Puppenmarionette Museum

Musee Gadagne Lyon Frankreich

Museen

Lyon hat einige kick ass Museen. Mein Favorit ist der Musee Gadagne. Es ist eine Puppe / Marionette Museum. So freakin kühlen. Es ist in diesem erstaunlichen Renaissance-Gebäude und einige der coolsten Mario hält ich je gesehen habe. Dies ist für mich nicht entgehen lassen. Es besteht auch die Gallo-Römische Museum.   Wenn Sie in der römischen Kunst und Geschichte (wie ich bin), sind Sie hier richtig. Es gibt viel mehr Museen in Lyon, aber diese sind zwei, die Sie nicht verpassen sollten.

Funktion

Lyon arbeitet. Die Stadt ist sicher, schön, und voller Charakter. Es ist ein "jung" Stadt, und seine Jugend ist glücklich und funktional. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Städten Französisch, das Internet ist recht schnell. Sie können ganz einfach von a-b ohne Aufwand zu erhalten. Dies ist eine einfache Stadt zu begleichen in, du wirst sehen.

Wie komme ich nach Lyon

Flugzeuge: Fliegen Sie nach Paris. Triff dich dort für ein paar Tage und lassen Sie den Jetlag aus Ihrem System seinen Weg arbeiten. Dann können Sie entweder nach Lyon Flughafen fliegen (Saint-Exupéry) dauert etwa eine Stunde.  Sie können auch eine nehmen TVG Zug nach Lyon, Gare (dauert ca 2 Stunden, und es ist viel angenehmer).

Übernachten in Lyon

Ich mag keine Hotels in Lyon. Es geht ihnen gut, aber meh. Ich fand einen schönen Wohnung ein paar Blocks von Les Halles auf Airbnb. Es war in alles zu Fuß erreichen. Fantastische Gastgeber. Nur nicht versuchen, es bei meinem nächsten Reise zu buchen oder wir einige Probleme haben.

Need more Lyon Travel tips? Have specific questions, just ask in the comments below. 

Die folgenden zwei Registerkarten ändern Inhalt unten.

Blanca Valbuena

Ich bin der Mitbegründer von FriendsEat und Socialdraft. Ich habe eine ungesunde Obsession mit Burgunder Chardonnay bekam, ASOIAF, und Reisen.

Neueste Beiträge von Blanca Valbuena (alles sehen)

Sponsored

4 Kommentare zu diesem Beitrag zu “Lyon Frankreich Reisetipps”

  • Vincent Chong

    April 20, 2015 beim 12:56 bin

    HI blancavalbuena, thanks for the tips on Lyon!. They are very helpful especially I intend to visit Lyon this October!

  • Blanca Valbuena

    April 16, 2017 beim 8:41 bin

    Thanks Vincent. Let me know how your visit went!

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Blanca Valbuena

Lyon France Travel Tips

  • Lion Sculpture Louis XIV Place
  • fried frog legs in Lyon France
  • Gelato in Vieux Lyon France
  • lyon france les halles cheese
  • cheese at les halles in Lyon france
  • Easter Chocolates Lyon France Les Halles
  • Fines de Claire Oysters
  • Musee Gadagne Puppet Marionette Museum
  • Old town Lyon France
  • Poultry at Les Halles de Paul Bocuse
  • Puppets in Musee Gadagne
  • Boats on the Rhone River in Lyon France
  • Stairs into the Rhone River in Lyon France
  • Street of Beef Lyon France
  • Ruins Stairs La Fourviere
  • Lyon France Stairs
  • Shopping Lyon France
  • Baptismal Font Lyon France
  • Street art in Lyon
  • Pool by the Rhone Lyon France
  • Cathedral Lyon France
  • Church in Lyon
  • lyon market
  • vegetables lyon france
  • Saone Farmers Market in Lyon
  • Fountain Place de La Republique Lyon
  • offal plate
  • Church la fourviere lyon
  • Art on bridge in lyon france
  • Chocolate lamb lyon france
  • Croque monsieur Lyon France
  • chocolate easter sheep les halles de paul bocuse
  • Bar Les Halles Lyon France
  • lion sculpture lyon france
  • metal rose on street lyon france
  • Lyon France Meal
  • Paul Bocuse Car

Do you like food? Do you love food? If so, then you may want to consider Lyon as your next travel destination. Besides the food, there are wonderful museums, shops, and parks. On top of that there is the wonderful Fete des Lumieres in the winter season. It is a wonderful, working French city. The people are friendly, the food is fantastic, the city is clean, beautiful, and unlike other European cities; Lyon functions. It functions incredibly well. I seriously recommend Lyon for a France vacation. It's lovely and with these Lyon Travel tips, you'll have a wonderful time there.

Lyon Travel Tips

Lyon is set up like many other cities that sit on a river. It just so happens to sit where the Rhone and Saone come together and much like NYC. Its old city sits where Manhattan would be. If you are on the Rhone side, you're in Queens/Brooklyn. Once you get to the island, you're in Manhattan...and when you go to Vieux Lyon...you're in NJ. Makes it much easier when you're trying to get around...oh, yeah...the "grittier" part of Lyon...just happens to coincide with the Bronx.

Why are you going to love Lyon?

  • It is the gastronomy capital of France
  • It's a UNESCO World Heritage site
  • Really cool museums
  • If you're a member of the house Lannister, you'll love this city...it's full of lions
  • The city just works
  • Its Festival of Lights is one of the most amazing spectacles I have ever experienced.
lyon france les halles cheese

Cheese is a must in Lyon. Especially at Cellerier located at les Halles de Paul Bocuse

Gastronomy (Stuff you'll want to eat when you're in Lyon)

You say you like to eat? Then you need to go to Lyon. It all started in the 19th Century. At that time the city's economy depended on silk workers. These silk workers would recharge in "bouchons" simple, modest establishments that served hearty cuisine to help them get through the long days. Lyon first made its mark on the French culinary scene in the 19th century, when the city was the center of the booming silk industry. Hungry silk workers clustered in tiny bistros, called “bouchons” to consume the robust, cheap fare necessary to carry them through their 18-hour work days. Then, bouchons were bare-bones, family-run establishments, sorely lacking in style and décor, but infused with a welcoming, home-style atmosphere (you can read more about it here). At this time the kitchens were mostly run by us girls. It took until the middle of the 20th Century for the men to take hold.

If you're a carnivore, you'll love Lyonnais bouchons. If you are a gastronaut, you'll adore them.  I'm Colombian, and as such, I am well accustomed to eating brains, intestines, tongue...I love all those wiggly little bits. The Lyonnais are not shy when it comes to offal. At your typical bouchon you can expect:

  • Andouille (grilled chitterlings sausage)
  • Boudin noir (blood sausage - very different than Colombian Morcilla, but just as tasty)
  • Cervelle de canut “brains of the silk-weaver” made of cream cheese, garlic, and chives.
  • Gateau de volaille (chicken liver "cake")
  • Groins d'âne ("donkey snout" salad)
  • Quenelles (flour, egg and cream dumplings usually filled with fish like Pike)
  • Tripe (pig or cow’s stomach).

When you go to your first Bouchon, just order the Lyonnaise plate. It will come with a selection of these delicious bits...and you can gross out your travel companion.

If you aren't as adventurous as I am, you don't need to worry. Paul Bocuse is king in Lyon and Nouvelle Cuisine is his queen. He made French Cuisine elegant, lighter, and more refined. Heck, the Bocuse d'Or which is the most coveted award for chefs in the world is named after him. And, lucky for you and me, Bocuse is still alive and cooking, so you can head to one of his restaurants and have the meal of a lifetime. On top of this, you can head over to Les Halles de Lyon Paul Bocuse. This is the mother of all food markets. I went there on an almost daily basis when I was in Lyon (Seriously, you can check my Foursquare check ins).  It is located near the Part Dieu train station and you can fill almost all your stomach's desires there (if you want a proper accounting of everything you can get here, check out this post). If you have a kitchen, you can pick up goodies to make stuff at home. If you don't just pick one of the many restaurants in Les Halles. You won't go wrong.

You can also check out the Farmer's market, it takes place on Saturday mornings along the Saône river in Vieux Lyon. You can enjoy some very well priced oysters, lots of produce, and go home full and happy.

****YOU MUST GET FOIE GRAS MACAROONS AT LES HALLES - YOUR MIND WILL BE BLOWN!

offal plate

Plat Lyonnaise is a typical dish of Lyon France

Affordable Restaurants in Lyon

You need to dine out while you are in Lyon. Start saving up. While there are some lovely and inexpensive places, if you are in the Culinary capital of the world...you may as well eat at the best restaurants. That being said...unless you're Mark Zuckerberg, I recommend these lovely establishments for the best budget food Lyon France (and I've included their estimated pricing):

Le Garage - 29 Rue de Bonel - 3rd Arrondisement -  20€ lunch, 26€ Menu Lyonnaise - recommended dish fricassée de rognons de veau façon Grand-Mère (a fricasee of liver made like grandma would make).

L’Ame Soeur - 209 Rue Dugesclin - 44€ Dinner (5 courses), but they run daily specials that are less expensive.  The Magret de canard is outstanding.

Le Jean Moulin - 22 Rue Gentil - 2nd Arrondisement -  20€ Lunch - The chef here is young, but he is incredibly skilled. The atmosphere is welcoming, but upscale.

Brasserie Léon de Lyon - 1 Rue Pleney - 1st Arrondisement - 21€ Lunch - It's family owned and been around forever. It's a classic brasserie and  a must visit in Lyon. Great quenelles.

 L'Ourson qui Boit - 23 Rue Royale - 1st Arrondisement - 14€ Lunch - When you have a Japanese chef using La technique, it is hard to go wrong. This restaurant is awesome!

Les Halles de Paul Bocuse - 102 Cours Lafayette - Pricing will vary depending on where you eat. You will not go wrong with any restaurant here. Click this link for my super long write up on everything I loved there.

L'Institut - 20 Place Bellecour - This is a new restaurant in the city and it is affiliated with the Paul Bocuse cooking school. You're basically eating a 3 star michelin star meal for the cost of a regular meal in the city. Yeah, it's not "cheap", but in truth...it's one of the best value restaurants in Lyon.

Roman Ruins in Lyon, France

Stadium seating at the Gallo-Roman ruins in Lyon as well as what seems to be shops

Gallo Roman Ruins UNESCO Site in Lyon

I love UNESCO sites. Every UNESCO site that I have visited, I have loved.  Lyon was made a UNESCO site in 1998. Lyon was originally a Roman city (there are ruins there that you can visit).   UNESCO says that Lyon was inducted "by virtue of the special way in which it has developed spatially, Lyon illustrates in an exceptional way the progress and evolution of architectural design and town planning over many centuries."

Parc de La Tete D'Or Festival of Lights Lyon

The theme for the 2013 Fete des Lumieres in Lyon was a Chinese Corner. Visitors were given water lilies with candles to set upon the lake

La Fete des Lumieres

This is my favorite time to visit Lyon. It's cold (like US winter cold), but the city bustles with excitement. The Feast celebrates a miracle performed by the Virgin Mary (she saved the city from the plague). Early on, people lit a candle in their window in thanks. Now the city is enveloped in lights and puts on the most amazing light displays. The city gets pretty packed, but unlike festivals in other countries, everything here is orderly and nice. You can drink Vin Chaud on the street get yourself a garlic sausage sandwich and spend all night trying to see the light displays. If you do during this time, make dinner reservations wayyyyy ahead of time.

Transportation in Lyon

Lyon has awesome an transportation system

  • Métro (A.K.A. TLC) - There are four lines which makes it particularly easy to navigate. 
  • Trams & Trolleys - These are awesome. They are clean, fast and easy to take. There are four lines. When you hop on, make sure to validate your ticket.
  • Funicular - There are only 2 funiculars in Lyon. You'll most likely use the line to Fourvière
  • Bus - These are meant more for going out of Lyon. I'd skip these if possible. Besides, I almost got killed by one last time I was in Lyon.
  • Velo’v - It's Lyon's bike share system. Super fun and really convenient. There are Velo'v stations almost everywhere.
Musee Gadagne Puppet Marionette Museum

Musee Gadagne Lyon France

Museums

Lyon has some kick ass museums. My favorite is the Musee Gadagne. It is a puppet/marionette museum. So freakin' cool. It is in this amazing Renaissance building and holds some of the coolest Marionettes I have ever seen. This to me is not to be missed. There is also the Gallo-Roman museum.   If you're into Roman art and history (like I am), this is your spot. There are way more museums in Lyon, but these are two you should not miss.

Function

Lyon works. The city is safe, beautiful, and full of character. It is a "young" city, and its youth is happy and functional. Unlike other French cities, the internet is quite fast. You can easily get from a-b without effort. This is an easy city to settle into, you'll see.

How to get to Lyon

Planes: Fly to Paris. Hang out there for a few days and let the jet lag work its way out of your system. Then you can either fly to Lyon's airport (Saint-Exupéry Airport) takes about an hour.  You can also take a TVG train to Lyon's Gare (takes about 2 hours and it is way more pleasant).

Where to Stay in Lyon

I do not like hotels in Lyon. They are fine, but meh. I found a lovely apartment a few blocks from Les Halles on Airbnb. It was in walking distance to everything. Fantastic hosts. Just don't try to book it during my next trip or we'll have some issues.

Need more Lyon Travel tips? Have specific questions, just ask in the comments below. 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

4 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “Lyon France Travel Tips”

  • Vincent Chong

    April 20, 2015 at 12:56 am

    HI blancavalbuena, thanks for the tips on Lyon!. They are very helpful especially I intend to visit Lyon this October!

  • Blanca Valbuena

    April 16, 2017 at 8:41 am

    Thanks Vincent. Let me know how your visit went!

Leave a Reply