布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

怎么做,如果您的信用卡在度假时被盗

如何保护自己,当您在旅行时你的信用卡被盗

事情的清单,你需要做什么来保护自己免受信用卡欺诈,如果你的信用卡被盗,而你是在度假

其中最令人沮丧的事情,一个人可以应付在旅途中失去自己的信用卡. 当我在法国和意大利旅行,我有我的Visa卡号码被盗. I didn't panic when I found out but I did learn how to deal with this type of fraud. 中 2 天, 两次, 我不得不发给我的新卡,它只是一个次要 "嗝" 在一个惊人的,否则旅.

够滑稽, 我最近是在Facebook和看到我的表弟一个FB后, "只是失去了我的信用卡,而在慕尼黑啤酒节享受. 20 欧元留给我的最后 10 多天. 祝我好运!". 起初,我吃了一惊, 但后来我想起这是我的表弟. 他被称为以家庭为仍觉 "太空军校". 他和他的妻子是做欧洲各地14天的背包旅行的中间. 他们曾计划去体验啤酒节慕尼黑, 泛舟在布达佩斯多瑙河, 在里斯本一个疯狂的pub crawl的. 但是,当你发现自己与€20你的口袋里在国外,你不说话的语言,突然半无家可归,你可以期望未来有些粗糙倍.

当我看到后, 我进入旅游专家模式. 下面是我给他的提示,以帮助他避免信用卡欺诈, 得到他的卡背面, 并获得现金在口袋里,所以他居然可以吃晚饭:

FOR LOST提示或信用卡被盗




    1. 调用 1800 您的信用卡号,立即.
      1. 国内电话号码
        美国运通免费电话 1-800 数字 1-800-528-4800
        Discover卡 1-800 免费电话号码 1-800-347-2683
        万事达 1-800 免费电话号码 1-800-627-8372
        签证 1-800 免费电话号码 1-(800) 847-2911
      2. 国际收集电话号码
        美国运通国际收藏 1-623-492-8468
        发现卡国际收藏 1-801-902-3100
        万事达卡国际组织收集 1-636-722-7111
        Visa国际组织收集 1-614-248-2161

      告诉你代理旅行时失去了你的卡. 他们将立即取消该卡,并问你最近的指控. 如果你不承认收费有它们标记为无效. 多数信用卡公司将调查欺诈和不收手续费.

    2. 有卡连夜到你的位置或本地UPS / DHL / FEDEX中心.
      这是重要的,以便在下一工作日,您将手头工作信用卡. 如果你是住在选择Airbnb, 酒店或旅馆大多数主机将让你有你的卡直接运到你在哪里住. 在我的经验中 99% 万军不会有任何问题与因情况, 但是,如果这是不可能的,那么其发送到用于拾取中心之一.
      可能出现的一个问题是,该事件发生在周五或第二天是节日. 如果是这样的情况下,你通常会有直到下一个工作日. 在大多数欧洲国家的包裹快递从周一好 - 星期六. 首届世界之外的假设,交货可能需要长达7天以上. 所以准备.




  1. 打电话给你的银行,如果它是一个ATM卡.
    这是时间敏感的,因为不像信用卡ATM卡可以充电至 100% 您的账户余额. 所以,如果你有 $5,000 在银行里, 然后贼可以把被盗的卡,并收取 $5,000 在不同的位置,你会不会通过银行进行保护. 这是你的现金risk.He是很常见的银行,你应该立即联系名单:
    美国银行
    富国银行
    第一资本 信用卡, 借记卡
    PNC银行
    我们. 银行
    花旗银行 信用卡, 借记卡
  2. 如果你被抢劫/抢劫联系当地派出所. 他们也许能帮助您很好回来,如果他们偷其他项目 (手机, 背包, 行李, 钱包, 相机, 等等). 不要让你的希望太多,但我已经看到之前发生. 警察知道谁是骗子在哪里, 到了他们那里带回来的旅游东西3小时内. 马上做到这一点. 如果你是在游轮或旅游,你不这样做, 你将无法一旦你出你的当前位置的采取行动.
  3. 请联系您的旅行保险. 他们也许能够帮助你与住宿, 给你一个预借现金对您的索赔,甚至帮助你EVAC回美国,如果你在一些危险.
  4. 当你回家监视按月你的信用. 有许多免费的信用卡报告服务在那里, 订阅它们. 你需要这样做的原因是某个犯罪集团 (对,我知道, 听起来像好家伙) 会偷卡和克隆它们. 这是如果他们能够从您的其他信息尤其如此,如你的驾驶执照, 护照或护照卡.
    忍者提示: 与护照旅行很少在你的人,除非国家规定 (看着你哥伦比亚). 如果你做的,都抢, 你将有更多的担心不是只有几美元,从您的信用卡丢失. 当你监视你的信用卡寻找任何异常. 如果事情弹出联系信用卡公司和你的身份证号码又变.

好的, 现在我们已经卡取消,您从信用卡诈骗保护, 你需要一些现金来抱着你一遍,直到你的卡到货. 按道理, 如果你有一个备用卡像 大通蓝宝石储备, 你可以从卡上取现金透支. 准备对他们采取 25% APR上撤军. 因此,请确保你回家,因为要尽快支付卡关闭 25% 兴趣迅速增加.

如果你没有任何其他的卡 (*啧啧*您应该备份卡或至少你的旅行伴侣应) 那么你可以连接到你的钱. 联系通过朋友或家庭成员的Facebook /电子邮件/短信/ WhatsApp的/微信/什么. 告诉他们发生了什么,让他们给你足够的钱抱着你一遍,直到你的卡到货. 不要在你的要求保守. 国外旅游是昂贵的,你应该高估你需要摄入量, 支付运输, 住房成本,也许有点观光的乐趣.

是金钱接线服务,我会用如下:



当您在国外只检查一个最接近你,并与去. 我一走的是西联汇款, 但最终它取决于你所在的国家. 虽然被丢失准备 10 对美元美分或更多使用这些服务时,如果你只传输少量. 这意味着你需要做出相应的计划.

最后的最后的努力 (然后其他行乞街头) 如果不能获得这笔资金,你可以做. 如果你是一个可怕的情况, 你需要访问的美国大使馆 (或者你的国家的大使馆). 他们会帮助你的联系方式,机构认为帮助美国人在国外陷入这种排序情况. 这不会是令人愉快的, (许多官僚主义) 但如果你需要吃他们会帮你.

我希望这些提示将帮助你生存的信用卡丢失或信用卡欺诈事件,而旅行. 记住, 你不是一个人, 这发生在我身上,我活了下来. 挫折与无奈可以成倍增加10倍,当你在国外, 但我们知道,如果你按照我的提示,你会不会有尽可能多的苦.

记住我的表弟谁失去了自己的牌背包. 我立即公布这些提示,他的Facebook后,他请求帮助. 他没有使用其中任何. 他结束了就在啤酒节乞讨. 显然,大量的啤酒带给人们发挥出利他主义. 他筹集了足够完成他的行程一点点到底遗留. 该死太空军校.

下面的两个选项卡下面的更改内容.

布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

我FriendsEat和Socialdraft的联合创始人. 我有与勃艮第霞多丽不健康的痴迷, ASOIAF, 和旅行.

发表评论

Blanca Valbuena

What to Do If Your Credit Card is Stolen while on Vacation

How to protect yourself when your credit cards are stolen while you travel

A list of things you need to do to protect yourself against credit card fraud if your credit cards are stolen while you are on vacation

One of the most frustrating things a person can deal with while traveling is to lose their credit card.  When I was traveling both in France and in Italy I had my Visa card number stolen.  I didn't panic when I found out but I did learn how to deal with this type of fraud.   Within 2 days, both times, I had new cards sent to me and it was just a minor "hiccup" on an otherwise amazing trip.

Funny enough, I was on Facebook recently and see an FB post from my cousin, "Just lost my credit card while enjoying Oktoberfest in Munich. 20 Euro left to last me 10 more days. Wish me luck!". At first I was taken aback, but then I remembered this is my cousin. He is known to the family as somewhat of a "space cadet".  He and his wife were in middle of doing a 14-day backpacking trip around Europe. They had planned to experience Oktoberfest in Munich, boating the Danube in Budapest, and a crazy pub crawl in Lisbon. But when you find yourself with €20 in your pocket in a foreign country where you don't speak the language and are suddenly semi-homeless you can expect some rough times ahead.

As soon as I saw the post, I went into travel expert mode. Here are the tips I gave him to help him avoid credit card fraud, get his cards back, and get cash in his pocket so he could actually eat dinner:

TIPS FOR LOST or STOLEN CREDIT CARDS




    1.   Call the 1800 number for your credit card immediately.
      1. Domestic Phone Numbers
        American Express Toll Free 1-800 Numbers 1-800-528-4800
        Discover Card 1-800 Toll Free Numbers 1-800-347-2683
        MasterCard 1-800 Toll Free Numbers 1-800-627-8372
        Visa 1-800 Toll Free Numbers 1-(800) 847-2911
      2. International Collect Phone Numbers
        American Express International Collect 1-623-492-8468
        Discover Card International Collect 1-801-902-3100
        MasterCard International Collect 1-636-722-7111
        Visa International Collect 1-614-248-2161

      Tell the agent you lost your card while traveling.   They will immediately cancel the card and ask you about recent charges.  If you do not recognize a charge have them mark as not valid.   Most card companies will investigate the fraud and not charge you a fee.

    2. Have a card overnighted to your location or to a local UPS/DHL/FEDEX center.
      This is important so that by the next business day you will have a working credit card in hand.   If you are staying in an Airbnb, Hotel or Hostel most hosts will allow you to have your card shipped directly to where you are staying.    In my experience 99% of hosts will have no issue with that because of the circumstances, but if this is not possible then have it sent to one of the centers for pickup.
      One issue that may arise is that the event happened on a Friday or next day is a holiday.  If that is case you will usually have till next business day.  In most European countries package delivery is good from Monday - Saturday.  Outside of 1st World assume that delivery could take up to 7-days more.  So be prepared.




  1. Call your bank if it is an ATM card.
    This is time sensitive because unlike credit cards your ATM card can be charged up to 100% of your account balance.  So if you have $5,000 in the bank, a thief can then take the stolen card and charge $5,000 at various locations and you will not be protected by bank.  This is your cash at risk.He is a list of common banks which you should contact immediately:
    Bank of America
    Wells Fargo
    Capital One credit cards, debit cards
    PNC Bank
    U.S. Bank
    Citibank credit cards, debit cards
  2. If you were robbed/mugged contact local police station.  They maybe able to help you get your good back if they stole other items (cellphones, backpacks, luggage, wallet, camera, etc).  Don't get your hopes up too much but I have seen it happen before.  The cops knew who the crooks where, went to them brought back the tourist stuff within 3-hours. Do this immediately. If you are on a cruise or tour and you don't do this, you won't be able to take action once you're out of your current location.
  3. Contact your travel insurance.  They maybe able to help you with lodging, give you a cash advance on your claim and even help evac you back to the States if you are in some danger.
  4. When you return home monitor your credit on a monthly basis.  There are many free credit card reporting services out there, subscribe to them.    The reason you need to do this is that sometime crime syndicates (yeah I know, sounds like Goodfellas) will steal cards and clone them.   This is especially true if they were able to get other information from you such as your drivers license, Passport or Passport Card.
    Ninja TIP:  Rarely travel with Passport on your person unless mandated by the country (looking at you Colombia).  If you do and are robbed, you will have more to worry about than just a few dollars missing from your credit card. As you monitor your credit card look for any anomalies.  If something pops up contact the Credit Card company and have your card number changed again.

Okay, now that we have the cards cancelled and you are protected from credit card fraud, you need some cash to hold you over until your cards arrive.   Logically, if you have a backup card like the Chase Sapphire Reserve, you can take a cash advance from the card.  Be prepared for them to take a 25% APR on that withdrawal.   So make sure to pay the card off as soon as you return home because 25% interest adds up quickly.

If you do not have any other cards (*tsk tsk* you should have backup cards or at least your travel companion should) then you can get money wired to you.   Contact a friend or a family member via Facebook/email/sms/whatsapp/wechat/whatever.  Tell them what happened and have them send you enough money to hold you over until your cards arrive.  Don't be conservative in your request.   Foreign travel is expensive and you should over estimate the amount you will need to eat, pay for transport, cost of housing and maybe a bit of sightseeing fun.

The money-wiring services I would use are as follows:



When you are abroad just check the closest one to you and go with that.   My go to one is Western Union, but ultimately it depends on which country you are in.  Be prepared though to lose 10 cents or more on the dollar when using these services if you only transfer a small amount.  This means you need to plan accordingly.

The final last ditch effort (other then beg on the street) you can do if you cannot get the funds. If you are in a dire situation, you need to visit the US Embassy (or the Embassy of your country).   They will help get you in touch with agencies that help Americans abroad caught in these sort of situations.  It won't be pleasant, (lots of bureaucracy) but if you need to eat they will help you.

I hope these tips will help you survive a credit card lost or credit card fraud event while traveling.   Keep in mind,  you are not alone, this has happened to me and I survived.   The frustration and helplessness can be multiplied 10x when you are abroad, but just know that if you follow my tips you won't have to suffer as much.

Remember my cousin who lost his cards backpacking.  I posted these tips to his Facebook immediately after he requested help.    He didn't use any of them.  He ended up just begging at Oktoberfest.  Apparently large quantities of beers bring out the altruism in people.  He raised enough to finish his trip with a little left over in the end.    Darn Space Cadet.

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Leave a Reply