Blanca Valbuena

Cabarete Dominikanische Republik: Kitesurfen, spelunking, Sun Worship, & Mehr

  • Blanca Valbuena in Dominican Republic
  • Cabarete Beach Rentals
  • Horses in Dominican Republic Beach
  • Fire Department in Dominican Republic
  • Sunset over the water in Cabarete
  • Pina Colada Jose O Shays Dominican Republic
  • Colonial Building Puerto Plata
  • Homeless dogs Dominican REpublic
  • Crab in Dominican Republic
  • Trio in Dominican REpublic
  • Chihuahua on Beach in Dominican Republic
  • Cabarete Beach Rentals
  • Skinny horse on a rope next to water

Antonio und ich waren immer noch lernen, wie man die Reise in 2007. We knew we wanted to travel the world, und wir hatten schon das Gefühl, dass wir nicht große Fans von Hotels waren, sogar "Luxus" Einsen. Dies war unser erster Versuch, eine Ferienimmobilie zu mieten. Wir brachten unsere Mütter und wussten, dass wir mit einem Minimum von zwei Schlafzimmer einen großen Platz brauchen würde,. Wir wollten auch eine Küche zu haben,. Wir haben viel mehr als das.

Wir haben ziemlich viel online Suche und ließ sich schließlich auf Cabarete Beach Houses. Das Hotel ist sehr schön. Sie bieten täglich Mägde Ihr Haus zu reinigen (praktisch, wenn Sie kochen wie wir es tun) und es gibt Sicherheitspersonal im gesamten Gebäude (das ist ziemlich wichtig im Bereich). Das Anwesen verfügt über einige ziemlich süß Annehmlichkeiten, es liegt direkt am Strand (was kann ein wenig rau manchmal), ein Pool & Jacuzzi, Tennisplätze (zu heiß für uns zu verwenden, wenn wir gingen), Flughafen Abholung (super bequem). Nanny Stände haben auch einige Einkäufe für uns, damit unsere Kühlschränke voll sein würde, als wir ankamen. Sie sind seit mehr Vergünstigungen wie nannys hinzugefügt, Massagen, etc ... wir bezahlt Zu der Zeit $608 US-Dollar für eine 7 tägigen Aufenthalt. Gar nicht so schlecht. Unser Haus hatte drei Etagen, und war unglaublich komfortabel.

Cabarete hat seine Höhen und Tiefen.

Die Ups: Die Strände sind von weißen Sand markiert und blauen Wasser. Es gibt Höhlen für Sie spelunking gehen (Ich dachte, es war eine großartige Idee, bis ich auf einem roten Ameisenhaufen getreten und war nicht in der Lage zu gehen, für 2 Tage). Es ist ein Streifen mit Restaurants, die alles von Italienisch anbieten, Thai, Dominikanische. Sie werden am Strand sitzen, fangen einige Strahlen, als plötzlich ein Bündel von Pferden spazieren werden gerne vor Ihnen. Wenn Sie im Internet surfen Kite ... Sie gehen, diesen Ort zu lieben. Zum Abendessen, trios werden Sie Boleros singen für nur ein paar Dollar zu machen eine Sommer Nacht magisch.

Die Downs: Es ist ein bisschen von Armut. Jeden Tag werden Sie traurig bekommen Kinder suchen entweder versuchen, Sie zu verkaufen etwas, das Sie nicht brauchen, (wie ein Kind, fragen Sie Ihre Turnschuhe zu glänzen), oder diejenigen, die betteln ... und dann zu einem Erwachsenen überfahren, um ihnen ihr Geld. Es gibt hungernde Tiere und Streunerhunde überall, sobald Sie Vergangenheit überall gehen, dass kommerzielle ist.

Es ist auf jeden Fall ein bitter süße Gefühl zu Cabarete (und DR im Allgemeinen). Wir fuhren in die nächste Stadt über einen Nachtclub mit unseren Müttern zu überprüfen, und es stellte sich heraus, ein Bordell zu sein ... wenn du mich jemals treffen in Person, erinnern mich, Ihnen die Geschichte zu erzählen.

Würde ich nach Cabarete gehen zurück? ja, Sie fragen sich wahrscheinlich, warum.

  • Das Land wächst. Sicher, es ist ziemlich offensichtlich, Armut einige, aber die Mehrheit der Menschen arbeiten wirklich hart, um die besten sie zu bieten haben, zu zeigen,. Sie sind freundlich und süß.
  • Das Essen ist fantastisch. Sancocho, mangu, tostones, Reis und Bohnen, concon ... Ich könnte weitermachen ...
  • Natur - Strände, Höhlen, Nationalparks ... Schwere hier
  • Preis - DR ist immer noch ein stehlen, vielleicht nicht so billig wie wenn ich das letzte Mal ging, aber wenn Sie mit einem knappen Budget, Sie können immer noch eine schöne Zeit haben.

***Was Sie nicht tun: Bleiben Sie nicht in einem dieser beschissenen all-inclusive-Resorts. Das ist langweilig und sicher. Sei ein Reisender, kein Tourist. Wenn Sie nur mit einem Bündel von Amerikanern zu hängen und Deutschen im Pool, tun Sie sich selbst einen Gefallen und bleiben in den USA. Wenn Sie gehen zu DR, finden einen Platz zu bleiben und einige Leute zu treffen. Sie werden überrascht sein, wie bereit sie sind, ihre Türen und Häuser Sie öffnen. Plötzlich werden Sie eine abuela haben Sie zum Abendessen einladen und Ihnen ihre Spezialität kocht. Sie ist vielleicht nicht viel zu teilen, aber sie wird ihre Arbeit und Familie Erbe teilen. Dies ist, wo Reise schöne wird. Wenn Sie habe dies nie getan, Versuche es. Sie werden Ihre touristischen häuten und ein Reisender geworden für immer.

 


größere Karte ansehen

Wie man dorthin kommt: Fliegen Sie nach Puerto Plata Flughafen. Es dauert ungefähr 3 1/2 wenn Sie Stunden von New York gehen non stop und wenn Sie Ihre Forschung tun, können Sie einige ziemlich erschwinglich Flüge bekommen. Sobald Sie ankommen, Sie müssen zahlen $10 hineinkommen. Sie können ein Taxi nehmen, aber ich empfehle, dass, wo immer Sie sich aufhalten jemand Sie hat kommen zu bekommen. Wenn Sie das tun, ein Taxi nehmen, es kostet ca. $35 für die Reise und in Cabarete sein in etwa 20 Protokoll.

Wie kommt man um: Nehmen Sie nicht die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel. Dies ist Sie betteln Ihre Sachen gestohlen zu haben. Ein Auto mieten (Ich empfehle einen Jeep oder etwas robust). Cabarete selbst ist recht klein, so können Sie zu Fuß. Ich nahm den Strand Route auf einer täglichen Basis. Ich empfehle Ihnen, nicht allein in der Nacht zu Fuß.

Stuff zu tun

  • El Choco Höhlen - Ein tolles Erlebnis für alle, aber mir (wie oben bereits erwähnt wurde von bösen roten Ameisen angegriffen). Es gibt einige einfache Höhlen zu erforschen. Die Mütter & Antonio liebte die Höhlen. Sie haben auch in frischen kühlen Höhle Wasser zu schwimmen, wenn sie fertig waren. Um dorthin zu gelangen gehen durch Sie El Choco National Park, wo gibt es viel Natur.
  • Strände: Cabarete Strand ist schön. Sie können auf jeden Fall im Wasser schwimmen, es ist nicht zu rau. Es ist sehr beliebt bei Windsurfer (so viel Spaß zu sehen). Wie haben Sie in den Bildern oben, gibt es wilde Pferde und jede Menge Überraschungen am Strand.
  • Restaurants: Es gibt Unmengen von Restaurants direkt am Strand von Cabarete. Sie sind alle nebeneinander, so dass es leicht für Sie einen Platz zu finden, zu essen. Die meisten von ihnen waren ziemlich gut. Celinas und Onno waren meine Favoriten.
  • Casinos: Ich weiß nicht spielen. ich "Wenn du in Rom bist", aber ich denke, es ist eine Verschwendung von Geld. Dass gesagt wird, wenn Sie gehen zum lokalen Casino, anstelle von kostenlosen Getränken, Sie erhalten kostenlose sancocho ... und es ist gut,. Total lohnt sich ein wenig Glücksspiel für diese köstliche Suppe. Das Casino ist ein bisschen Ghetto, aber whatevs, große Suppe.
  • Sport: Ich bin nicht der sportlichste Person draußen, aber wenn Sie, Cabarete ist ein perfekter Ort für Sie. Windsurfen, Kaskadierung, Wandern, Reiten, Canyoning, Mountainbiking, sie haben es alle haben.
Die folgenden zwei Registerkarten ändern Inhalt unten.

Blanca Valbuena

Ich bin der Mitbegründer von FriendsEat und Socialdraft. Ich habe eine ungesunde Obsession mit Burgunder Chardonnay bekam, ASOIAF, und Reisen.

Neueste Beiträge von Blanca Valbuena (alles sehen)

Sponsored

4 Kommentare zu diesem Beitrag zu “Cabarete Dominikanische Republik: Kitesurfen, spelunking, Sun Worship, & Mehr”

  • Susanne Maria Brandt

    August 27, 2013 beim 6:24 pm

    Thank you for mentioning us on your travel blog! We are happy you have had a great time and liked our houses!

    Perhaps we will be seeing you again some day!

    Saludos!
    Maria & Lourdes and Staff

    • blancavalbuena

      August 27, 2013 beim 7:37 pm

      So glad to hear you are both there. We had a lovely time, and something tells me you will see us sooner than you think. Thanks again for the amazing service.

  • dominicanrepublicadventure

    April 23, 2015 beim 11:41 pm

    so much more to see in Dominican Republic besides Cabarete…but I’m glad that you at least skipped all inclusive Punta Cana 🙂

    • blancavalbuena

      April 24, 2015 beim 2:31 pm

      Absolutely right. I’m looking forward to a return visit to DR…I’m just not one to cramp in 5 locations in 7 Tage. I much prefer to do a long term stay in one place. This way you get to truly get to know it and its people instead of just a glimpse. I’m not a fan of all inclusives. Those are for people who vacation, not people who travel.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Blanca Valbuena

Cabarete Dominican Republic: Kite Surfing, Spelunking, Sun Worship, & More

  • Blanca Valbuena in Dominican Republic
  • Cabarete Beach Rentals
  • Horses in Dominican Republic Beach
  • Fire Department in Dominican Republic
  • Sunset over the water in Cabarete
  • Pina Colada Jose O Shays Dominican Republic
  • Colonial Building Puerto Plata
  • Homeless dogs Dominican REpublic
  • Crab in Dominican Republic
  • Trio in Dominican REpublic
  • Chihuahua on Beach in Dominican Republic
  • Cabarete Beach Rentals
  • Skinny horse on a rope next to water

Antonio and I were still learning how to travel in 2007.  We knew we wanted to travel the world, and we already had a feeling that we were not huge fans of hotels, even "luxury" ones. This was our first attempt at renting a vacation property. We were bringing our mothers and knew we'd need a large place with a minimum of two bedrooms. We also wanted to have a kitchen. We got a lot more than that.

We did quite a bit of searching online and finally settled on Cabarete Beach Houses. The property is very nice. They offer daily maids to clean your house (convenient when you cook like we do) and there are security guards throughout the property (this is pretty important in the area). The property has some pretty sweet amenities, it is on the beach (which can get a little rough sometimes), a pool & jacuzzi, tennis courts (too hot for us to use when we went), airport pick up (super convenient). Nanny estates even did some shopping for us so that our fridges would be full when we arrived. They have since added more perks such as nannys, massages, etc...At the time we paid $608 US dollars for a 7 day stay. Not bad at all. Our house had three floors, and was incredibly comfortable.

Cabarete has its ups and downs.

The Ups: The beaches are marked by white sands and blue waters. There are caves for you to go spelunking (I thought it was a great idea until I stepped on a red ant hill and was unable to walk for 2 days). There is a strip with restaurants that offer everything from Italian, to Thai, to Dominican. You'll be sitting on the beach catching some rays when suddenly a bunch of horses will stroll happily in front of you. If you kite surf...you're going to love this place. At dinner time, trios will sing you boleros for just a few bucks making a Summer night magical.

The Downs: There is quite a bit of poverty. Every day you will get sad looking children either trying to sell you something you don't need (like a child asking to shine your sneakers), or those who beg...and then run over to an adult to give them their money. There are starving animals and stray dogs everywhere as soon as you walk past anywhere that is commercial.

There is definitely a bitter sweet feeling to Cabarete (and DR in general). We drove to the next town over to check out a night club with our moms and it turned out to be a brothel...if you ever meet me in person, remind me to tell you the story.

Would I go back to Cabarete? Yes, you are probably wondering why.

  • The country is growing. Sure, there's some pretty obvious poverty, but the majority of people work really hard to show the best they have to offer. They are friendly and sweet.
  • The food is fantastic. Sancocho, mangu, tostones, arroz con habichuelas, concon...I could go on...
  • Nature - beaches, caves, national parks...serious nature here
  • Price - DR is still a steal, maybe not as cheap as when I last went, but if you're on a tight budget, you can still have a lovely time.

***What not to do: Do not stay in one of those crappy all inclusive resorts. That's boring and safe.  Be a traveler, not a tourist. If you just want to hang out with a bunch of Americans and Germans in the pool, do yourself a favor and stay in the US. If you go to DR, find a place to stay and meet some people. You will be surprised at how willing they are to open their doors and homes to you. Suddenly you'll have an abuela inviting you over for dinner and cooking you her specialty. She may not have much to share, but she will share her work and family heritage. This is where travel becomes lovely. If you've never done this, give it a try. You will shed your tourist skin and become a traveler forever.

 


View Larger Map

How to get there: Fly to Puerto Plata airport. It takes about 3 1/2 hours from NYC if you go non stop and if you do your research you can get some pretty affordable flights. Once you arrive, you will have to pay $10 to get in. You can take a taxi, but I recommend that wherever you are staying has someone come to get you. If you do take a taxi, it will cost you about $35 for the trip and be in Cabarete in roughly 20 minutes.

How to get around: Do not take public transportation. This is you begging to have your things stolen. Rent a car (I recommend a Jeep or something sturdy). Cabarete itself is quite small, so you can walk. I took the beach route on a daily basis. I recommend you do not walk alone at night.

Stuff to do

  • El Choco Caves - A great experience for everyone but me (as mentioned above I was attacked by evil red ants). There are some easy caves to explore. The moms & Antonio loved the caves. They even got to swim in fresh cool cave water when they were done. To get there you walk through El Choco National park where there is plenty of nature.
  • Beaches: Cabarete beach is lovely. You can definitely swim in the water, it is not too rough. It is quite popular with wind surfers (so much fun to watch). As you saw in the pictures above, there are wild horses and tons of unexpected surprises on the beach.
  • RestaurantsThere are tons of restaurants right on Cabarete beach. They are all next to one another, making it easy for you to find a place to eat. Most of them were pretty good. Celina's and Onno were my favorites.
  • Casinos: I don't gamble. I do "when in Rome", but I think it a waste of money. That being said, if you go to the local casino, instead of free drinks, you get free sancocho...and it is good. Totally worth a little gambling for this delicious soup. The Casino is kinda ghetto, but whatevs, great soup.
  • Sports: I'm not the most sporty person out there, but if you are, Cabarete is a perfect spot for you. Wind surfing, cascading, hiking, horseback riding, canyoning, mountain biking, they've got it all.
The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Sponsored

4 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “Cabarete Dominican Republic: Kite Surfing, Spelunking, Sun Worship, & More”

  • Susanne Maria Brandt

    August 27, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    Thank you for mentioning us on your travel blog! We are happy you have had a great time and liked our houses!

    Perhaps we will be seeing you again some day!

    Saludos!
    Maria & Lourdes and Staff

    • blancavalbuena

      August 27, 2013 at 7:37 pm

      So glad to hear you are both there. We had a lovely time, and something tells me you will see us sooner than you think. Thanks again for the amazing service.

  • dominicanrepublicadventure

    April 23, 2015 at 11:41 pm

    so much more to see in Dominican Republic besides Cabarete…but I’m glad that you at least skipped all inclusive Punta Cana 🙂

    • blancavalbuena

      April 24, 2015 at 2:31 pm

      Absolutely right. I’m looking forward to a return visit to DR…I’m just not one to cramp in 5 locations in 7 days. I much prefer to do a long term stay in one place. This way you get to truly get to know it and its people instead of just a glimpse. I’m not a fan of all inclusives. Those are for people who vacation, not people who travel.

Leave a Reply