布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

喀巴里特多明尼加共和国: 风筝冲浪, 洞穴探险, 太阳崇拜, & 更多

  • Blanca Valbuena in Dominican Republic
  • Cabarete Beach Rentals
  • Horses in Dominican Republic Beach
  • Fire Department in Dominican Republic
  • Sunset over the water in Cabarete
  • Pina Colada Jose O Shays Dominican Republic
  • Colonial Building Puerto Plata
  • Homeless dogs Dominican REpublic
  • Crab in Dominican Republic
  • Trio in Dominican REpublic
  • Chihuahua on Beach in Dominican Republic
  • Cabarete Beach Rentals
  • Skinny horse on a rope next to water

安东尼奥和我仍然在学习如何在旅行 2007. We knew we wanted to travel the world, 而且我们已经有一种感觉,我们不是酒店的铁杆粉丝, 甚至 "豪华" 那些. 这是我们在租度假物业的第一次尝试. 我们把我们的母亲,知道我们需要一个大的地方用最少两间卧室. 我们也希望有一个厨房. 我们得到了比这更多了不少.

我们做上网查询的颇有几分最后决定 喀巴里特度假屋. 该物业是非常好的. 他们提供日常女佣清洁你的房子 (在方便的时候你做饭像我们一样) 并有整个财产安全卫士 (这是该地区非常重要的). 该酒店有一些非常甜蜜设施, 它是在沙滩上 (它可以得到一个有点粗糙,有时), 一个水池 & 按摩浴缸, 网球场 (太热了,我们去的时候我们使用), 机场接机 (超级方便). 保姆屋甚至做了一些逛了我们,使我们的冰箱将是全当我们到达. 此后,他们增加了更多的特殊待遇,如nannys, 按摩, 等等......在我们付出的时间 $608 美元对 7 天的逗留. 一点也不差. 我们的房子有三层楼, 并且是令人难以置信的舒适.

喀巴里特有其跌宕起伏.

UPS的: 海滩是由白色的沙滩和湛蓝的海水标. 有洞穴你去洞穴探险 (我认为这是一个好主意,直​​到我踩到了红蚂蚁山上,无法行走 2 天). 还有的餐馆,从意大利提供一切带状, 泰国, 到多明尼加. 你会坐在沙滩上抓一些光线时,突然一群马会在你面前开心地漫步. 如果您风筝冲浪......你一定会喜欢这个地方. 在吃饭的时候, 三重奏为你唱波丽只是几块钱做一个夏夜神奇.

唐斯: 有相当多的贫困. 每一天,你会得到愁容满面的孩子们要么试图卖给你的东西你不需要 (就像一个孩子问闪耀你的运动鞋), 或谁乞讨......然后跑过来一个成年人给他们钱. 只要你走过去任何地方,是商业有饥饿的动物和流浪狗随处可见.

肯定是有苦有甜的感觉喀巴里特 (和DR一般). 我们驱车前往下一个城镇到退房夜总会与我们的妈妈和它原来是一个妓院......如果你曾经见过我的人, 提醒我要告诉你的故事.

我会回到喀巴里特? 是, 你可能想知道为什么.

  • 该国正在增长. 当然, 有一些很明显的贫困, 但大多数人工作真的很难证明他们所提供的最好. 他们是友好和甜蜜.
  • 食物是太棒了. Sancocho, mangu, tostones, 大米和豆类, 刚恭......我能去...
  • 性质 - 海滩, 洞穴, 国家公园......这里严肃性
  • 价钱 - DR仍然是一个盗取, 也许不会便宜,因为当我最后一次去, 但如果你是在紧的预算, 你仍然可以有一个美好的时光.

***什么不该做: 不要停留在那些蹩脚的全包的度假胜地之一. 这是无聊的,安全的. 是一个旅行者, 不是旅游. 如果你只是想在游泳池一堆美国人和德国人挂出, 请你帮个忙,并留在美国. 如果你去DR, 找一个地方留下来,满足一些人. 你会在他们是多么愿意敞开大门和家庭对你感到惊讶. 突然间,你将有一个祖母通电话邀请你共进晚餐烹饪你她的专业. 她可能没有太多共享, 但她将分享她的工作和家族传承. 这就是旅行变得可爱. 如果你从来没有这样做, 试一试. 你将在你的旅游皮肤,成为永远旅行者.

 


查看大图

到那里怎么走: 飞往普拉塔港机场. 大约需要 3 1/2 从纽约小时,如果你去不停止,如果你做你的研究,你可以得到一些非常实惠的航班. 一旦你到达, 你将不得不支付 $10 进入. 您可以乘坐出租车, 但我建议无论你是住了有人进来,让你. 如果你这样做乘坐出租车, 它会花费你有关 $35 对于旅行,是喀巴里特大致 20 分钟.

如何解决: 不要乘坐公共交通工具. 这就是你乞讨有你的东西被偷. 租个车 (我推荐一个吉普或坚固的东西). 卡巴雷本身是相当小, 所以你可以走. 我把每天的基础上海滩路线. 我建议你不要在夜间单独行走.

东西做

  • 萨尔瓦多巧克力洞穴 - 适合所有人,但我一个很好的经验 (上面我提到被邪恶的红蚂蚁攻击). 有一些简单的洞穴探索. 妈妈们 & 安东尼奥·爱洞穴. 他们甚至得到了在劲酷的洞穴水游泳,当他们完成. 为了达到这个目标,你通过萨尔瓦多乔科国家公园散步,其中有大量的性质.
  • 海滩: 喀巴里特海滩是可爱的. 你可以在水中游泳的肯定, 这是不是太粗糙. 它与风冲浪相当流行 (这么多的乐趣观看). 正如你在照片中看到上述, 有野马吨意想不到的惊喜在沙滩上.
  • 餐馆: 有吨的餐馆对上喀巴里特海滩. 他们都是彼此相邻, 因此很容易为你找到吃饭的地方. 他们中的大多数还不错. 塞莱纳的 ONNO 是我的最爱.
  • 赌场: 我不赌博. 我 "在罗马的时候", 但我认为这是浪费金钱. 话虽如此, 如果你去当地的赌场, 而不是免费饮料, 您可以免费获得sancocho ......它是好的. 完全值得的一点点赌博这一美味的汤. 赌场是有点儿贫民区, 但whatevs, 大汤.
  • 体育: 我不是最运动的人在那里, 但如果你是, 卡巴雷是您的绝佳去处. 滑浪风帆, 级联, 徒步旅行, 骑马, 溪降, 山地骑行, 他们已经得到了这一切.
下面的两个选项卡下面的更改内容.

布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

我FriendsEat和Socialdraft的联合创始人. 我有与勃艮第霞多丽不健康的痴迷, ASOIAF, 和旅行.

最新的帖子布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳 (查看全部)

Sponsored

4 评论对这个职位要 “喀巴里特多明尼加共和国: 风筝冲浪, 洞穴探险, 太阳崇拜, & 更多”

  • Susanne Maria Brandt

    八月 27, 2013 在 6:24 下午

    Thank you for mentioning us on your travel blog! We are happy you have had a great time and liked our houses!

    Perhaps we will be seeing you again some day!

    Saludos!
    Maria & Lourdes and Staff

    • blancavalbuena

      八月 27, 2013 在 7:37 下午

      So glad to hear you are both there. We had a lovely time, and something tells me you will see us sooner than you think. Thanks again for the amazing service.

  • dominicanrepublicadventure

    四月 23, 2015 在 11:41 下午

    so much more to see in Dominican Republic besides Cabarete…but I’m glad that you at least skipped all inclusive Punta Cana 🙂

    • blancavalbuena

      四月 24, 2015 在 2:31 下午

      Absolutely right. I’m looking forward to a return visit to DR…I’m just not one to cramp in 5 locations in 7 天. I much prefer to do a long term stay in one place. This way you get to truly get to know it and its people instead of just a glimpse. I’m not a fan of all inclusives. Those are for people who vacation, not people who travel.

发表评论

Blanca Valbuena

Cabarete Dominican Republic: Kite Surfing, Spelunking, Sun Worship, & More

  • Blanca Valbuena in Dominican Republic
  • Cabarete Beach Rentals
  • Horses in Dominican Republic Beach
  • Fire Department in Dominican Republic
  • Sunset over the water in Cabarete
  • Pina Colada Jose O Shays Dominican Republic
  • Colonial Building Puerto Plata
  • Homeless dogs Dominican REpublic
  • Crab in Dominican Republic
  • Trio in Dominican REpublic
  • Chihuahua on Beach in Dominican Republic
  • Cabarete Beach Rentals
  • Skinny horse on a rope next to water

Antonio and I were still learning how to travel in 2007.  We knew we wanted to travel the world, and we already had a feeling that we were not huge fans of hotels, even "luxury" ones. This was our first attempt at renting a vacation property. We were bringing our mothers and knew we'd need a large place with a minimum of two bedrooms. We also wanted to have a kitchen. We got a lot more than that.

We did quite a bit of searching online and finally settled on Cabarete Beach Houses. The property is very nice. They offer daily maids to clean your house (convenient when you cook like we do) and there are security guards throughout the property (this is pretty important in the area). The property has some pretty sweet amenities, it is on the beach (which can get a little rough sometimes), a pool & jacuzzi, tennis courts (too hot for us to use when we went), airport pick up (super convenient). Nanny estates even did some shopping for us so that our fridges would be full when we arrived. They have since added more perks such as nannys, massages, etc...At the time we paid $608 US dollars for a 7 day stay. Not bad at all. Our house had three floors, and was incredibly comfortable.

Cabarete has its ups and downs.

The Ups: The beaches are marked by white sands and blue waters. There are caves for you to go spelunking (I thought it was a great idea until I stepped on a red ant hill and was unable to walk for 2 days). There is a strip with restaurants that offer everything from Italian, to Thai, to Dominican. You'll be sitting on the beach catching some rays when suddenly a bunch of horses will stroll happily in front of you. If you kite surf...you're going to love this place. At dinner time, trios will sing you boleros for just a few bucks making a Summer night magical.

The Downs: There is quite a bit of poverty. Every day you will get sad looking children either trying to sell you something you don't need (like a child asking to shine your sneakers), or those who beg...and then run over to an adult to give them their money. There are starving animals and stray dogs everywhere as soon as you walk past anywhere that is commercial.

There is definitely a bitter sweet feeling to Cabarete (and DR in general). We drove to the next town over to check out a night club with our moms and it turned out to be a brothel...if you ever meet me in person, remind me to tell you the story.

Would I go back to Cabarete? Yes, you are probably wondering why.

  • The country is growing. Sure, there's some pretty obvious poverty, but the majority of people work really hard to show the best they have to offer. They are friendly and sweet.
  • The food is fantastic. Sancocho, mangu, tostones, arroz con habichuelas, concon...I could go on...
  • Nature - beaches, caves, national parks...serious nature here
  • Price - DR is still a steal, maybe not as cheap as when I last went, but if you're on a tight budget, you can still have a lovely time.

***What not to do: Do not stay in one of those crappy all inclusive resorts. That's boring and safe.  Be a traveler, not a tourist. If you just want to hang out with a bunch of Americans and Germans in the pool, do yourself a favor and stay in the US. If you go to DR, find a place to stay and meet some people. You will be surprised at how willing they are to open their doors and homes to you. Suddenly you'll have an abuela inviting you over for dinner and cooking you her specialty. She may not have much to share, but she will share her work and family heritage. This is where travel becomes lovely. If you've never done this, give it a try. You will shed your tourist skin and become a traveler forever.

 


View Larger Map

How to get there: Fly to Puerto Plata airport. It takes about 3 1/2 hours from NYC if you go non stop and if you do your research you can get some pretty affordable flights. Once you arrive, you will have to pay $10 to get in. You can take a taxi, but I recommend that wherever you are staying has someone come to get you. If you do take a taxi, it will cost you about $35 for the trip and be in Cabarete in roughly 20 minutes.

How to get around: Do not take public transportation. This is you begging to have your things stolen. Rent a car (I recommend a Jeep or something sturdy). Cabarete itself is quite small, so you can walk. I took the beach route on a daily basis. I recommend you do not walk alone at night.

Stuff to do

  • El Choco Caves - A great experience for everyone but me (as mentioned above I was attacked by evil red ants). There are some easy caves to explore. The moms & Antonio loved the caves. They even got to swim in fresh cool cave water when they were done. To get there you walk through El Choco National park where there is plenty of nature.
  • Beaches: Cabarete beach is lovely. You can definitely swim in the water, it is not too rough. It is quite popular with wind surfers (so much fun to watch). As you saw in the pictures above, there are wild horses and tons of unexpected surprises on the beach.
  • RestaurantsThere are tons of restaurants right on Cabarete beach. They are all next to one another, making it easy for you to find a place to eat. Most of them were pretty good. Celina's and Onno were my favorites.
  • Casinos: I don't gamble. I do "when in Rome", but I think it a waste of money. That being said, if you go to the local casino, instead of free drinks, you get free sancocho...and it is good. Totally worth a little gambling for this delicious soup. The Casino is kinda ghetto, but whatevs, great soup.
  • Sports: I'm not the most sporty person out there, but if you are, Cabarete is a perfect spot for you. Wind surfing, cascading, hiking, horseback riding, canyoning, mountain biking, they've got it all.
The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Sponsored

4 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “Cabarete Dominican Republic: Kite Surfing, Spelunking, Sun Worship, & More”

  • Susanne Maria Brandt

    August 27, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    Thank you for mentioning us on your travel blog! We are happy you have had a great time and liked our houses!

    Perhaps we will be seeing you again some day!

    Saludos!
    Maria & Lourdes and Staff

    • blancavalbuena

      August 27, 2013 at 7:37 pm

      So glad to hear you are both there. We had a lovely time, and something tells me you will see us sooner than you think. Thanks again for the amazing service.

  • dominicanrepublicadventure

    April 23, 2015 at 11:41 pm

    so much more to see in Dominican Republic besides Cabarete…but I’m glad that you at least skipped all inclusive Punta Cana 🙂

    • blancavalbuena

      April 24, 2015 at 2:31 pm

      Absolutely right. I’m looking forward to a return visit to DR…I’m just not one to cramp in 5 locations in 7 days. I much prefer to do a long term stay in one place. This way you get to truly get to know it and its people instead of just a glimpse. I’m not a fan of all inclusives. Those are for people who vacation, not people who travel.

Leave a Reply