Blanca Valbuena

Conseils pour la Tempietto de Bramante invité à Rome

  • Bramante's Tempietto
  • The relief at Bramante's Tempietto depicting the Crucifixion of St. Peter
  • Classical elements of Bramante's Tempietto
  • Bramante's Tempietto is a high renaissance building using classical elements
  • St. Peter sculpture en relief crucifixion
  • Le Tempietto à Rome
  • Statue de St. Peter avec les touches et réservez au Tempietto

Un de mes exemples préférés de la Renaissance italienne est situé entre le quartier du Trastevere et le Vatican. It's Bramante's Tempietto. Je recommande fortement que vous allez voir quand vous visitez la ville éternelle.

Tempietto de Bramante

La première chose que vous devez savoir est qu'il est pas la structure plus facile à trouver. Vous avez besoin de monter une des célèbres collines de Rome, la colline du Janicule (également connu sous le nom Janiculum). Cette colline est situé dans le Trastevere, ouest du Tibre, mais comme il est dans la banlieue de la ville antique, il est pas considéré comme l'un des fameux sept. Cette colline vaut à elle seule une visite. Lorsque vous atteignez le sommet, vous serez récompensé avec certaines des meilleures vues de Rome (apporter votre appareil photo). Si vous vous dirigez là à l'heure du midi, vous entendrez un canon exploser ... ce qui a été en cours depuis le 19ème siècle. Il ya quelques autres monuments étonnants ici, mais nous allons rester concentré et rendre à notre sujet: Tempietto de Bramante.

Statue de St. Peter avec les touches et réservez au Tempietto

St. Peter avec son meilleur attribut connue, clés

Une fois que vous avez fait le grimper la colline (idéal pour votre tush & une belle façon de rester en forme et de manger tout ce qui délicieuses pâtes sans culpabilité), chercher le la Église de San Pietro in Montorio. L'église a été construite à côté de l'endroit où il est dit que St. Pierre fut crucifié la tête en bas, et Tempietto de Bramante marque l'endroit de la crucifixion. Quand vous y arrivez, vous pouvez vous demander pourquoi vous ne voyez pas le Tempietto. Si vous êtes à la recherche à l'église de San Pietro in Montorio, regarder à droite. Ce bâtiment est leReal Academia di SpanaRegardez la porte d'entrée, vous allez attraper un aperçu de la Tempietto.

éléments classiques de la Tempietto de Bramante

Les étapes et péristyle du Tempietto donnent le ton et stacato de la structure

Ce que je adore absolument de cette structure est qu'elle est minuscule. Le Tempietto est minuscule par rapport à la plupart des édifices religieux à Rome; mais il se sent si incroyablement grand que la vie, puissant, et éternelle. Ce chiffre est élevé Renaissance à son apogée. Il a vrac, la solidité et la masse que la fragilité du début de la Renaissance n'a pas. Le bâtiment joue même avec la lumière, il se sent comme si Bramante pensait Chiaroscuro quand il a choisi chaque élément géométrique.

St. Peter sculpture en relief crucifixion

Relief représentant la mort de saint. Peter

Ce type de bâtiment est un Martyrium, un bâtiment ou d'une structure érigée pour marquer le site de la mort d'un martyr ou celui qui abrite ses restes. La tradition va tout le chemin du retour à Constantine. Ces bâtiments sont des cercles parfaits qui aiment une cible singularisent à l'endroit où le martyr mort. Il est en fait concentrique (cercles partageant le même centre), dessin encore plus l'attention sur le sacrifice du martyr. Lorsque vous êtes à l'intérieur, regarder vers le bas au centre. Cela vous donnera un coup d'oeil dans le Martyrium.

Le Tempietto à Rome

Le Tempietto de Bramante pourrait presque passer pour un ancien bâtiment romain, mais en y regardant de plus près on voit les touches de la Renaissance

Vous pouvez demander pourquoi Bramante choisirait l'architecture païenne comme son inspiration pour l'un des sites les plus sacrés du christianisme. Bramante était en amour avec le passé et regarda écrits par des gens comme Traité de Vitruve sur l'architecture. Il a appris de ces écrits, et a choisi d'ignorer l'histoire attachée à la langue architecturale. Bramante approprier de sorte qu'il serait de parler la langue de l'église. Ces formes architecturales parfaites étaient pour imiter la perfection du ciel. Bramante a été littéralement apporte un morceau de ciel à Rome. Lorsque vous regardez le Tempietto, il est construit comme un cercle parfait, le plus idéal de formes géométriques. Cercles sont parfaits. Cercles ont sans début ni fin. Les cercles sont englobant tous.

Tempietto de Bramante est un bâtiment de la Renaissance élevée en utilisant des éléments classiques

Détail des pilastres et des colonnes du temple de Bramante à St. Peter

Une chose à noter est que Bramante ne respecte pas strictement langue classique, il cite simplement ce. Les colonnes sur le Tempietto ne sont pas cannelées comme ils l'auraient été à l'époque romaine. Cela leur donne un sentiment de même plus de sévérité et de la puissance. Les métopes sont même interrompues avec des instruments liturgiques. So, vous pouvez voir que Bramante ne copie pas la langue, mais approprier pour l'adapter à la nouvelle climatique.

Le relief au Tempietto de Bramante représentant la Crucifixion de St. Peter

Tempietto de Bramante mis en place pour le service

Le jour où nous avons visité, nous étions les seuls à l'Tempietto. Nous sommes arrivés tôt et nous avons pu marcher dans. Il n'y avait personne. Nous sommes entrés et avons vu des éléments liturgiques prêts pour la messe. Ce qui était encore plus cool était le bas-relief en face de l'autel. Il dépeint St. La crucifixion de Pierre, il est représenté à l'envers. Les quatre évangélistes sont assis dans des niches chacun avec son attribut: Ange de Matthew, Luke Ox, Eagle John, et Lion Mark.

Nous étions incapables d'entrer dans le réel Martyrium bas, mais vous pouvez le voir très bien de l'entrée (les escaliers sont à l'arrière de la structure).

Conseils pour visiter les Tempietto

  • 1. Portez des chaussures confortables - surtout si vous faites l'ascension de la colline
  • 2. Porter un écran solaire - cela est particulièrement vrai si vous y allez en été. Il n'y a pas beaucoup d'ombre dans la zone
  • 3. Rappelez-vous de couvrir. Ceci est un site chrétien très respecté, et une église dans sa propre. Assurez-vous que vos genoux et les épaules sont couvertes.
  • 4. Apportez une collation. Il n'y a pas beaucoup de restaurants ici, donc si vous avez HANGRY comme moi ... il est une bonne idée de prendre une collation avec vous.

Tempietto de Bramanteest situé à Piazza San Pietro in Montorio 2

Hours of Operation

Église: Lun-ven 8:30h-midi & 3:00h-4:00pm

Tempietto: Ma-Di 9:30suis-12:30pm & 2:00h-4:30 pm

Coût: Gratuit

Comment y arriver: Si vous ne vous sentez pas envie de marcher jusqu'à la colline, saisir le 870 bus à Via Paola.

 

 

Les deux onglets suivants changent de contenu ci-dessous.

Blanca Valbuena

Je suis le co-fondateur de FriendsEat et Socialdraft. J'ai une obsession malsaine avec Chardonnay bourguignon, ASOIAF, et Voyage.

Un commentaire sur ce post Pour “Conseils pour la Tempietto de Bramante invité à Rome”

  • Gabriel

    December 20, 2015 à 8:04 pm

    What an interesting study!I love all the iiraettons of the Tempietto as crowning domes of larger structures.There could hardly be more of a contrast between the mystical, geometrically enclosed original setting of the tempietto and the soaring placement, outlined against the sky, of the later dome structures. The Tempietto set free!

Leave a Reply

Tips for Visiting Bramante’s Tempietto in Rome

  • Bramante's Tempietto
  • The relief at Bramante's Tempietto depicting the Crucifixion of St. Peter
  • Classical elements of Bramante's Tempietto
  • Bramante's Tempietto is a high renaissance building using classical elements
  • St. Peter relief sculpture crucifixion
  • The Tempietto in Rome
  • Statue of St. Peter with keys and book at the Tempietto

One of my favorite examples of Italian Renaissance is located in between the Trastevere neighborhood of Rome and the Vatican. It's Bramante's Tempietto. I highly recommend that you go to see it when you visit the eternal city.

Bramante's Tempietto

First thing you need to know is that it is not the easiest structure to find. You need to climb up one of Rome's famous hills, the Gianicolo Hill (also known as the Janiculum). This hill is located in Trastevere, west of the Tiber river, but since it is in the outskirts of the ancient city, it is not considered one of the famous seven. This hill alone is worth a visit. When you reach the summit, you will be rewarded with some of the best views of Rome (bring your camera). If you head up there at noon time, you will hear a cannon explode...this has been going on since the 19th Century. There are a few other amazing monuments here, but let's stay focused and get to our subject: Bramante's Tempietto.

Statue of St. Peter with keys and book at the Tempietto

St. Peter with his best known attribute, keys

Once you've made the climb up the hill (great for your tush & a nice way to stay fit and eat all that delicious pasta without guilt), look for the the Church of San Pietro in Montorio. The church was built next to the site where it is said that St. Peter was crucified upside down, and Bramante's Tempietto marks the spot of the crucifixion. When you get there, you may wonder why you don't see the Tempietto. If you're looking at the Church of San Pietro in Montorio, look to the right. That building is the Real Academia di SpanaLook at the front door, you will catch a glimpse of the Tempietto.

Classical elements of Bramante's Tempietto

The steps and peristyle of the Tempietto set the tone and stacato of the structure

What I absolutely adore about this structure is that it is tiny. The Tempietto is minuscule compared to most religious buildings in Rome; but it feels so incredibly larger than life, powerful, and everlasting. This is high Renaissance at its peak. It has bulk, solidity and mass that the fragility of the early Renaissance does not have. The building even plays with light, it feels as if Bramante was thinking of Chiaroscuro when he chose each geometric element.

St. Peter relief sculpture crucifixion

Relief depicting the death of St. Peter

This type of building is a Martyrium, a building or structure erected to mark the site of a martyr's death or one that houses his or her remains. The tradition goes all the way back to Constantine. These buildings are perfect circles that like a target hone in on the spot where the martyr died. It's actually concentric (circles sharing the same center), drawing even more attention to the martyr's sacrifice. When you are inside, look down at the center. That will give you a peek into the Martyrium.

The Tempietto in Rome

Bramante's Tempietto could almost pass for an ancient Roman building, but upon closer inspection one sees the Renaissance touches

You may ask why Bramante would choose Pagan architecture as his inspiration for one of Christianity's holiest sites. Bramante was in love with the past and looked at writings by people like Vitruvius' Treaty on Architecture. He learned from these writings, and chose to ignore the history attached to the architectural language. Bramante appropriate it so it would speak the language of the church. These perfect architectural forms were to mimic the perfection of heaven. Bramante was literally bringing a piece of heaven to Rome. When you look at the Tempietto, it is built as a perfect circle, the most ideal of geometric forms. Circles are perfect. Circles have no beginning or end. Circles are all encompassing.

Bramante's Tempietto is a high renaissance building using classical elements

Detail of the pilasters and columns of Bramante's Temple to St. Peter

One thing to note is that Bramante does not adhere to classical language strictly, he merely quotes it. The columns on the Tempietto are not fluted as they would have been during the Roman era. This gives them a feeling of even more severity and power. The metopes are even interrupted with liturgical instruments. So, you can see that Bramante is not copying the language, but appropriating it to fit the new climate.

The relief at Bramante's Tempietto depicting the Crucifixion of St. Peter

Bramante's Tempietto set up for service

On the day we visited, we were the only people at the Tempietto. We arrived early and were able to walk in. There was nobody there. We walked in and saw liturgical elements ready for mass. What was even cooler was the bas relief in front of the altar. It depicted St. Peter's crucifixion, he is shown upside down. The four evangelists sit in niches each with his attribute: Matthew's Angel, Luke's Ox, John's Eagle, and Mark's Lion.

We were unable to enter the actual Martyrium down below, but you can view it quite well from the entrance (the stairs are in the back of the structure).

Tips for Visiting the Tempietto

  • 1. Wear comfortable shoes - especially if you are making the climb up the hill
  • 2. Wear Sunscreen - this is especially true if you go there in Summer. There's not much shade in the area
  • 3. Remember to cover up. This is a highly respected Christian site, and a church in its own. Make sure your knees and shoulders are covered.
  • 4. Bring a snack. There aren't so many restaurants up here, so if you get hangry like me...it is a good idea to have a snack with you.

Bramante's Tempietto is located at Piazza San Pietro in Montorio 2

Hours of Operation

Church: Mon-Fri 8:30am-noon & 3:00pm-4:00pm

Tempietto: Tues-Sun 9:30am-12:30pm & 2:00pm-4:30 pm

Cost: Free

Getting there: If you don't feel like walking up the hill, grab the 870 bus at Via Paola.

 

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Sponsored

ONE COMMENT ON THIS POST To “Tips for Visiting Bramante’s Tempietto in Rome”

  • Gabriel

    December 20, 2015 at 8:04 pm

    What an interesting study!I love all the iiraettons of the Tempietto as crowning domes of larger structures.There could hardly be more of a contrast between the mystical, geometrically enclosed original setting of the tempietto and the soaring placement, outlined against the sky, of the later dome structures. The Tempietto set free!

Leave a Reply