Blanca Valbuena

Cortona Reisetipps

  • The Italian Train system allows drinking on the train
  • Laws in Italy allow dogs in restaurants
  • Moth gefunden in Cortona Italien
  • Basilica in Cortona Italy
  • La Loggetta Owners Marco and Lara make you feel at home
  • Best pizza in Cortona Italy is at Caffe Degli Artisti
  • Santa Maria Nuova in Cortona Italy
  • Cortona's Casa Chilenne is the best bnb in town
  • Town Hall in Cortona Italy
  • Wear comfortable shoes in Cortona
  • View from Casa Chilenne in Cortona Italy
  • Italian truffles are commonplace in Cortona

Ich Einer der Gründe, der Autor dieses Blog zu schreiben ist, dass manchmal vergessen, dass ich Orte, die ich in sie verliebt haben mit. Cortona ist eine dieser herrlichen Orten und ich bin gespannt, darüber zu schreiben, Angst, dass ich es nicht tun Gerechtigkeit, und Angst, dass die Menschen können beginnen, mehr und ruinieren alle besuchen, die es wunderbar macht. Antonio und ich landete dort rein zufällig. Unsere letzte Reise Italien war kaum geplant. Wir kauften ein Ticket in Rom und ein Ticket von Paris - das war in etwa so viel Planung wie wir. Der Tag, bevor wir sollten unsere zu überprüfen aus Aparthotel in Rom, wir hatten keine Ahnung, wohin sie gehen. Ich drehte mich zu Twitter für Empfehlungen und jemand erwähnt die Sun Festival in Cortona. Wir sagten, f-it, lass uns gehen! Es war eine der besten Entscheidungen, könnten wir gemacht haben,. We could have used these Cortona Travel Tips, but we figured things out as we went along. But you, just read through and get ready to have an amazing time in Tuscany. 

Ich wusste nichts über Cortona außer dem, was ich auf Twitter über die Sun Festival gelesen hatte, (Das ist leider nicht mehr da, aber in Florenz). Als ich ankam (nach einem sehr angenehmen Zugfahrt & eine kurze Taxi in die Stadt fahren) Ich wusste, dass ich in der Liebe. Es gibt nicht viel Platz für Autos zu umgehen, so unser Taxi setzte uns an der Piazza Garibaldi aus. Wir stiegen aus und konnte nicht widerstehen, die Ansicht der Toskana Hügel Check-out. Die Stadt schmal, cobbled streets and its ancient buildings will capture your soul in seconds. This walled hill city feels untouched by time. Es gibt keine bucks. There is no McDonalds. There are artists shops, Schuhmachern, Schmuck Entscheidungsträger und einige erstaunliche Restaurants.

Wenn der Name der Stadt klingt für Sie vertraut, seine wahrscheinlich aufgrund der Film Unter der toskanischen Sonne, there's a reason they picked this city as the setting. Of all the different villages and towns throughout Tuscany, Cortona hat Tonnen von Touristen Aufmerksamkeit gewonnen (aus Gründen, die in nur einem Augenblick beschreiben), aber es bleibt fast unbefleckt von außen Einfluss. One of the main reasons for its popularity is Frances Mayers who crafted an incredible tale (Basierend auf einer wahren Geschichte) dem Titel "Unter der toskanischen Sonne". Seit diesem Buch erstmals veröffentlicht wurde - und dann später in einen Film verwandelt - Cortona Tourismus explodiert.

Bei weitem eines der schönsten Orte auf dieser großen blauen Marmor nennen wir Erde, Cortona ist eine fast zu perfekt Darstellung eines ruhigen, urig, traditionellen toskanischen Stadt, everything that represents the best of this region. In Cortona you can walk-through gorgeous hills, Täler, und der Toskana Felder. Sie können in einem mittelalterlichen Ambiente in der modernen Kunst nehmen (gehen in eine Galerie - Sie werden höchstwahrscheinlich durch den Künstler zum Mittagessen oder Abendessen eingeladen - nicht so können Sie ihre Kunst kaufen, aber nur, weil sie wollen, mit jemandem darüber zu sprechen). Sie können an einer beliebigen Anzahl von Restaurants ... mit vielen italienischen Trüffel köstliche Speisen und Getränke genießen Sie Ihre Mahlzeit zu verbessern.

Millionen und Abermillionen von Menschen strömen in diesem wunderschönen toskanischen Dorf jeder und jedem einzelnen Jahr in nur ein wenig dieser Geschichte einweichen, und vielleicht ein bisschen Romantik erleben.  I hope that once you're done reading, Sie buchen Ihre Reise ... nur bitte Cortona behandeln mit Liebe und Zärtlichkeit. Es ist noch unberührt, und ich hoffe, dass wir alle, dass es so bleiben kann.

Wenn Sie diesen Blog gelesen haben, bevor, Sie wissen wahrscheinlich, dass ich Kunstgeschichte studiert und dass ich eine ungesunde Obsession mit Kirchen. Auch wenn Sie nicht eine Geschichte buff, Sie gehen die schönen Kirchen zu schätzen, die unglaublichen Museen (einschließlich der Etruscan Academy Museum), und die berühmte Cortona Tablet - eine 2200 Jahre alte Bronze Artefakt, das eine unglaubliche Menge an Geschichte von den frühesten Cortona Dorfleben teilt.

Cortona Reisetipps

Sie können jederzeit gehen (nur sicherstellen, dass ein Auto zu mieten - weil Sie Städte in der Nähe zu besuchen werden wollen). Cortona ist egal, herrlich, wenn du gehst. The Sun Festival has now moved to Florence (I'm super bummed - although Florence is also lovely), but there's plenty more going on in the city, especially food festivals 🙂

Juni: Schnecke Festival - There's a village quite close to Cortona called Fossa del Lupo where the “Escargot Festival” takes place. Es gibt Tanz, Musik-, und ... natürlich ... escargot.

Juli: The Cortona Mix Festival hat die Sun Festival ersetzt.

August: Bisteca von Sagra - Wenn Sie ein Fleischfresser, das ist für dich. Stellen Sie sich nur ein herrliches Steak mit einem Glas Chianti aus nur ein paar Meilen entfernt.

September: Autumn Festival - This takes place in the village of Fratta, in der Nähe von Sant'Agata Kirche, mit Schwerpunkt auf saisonale Gerichte der Toskana.

Oktober: Es gibt zwei Festivals in der Gegend zu der Zeit; Das Kastanienfest (Teverina) & das Farm Wagon Festival (Fratticciola). Sie müssen auf jeden Fall eine Küche, wenn Sie zu diesem Zeitpunkt kommen durch.

WO ZU BLEIBEN? 

Haus Chilenne: Es gibt viele Hotels und bnb die in Cortona zu bleiben, but I was incredibly lucky to find Casa Chilenne. Jeannette and her family will make you feel incredibly at home in this lovely BnB. Wir trook das Zimmer auf der obersten Etage. Dies bedeutete, dass wir ein fast privates Wohnzimmer mit Küchenzeile hatte und eine wunderschöne Terrasse. Als wir ankamen, Jeanette begrüßte uns mit einem Glas Prosecco und stellte uns ihre wunderschönen Mädchen Carly und Daisy, ihre schöne Miniatur-Pudeln. Frühstück in der Casa Chilenne war sehr schön jeden Morgen und Jeanette gebracht unsere Anfragen für Eier (Italiener neigen dazu, Gebäck und Wurst am Morgen zu tun - dies wird ermüdend nach 2 Wochen, Ich hätte nicht zufriedener sein können Eier für mich von Jeanette gemacht zu haben,. You will love this place. Haus Chilenne B&B liegt in der Via Nazionale, 65 Cortona 52044 (MIT) - Telefon / Fax +39 0575 603320 

SEHENSWUERDIGKEITEN SEHEN IN & Nähe von Cortona

Heiße Quellen: We were the youngest people in Chianciano. Das ist ein "Blaue Haare" irgendwie Stadt, und ich kann verstehen, warum diese unglaublich intelligente Senioren es häufig.  Chianciano is not a spa. Es ist eine Stadt voller Thermalbäder und Kurorte. Es ist weltweit bekannt für seine Mineralwässer bekannt (die angeblich heilende Wirkung haben). Die Stadt ist voll von Parks, aber ein Spa holen und den ganzen Tag dort verbringen. Dies sind die besten Spas der Welt (sogar besser als diejenigen, die in Budapest). Unser Favorit war in der Stadt CCN.

Wein trinken: Sie befinden sich in der Toskana. Sie würden ein Narr nicht Italiens köstlichen Weine zu genießen. Es gibt viele Weinstuben in Cortona, aber Sie würden ein Narr Montepulciano zu überspringen (einer meiner Lieblingsrestaurants Zeit gibt es - die Höhle). Wenn Sie sich entscheiden, in Cortona zu bleiben, make sure to take advantage of apperitivo.  Gehen Sie auf die Bar um 4-5pm. Bestellen Sie ein Glas Wein oder einen Cocktail und die Bar wird Ihnen kostenlose Gerichte. Dies hält Sie über bis zum Abendessen beginnt um 9 oder 22.00 Uhr. Mein Lieblingsplatz war Caffe Marker an der Via Nazionale, fühlten wir uns jeden Abend willkommen, die Auswahl an Weinen war fantastisch, und die Kunst an den Wänden war wunderschön. Dieser Ort ist süchtig.

Santa Maria Nuova: This church is known for its  Baroque style dome, Rosette, und Gewölbedecken. Die Kirche enthält eine Verkündigungsszene und Geburt von weniger bekannten italienischen Künstlern.

San Francesco: Das im 13. Jahrhundert im gotischen Stil Kirche wurde von Bruder Elias konstruiert 1247 auf römischen Überreste von dem, was höchstwahrscheinlich heißen Quellen. Einmal im Inneren kann man aus dem 17. Jahrhundert Barockaltar von Bernardino Radi genießen, die angeblich eine Reliquie des Heiligen Kreuzes enthalten. Neben der Heilig-Kreuz, die von Bruder Elias von Constantinople gebracht wurde, die Kirche bewahrt auch die Tunika, eine evangelistische Manuskript, und ein Kissen. Alle diese Reliquien gehörte heiligen Franziskus und wurden von Bruder Elias erhalten geblieben, die die Heilige genannt "meine Mutter", wie wir von Celano in der ersten Biographie des heiligen Franziskus erzählt. An der Wand auf der rechten Seite des Eingangs befinden sich die Reste eines Freskos zu Buffalmacco zugeschrieben (16Jahrhundert).

Basilika von Santa Margherita: Das im 13. Jahrhundert Kirche wurde auf einem Hügel gebaut, wo eine kleine 11. Jahrhundert Kirche einst stand. Es wurde während einer Belagerung und nochmals gemacht beschädigt 1288 von St. Margherita. Sie starb, und die Kirche nahm ihren Namen. Es ist für die Fensterrose und Barockaltäre bekannt.

BEST VALUE Restaurants in Cortona

Das Essen in Cortona ist out-freakin stehend. Restaurants sind in der Regel recht liberal zu sein, wenn sie Trüffel über Ihre Pasta rasieren. Toskanischer Küche ist einfach und schön. Wenn Sie einen Platz mit einer Küche bekommen, machen es zu einem Punkt den Markt am Samstag auf der Piazza Signorelli für frisch zu schlagen up, saisonale Produkte der Toskana. Es gibt viele Bars, die Ihnen einen Aperitivo anbieten (kaufen ein Getränk & erhalten einen kostenlosen Snack). Sie werden nicht mit jedem Restaurant in der Stadt schief gehen ... einige werden Sie mehr als andere kosten. Seien Sie nicht überrascht, wenn Sie Menschen mit ihren Hunde- Begleiter in Restaurants in Cortona sehen. Im Gegensatz zu den idiotischen Regeln in den USA, Italienische Restaurants haben keine Probleme Welpen ermöglicht mit ihren Betreuern zum Chillen ... zum größten Teil, sie sind unglaublich gut erzogene. Petey möchte Cortona.

Dies waren einige meiner Lieblingsrestaurants mitten in der Stadt:

Caffe degli Artisti: Das Hotel liegt im Herzen von Cortona, Caffe degli Artisti serves classic Tuscan dishes made by owner Francesco Salvadori. The pizza there is delicious as are the pastas and bean dishes. Located at Via Nazionale, 18 +39 0575 601237

La LoggettaDieses herrliche Restaurant hat eine der schönsten Außenbereiche in der Stadt. Es blickt auf den della Republica Piazza und dient herrliche toskanische Küche. Do not miss it. Located at Piazza di Pescheria ++39 0575 630575

Caffe Marker: Guter Service, ehrfürchtige Wein, und leckeres Essen. You can't go wrong going to this place. Befindet sichVia Nazionale 43 +39 0575 62053

ANREISE CORTONA?

MIT DEM FLUGZEUG: Es gibt wirklich keinen Flughafen, der ist "schließen" Cortona, aber das gibt Ihnen eine Entschuldigung, eine andere Stadt zu besuchen. Wählen Sie eine dieser Orte und nehmen Sie einen Zug in Cortona (info folgt)

Florenz International Airport - 75 Meilen weit weg (Ich werde bald über Florenz schreiben, es ist eine große Stadt).
Perugia International Airport - 75 Meilen weit weg
Pisa International Airport - 140 Meilen weit weg (Ich würde überspringen Pisa - es ist eine Touristenfalle. Wenn Sie diesen Flughafen wählen erkunden Lucca statt).
Roma Fiumicino International Airport - 140 Meilen weit weg (Dies war meine Wahl. Rom ist eine Art von awesome)

MIT DEM ZUGTake a train to either Terontola or Camucia train stations. Sobald Sie aussteigen, achten Sie auf die Schilder mit dem Taxi Telefonnummern. Rufen Sie eine Nummer & sie bitten, Sie am Bahnhof abholen. Es ist eine sehr schnelle Fahrt bis Cortona. Es dauerte ca. 2.5 Stunden nach Cortona von Rom mit dem Zug zu bekommen.

MIT DEM AUTO: Ich bin kein Fan von Fahr, und wenn sie die Wahl haben, I'd take the train. If you decide to drive, take the Valdichiana exit from the A1 highway (Autostrada del Sole). After the toll take the E45 towards Perugia and then take the 2nd exit: Cortona San Lorenzo. Follow the signs to the SS71 road in Camucia and to continue to Cortona.

Have more questions about Cortona? Need more specific Cortona Travel Tips? Leave me a comment. 

Die folgenden zwei Registerkarten ändern Inhalt unten.

Blanca Valbuena

Ich bin der Mitbegründer von FriendsEat und Socialdraft. Ich habe eine ungesunde Obsession mit Burgunder Chardonnay bekam, ASOIAF, und Reisen.

Neueste Beiträge von Blanca Valbuena (alles sehen)

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Blanca Valbuena

Cortona Travel Tips

  • The Italian Train system allows drinking on the train
  • Laws in Italy allow dogs in restaurants
  • Moth found in Cortona Italy
  • Basilica in Cortona Italy
  • La Loggetta Owners Marco and Lara make you feel at home
  • Best pizza in Cortona Italy is at Caffe Degli Artisti
  • Santa Maria Nuova in Cortona Italy
  • Cortona's Casa Chilenne is the best bnb in town
  • Town Hall in Cortona Italy
  • Wear comfortable shoes in Cortona
  • View from Casa Chilenne in Cortona Italy
  • Italian truffles are commonplace in Cortona

One of the reasons I started to write this blog is that sometimes I forget places I have fallen in love with. Cortona is one of these magnificent locations and I am excited to write about it, scared that I won't do it justice, and scared that people may start visiting more and ruin all that makes it wonderful. Antonio and I ended up there purely by chance. Our last Italy trip was barely planned. We bought a ticket into Rome and a ticket out of Paris - that was about as much planning as we did. The day before we were supposed to check out of our aparthotel in Rome, we had no idea where to go. I turned to Twitter for recommendations and someone mentioned the Sun Festival in Cortona. We said f-it, let's go! It was one of the best decisions we could have made. We could have used these Cortona Travel Tips, but we figured things out as we went along. But you, just read through and get ready to have an amazing time in Tuscany. 

I knew nothing about Cortona except what I had read on Twitter about the Sun Festival (which is sadly no longer there, but in Florence). When I arrived (after a very pleasant train ride & a short taxi ride to town) I knew I was in love. There is not much space for cars to get around, so our taxi dropped us off at Piazza Garibaldi. We stepped out and could not resist checking out the view of Tuscany's hills. The city's narrow, cobbled streets and its ancient buildings will capture your soul in seconds. This walled hill city feels untouched by time. There is no starbucks. There is no McDonalds. There are artists shops, shoe makers, jewelry makers and some amazing restaurants.

If the city name sounds familiar to you, its probably due to the movie Under the Tuscan Sun, there's a reason they picked this city as the setting. Of all the different villages and towns throughout Tuscany, Cortona has gained tons of tourist attention (for reasons that will describe in just a moment), but it remains almost untainted by outside influence. One of the main reasons for its popularity is Frances Mayers who crafted an incredible tale (based on a true story) titled “Under the Tuscan Sun”. Ever since that book was first published – and then later transformed into a movie – Cortona tourism has exploded.

Far and away one of the most picturesque places on this huge blue marble we call Earth, Cortona is an almost too perfect representation of a quiet, quaint, traditional Tuscan town, everything that represents the best of this region. In Cortona you can walk-through gorgeous hills, valleys, and Tuscan fields. You can take in modern art in a medieval setting (walk into a gallery - you will most likely be invited to lunch or dinner by the artist - not so you can buy their art, but just because they want to talk to someone about it). You can enjoy delicious food and drink at any number of restaurants...with lots of Italian truffles to enhance your meal.

Millions and millions of people flock to this gorgeous Tuscan village each and every single year to soak in just a bit of that story, and maybe experience a bit of romance.  I hope that once you're done reading, you book your trip...just please treat Cortona with love and tenderness. It is unspoiled and I hope that we can all keep it that way.

If you've read this blog before, you probably know that I studied Art History and that I have an unhealthy obsession with churches. Even if you aren’t a history buff, you’re going to appreciate the beautiful churches, the incredible museums (including the Etruscan Academy Museum), and the famous Cortona Tablet – a 2,200-year-old bronze artifact that shares an incredible amount of history from the earliest Cortona village life.

Cortona Travel Tips

You can go any time (just make sure to rent a car - because you'll want to visit nearby cities). Cortona is gorgeous no matter when you go. The Sun Festival has now moved to Florence (I'm super bummed - although Florence is also lovely), but there's plenty more going on in the city, especially food festivals 🙂

June: Sagra della Lumaca - There's a village quite close to Cortona called Fossa del Lupo where the “Escargot Festival” takes place. There's dancing, music, and...of course...escargot.

July: The Cortona Mix Festival has replaced the Sun Festival.

August: Sagra della Bisteca - If you're a carnivore, this one is for you. Just imagine a gorgeous steak with a glass of Chianti made just a few miles away.

September: Autumn Festival - This takes place in the village of Fratta, near Sant’Agata church, focusing on seasonal Tuscan dishes.

October: There are two festivals in the area at the time; The Chestnut festival (Teverina) & the Farm Wagon Festival (Fratticciola). You'll definitely need a kitchen if you come by at this time.

WHERE TO STAY? 

Casa Chilenne: There are lots of hotels and bnb's to stay in Cortona, but I was incredibly lucky to find Casa Chilenne. Jeannette and her family will make you feel incredibly at home in this lovely BnB. We trook the room on the top floor. This meant we had an almost private living room with a kitchenette and a gorgeous patio. When we arrived, Jeanette welcomed us with a glass of Prosecco and introduced us to her gorgeous girls Carly and Daisy, her lovely miniature poodles. Breakfast at Casa Chilenne was lovely each morning and Jeanette accommodated our requests for eggs (Italians tend to do pastries and charcuterie in the mornings - this gets tiresome after 2 weeks, I could not have been happier to have eggs made for me by Jeanette. You will love this place. Casa Chilenne B&B is located at Via Nazionale, 65 Cortona 52044 (AR) - Phone/Fax +39 0575 603320 

THINGS TO DO AND SEE IN & NEAR CORTONA

Hot Springs: We were the youngest people in Chianciano. This is a "blue hair" kinda town, and I can understand why these incredibly smart seniors frequent it.  Chianciano is not a spa. It is a town full of thermal baths and spas. It is known the world over for its mineral waters (which are said to have healing qualities). The town is full of parks, but pick a spa and spend the whole day there. These are the best spas in the world (even better than those in Budapest). Our favorite in town was CCN.

Drink Wine: You're in Tuscany. You'd be a fool not to enjoy Italy's delicious wines. There are plenty of wine bars in Cortona, but you'd be a fool to skip Montepulciano (one of my all time favorite restaurants is there - La Grotta). If you do decide to stay in Cortona, make sure to take advantage of apperitivo.  Go to the bar around 4-5pm. Order a glass of wine or a cocktail and the bar will give you complimentary dishes. This will hold you over until dinner starts at 9 or 10pm. My favorite place was Caffe Tuscher on Via Nazionale, we felt welcome every night, the wine selection was fantastic, and the art on the walls was gorgeous. This place is addictive.

Santa Maria Nuova: This church is known for its  Baroque style dome, rose window, and vaulted ceilings. The church contains an Annunciation scene and Nativity by lesser known Italian artists.

San Francesco: This 13th century Gothic style church was constructed by Brother Elias in 1247 on Roman remains of what was most likely hot springs. Once inside you can enjoy its 17th Century Baroque altar by Bernardino Radi, which is said to contain a relic of the Holy Cross. Besides the Holy Cross, which was brought by Brother Elias from Constantinople, the church also preserves the tunic, an evangelistic manuscript, and a pillow. All these relics belonged to Saint Francis and have been preserved by Brother Elias, who called the saint "my mother", as we are told by Celano in the first biography of Saint Francis. On the wall on the right of the entrance there are the remains of a fresco attributed to Buffalmacco (16th century).

Basilica of Santa Margherita: This 13th century church was built on a hill where a small 11th century church once stood. It was damaged during a siege and redone in 1288 by St. Margherita. She died and the church took on her name. It is known for the rose window and baroque altars.

BEST VALUE RESTAURANTS IN CORTONA

The food in Cortona is out-freakin-standing. Restaurants tend to be quite liberal when they are shaving truffles over your pasta. Tuscan food is simple and beautiful. If you get a place with a kitchen, make it a point to hit up the Saturday market in the Piazza Signorelli for fresh, seasonal Tuscan products. There are plenty of bars that will offer you an aperitivo (buy a drink & get a complimentary snack). You won't go wrong with any restaurant in the city...some will cost you more than others. Don't be surprised if you see people with their canine companions in restaurants in Cortona. Unlike the idiotic rules in the US, Italian restaurants have no issues allowing pups to chill out with their guardians...for the most part, they are incredibly well behaved. Petey would like Cortona.

These were some of my favorite restaurants right in town:

Caffe degli Artisti: Located in the heart of Cortona, Caffe degli Artisti serves classic Tuscan dishes made by owner Francesco Salvadori. The pizza there is delicious as are the pastas and bean dishes. Located at Via Nazionale, 18 +39 0575 601237

La LoggettaThis gorgeous restaurant has one of the prettiest outside areas in town. It overlooks the Piazza della Republica and serves gorgeous Tuscan food. Do not miss it. Located at Piazza di Pescheria ++39 0575 630575

Caffe Tuscher: Great service, awesome wine, and tasty food. You can't go wrong going to this place. Located at Via Nazionale 43 +39 0575 62053

HOW TO GET TO CORTONA?

BY AIR: There's really no airport that is "close" to Cortona, but this gives you an excuse to visit another city. Pick one of these locations and take a train into Cortona (info follows)

Florence International Airport - 75 miles away (I'll be writing about Florence soon, it's a great city).
Perugia International Airport - 75 miles away
Pisa International Airport - 140 miles away (I'd skip Pisa - it's a tourist trap. If you choose this airport explore Lucca instead).
Roma Fiumicino International Airport - 140 miles away (This was my choice. Rome is kind of awesome)

BY TRAINTake a train to either Terontola or Camucia train stations. Once you get off, look for the signs with taxi phone numbers. Call a number & ask them to pick you up at the station. It is a very quick ride up to Cortona. It took us about 2.5 hours to get to Cortona from Rome by train.

BY CAR: I'm not a fan of driving, and if given a choice, I'd take the train. If you decide to drive, take the Valdichiana exit from the A1 highway (Autostrada del Sole). After the toll take the E45 towards Perugia and then take the 2nd exit: Cortona San Lorenzo. Follow the signs to the SS71 road in Camucia and to continue to Cortona.

Have more questions about Cortona? Need more specific Cortona Travel Tips? Leave me a comment. 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Leave a Reply