Blanca Valbuena

Dining at Dema at the Westin Detroit Airport Hotel

The Menu at Dema at the Westin Detroit Airport

The Menu at Dema at the Westin Detroit Airport

As a person who has done business travel a lot over the past six years, I usually dread staying at airport hotels. They are usually slightly away from the hotel, super noisy and have crummy dining options. I am currently at the Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel, Dieser Ort ist das komplette Gegenteil von allem oben genannten. Sobald Sie in Ihnen gehen kann sagen, dass das Hotel eine andere Erfahrung sein wird,. Ein Wald von hohen Bambus trennt die Rolltreppe, die Sie zum Hotel von der Lobby führen. In der Lobby gibt es einen schönen reflektierenden Pool mit einer Plattform Brunnen angehoben. Von der Rezeption kann man die offene Küche sehen und die Bar. Innerhalb von Sekunden habe ich vergessen, ich war am Flughafen. Das Personal ist freundlich, Fitnessgeräte nagelneu und der Pool beheizt. Bester Teil, Ich bekam einen guten Preis von $125 über Priceline und bezahlt $50 für einen späten Check-out, nicht schlecht ... fast vergessen; gibt es einen Eingang zum Flughafen von der Lobby und zwei Ständen für Sie in Ihren Stand zu überprüfen.

in Verbindung stehender Artikel: Wie Kreditkarte, Meilen zu sammeln und kostenlos fliegen

Licia Albarino at Dema at the Westin Detroit Airport

Licia Albarino bei Dema im Westin Detroit Airport

 

Genug über das Hotel, Ich bin hier, um das Essen zu reden. Wir gingen zum Restaurant (Genannt während) und das erste, was uns aufgefallen war eine große Weinkarte. Die Weine werden nicht nach Regionen oder Sorten geteilt, aber durch Geschmacksprofil. I think this is incredibly smart as it allows someone who is not so wine savvy to feel more comfortable with making a choice. On a high note, they had some more obscure varietals (which are quickly gaining ground) like Albarino. Auf einer nach unten Notiz, for their full bodied white selection...only Chardonnay; and no dry sparkling roses 🙁 . I ordered the Albarino ($40) and was very pleased with the wine. We actually took a bottle back to the room for later.

Mushroom Ravioli in a Cream Sauce with Shrimp at Dema at the Westin Hotel in Detroit

Pilz-Ravioli in einer Sahnesauce mit Garnelen auf Dema im Westin Hotel in Detroit

 

Ich bestellte Pilz ravioli in Sahnesauce und entschied sich für zusätzliche Garnelen ($28 - und keine zusätzliche Gebühr für die Garnelen). Antonio entschied sich für die Cajun Huhn in Sherry-Creme ($25). Beide Gerichte waren köstlich. Meine Ravioli mit porta gefüllt, Steinpilze und Shiitake-Pilze. Die Sauce war schwer, aber nicht aufdringlich ... schön ausgewogen tatsächlich. Die Shrimps haute mich. Es war perfekt gekocht. Die Mehrheit der Plätze verkochen Garnelen, so dass es trocken und zäh. Hier, die Garnelen war schön auf die Zähne, saftig und sehr schön.

Dema Cajun Chicken at The Westin Detroit Airport

Dema Cajun Huhn im The Westin Detroit Airport

 

Das Huhn war weißes Fleisch (Brust). Ich bin ein dunkles Fleisch Person. Irgendwie, sie machten dieses Huhn gewürzt und saftig (wahrscheinlich etwas mit dem Anbraten zu tun. Die Sauce auf dieses Gericht war auch eine Sahnesauce, aber viel leichter als die Ravioli. Das Gemüse war al dente und sehr schmackhaft.

Wir kamen zum Frühstück. Dieses Mal entschied ich mich für Eier Benedikt, ein Gericht, das ich wegen seiner hohen Kaloriengehalt selten bestellen (etwa 600 Kalorien, das Äquivalent von über eine Stunde lang mit hoher Geschwindigkeit laufen ... Ich habe eine Stunde auf dem elliptischen diese Uhr, so dass ich dachte, es wäre ok). Was ich bekam, war zwei englische Muffins mit pochiertem Lachs geröstet, pochierte Eier (Hollandaise auf der Seite) und Salat ($17). Die Hollandaise war die Kalorien wert, es war ein Olivenöl und Zitrone Hollandaise, die mich in Versuchung, die ganze Sache über die Eier gießen. Ich hielt mich zurück und tupfte nur ein wenig auf dem Teller. Meine einzige Beschwerde war, dass mein "pochiert" Eier wurden vollständig gekocht. Ich mag eine laufende Ei, wenn ich meine pochierten nehme. Unabhängig war die Kombination von Aromen einfach perfekt.

Antonio entschied sich für die Ei und der Türkei Wrap ($14). Das war lecker, wie auch. Der Wickel wurde leicht gegrillt, gibt es eine schöne Crunch. Der Truthahn hinzugefügt einige schöne Aromen. Die Avocado haben soeben genug Feuchtigkeit. Die Portion war riesig (Ich bin nicht ein für große Portionen, aber es war schön, Reste zu haben zurück in den Raum zu nehmen.

Ich werde auf jeden Fall in diesem Hotel übernachten nächste Mal, wenn ich nach Detroit fallen. Gutes Zeug

Dema is located at the Detroit Metropolitan Airport at 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, Michigan 48242 (734) 942-6500

Die folgenden zwei Registerkarten ändern Inhalt unten.

Blanca Valbuena

Ich bin der Mitbegründer von FriendsEat und Socialdraft. Ich habe eine ungesunde Obsession mit Burgunder Chardonnay bekam, ASOIAF, und Reisen.

Neueste Beiträge von Blanca Valbuena (alles sehen)

Sponsored

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Blanca Valbuena

Dining at Dema at the Westin Detroit Airport Hotel

The Menu at Dema at the Westin Detroit Airport

The Menu at Dema at the Westin Detroit Airport

As a person who has done business travel a lot over the past six years, I usually dread staying at airport hotels. They are usually slightly away from the hotel, super noisy and have crummy dining options. I am currently at the Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel, this place is the complete opposite of everything stated above. As soon as you walk in you can tell that the hotel will be a different experience. A forest of tall bamboo separates the escalators that lead you to the hotel from the lobby. In the lobby there is a lovely reflecting pool with a raised platform fountain. From the reception desk one can see the open kitchen and the bar. Within seconds I forgot I was at the airport. The staff is friendly, gym equipment brand new and the pool heated. Best part, I got a rate of $125 on priceline and paid $50 for a late checkout, not bad...Almost forgot; there is an entrance to the airport from the lobby and two stands for you to check into your stand.

RELATED ARTICLE: How to earn credit card miles and fly for free

Licia Albarino at Dema at the Westin Detroit Airport

Licia Albarino at Dema at the Westin Detroit Airport

 

Enough about the hotel, I'm here to talk about the food. We went to the restaurant (Named Dema) and the first thing we noticed was a great wine list. The wines are divided not by region or varietal, but by taste profile. I think this is incredibly smart as it allows someone who is not so wine savvy to feel more comfortable with making a choice. On a high note, they had some more obscure varietals (which are quickly gaining ground) like Albarino. On a down note, for their full bodied white selection...only Chardonnay; and no dry sparkling roses 🙁 . I ordered the Albarino ($40) and was very pleased with the wine. We actually took a bottle back to the room for later.

Mushroom Ravioli in a Cream Sauce with Shrimp at Dema at the Westin Hotel in Detroit

Mushroom Ravioli in a Cream Sauce with Shrimp at Dema at the Westin Hotel in Detroit

 

I ordered mushroom ravioli in a cream sauce and opted for additional shrimp ($28 - and no extra charge for the shrimp). Antonio opted for the Cajun chicken in sherry cream ($25). Both dishes were delicious. My ravioli was filled with portabella, porcini and shiitake mushrooms. The sauce was heavy, but not overbearing...nicely balanced actually. The shrimp blew me away. It was perfectly cooked. The majority of places overcook shrimp so it is dry and chewy. Here, the shrimp was nice on the teeth, juicy and quite lovely.

Dema Cajun Chicken at The Westin Detroit Airport

Dema Cajun Chicken at The Westin Detroit Airport

 

The chicken dish was white meat (breast). I am a dark meat person. Somehow, they made this chicken flavorful and juicy (probably something to do with the searing. The sauce on this dish was also a cream sauce, but much lighter than the ravioli. The vegetables were al dente and quite tasty.

We returned for breakfast. This time I opted for eggs benedict, a dish I rarely order because of its high caloric content (about 600 calories, the equivalent of running at a high speed for over an hour...I did an hour on the elliptical this am, so I figured it would be ok). What I got was two toasted English muffins with poached salmon, poached eggs (hollandaise on the side) and salad greens ($17). The hollandaise was worth the calories, it was an olive oil and lemon hollandaise that tempted me to pour the whole thing over the eggs. I restrained myself and dabbed just a little on the dish. My one complaint was that my "poached" eggs were fully cooked. I like a runny egg when I'm taking mine poached. Regardless the combination of flavors was just perfect.

Antonio opted for the egg and turkey wrap ($14). That was delicious as well. The wrap was lightly grilled, giving it a nice crunch. The turkey added some nice flavors. The avocado added just enough moisture. The portion was huge (I am not one for big portions, but it was nice to have leftovers to take back to the room.

I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I drop by Detroit. Good Stuff

Dema is located at the Detroit Metropolitan Airport at 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, Michigan 48242 (734) 942-6500

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Sponsored

Leave a Reply