Blanca Valbuena

Les choses que vous devez savoir sur Bogotá, Colombie

Je ne pensais jamais que je recommande Bogotá, Colombie en tant que destination touristique. Pour moi, il a toujours été la capitale et un endroit froid pour aller. Je suis tellement heureux de dire que, après ce dernier voyage à la capitale, I think Bogotá DF would make for a great starting place for someone getting to know Colombia. Bogotá n'a pas les plages de Cartagena, it does not have Medellín de météo printemps, mais ce qui lui manque, il, il est dans la culture, à manger, et bien plus. Aujourd'hui, Je vais vous dire pourquoi vous allez adorer la ville, et je vais vous dire tout ce que vous devez savoir sur Bogotá afin que vous puissiez avoir un amusement (safe) et voyage mémorable.

Les choses que vous devez savoir sur Bogotá

Bogotá Météo

The weather in Bogotá can be a little fickle. La ville est plus froid que la plupart dans le pays, car il est niché dans les Andes, mais pour quelqu'un des États, le temps était céleste. La ville peut aller de soleil à des pluies en secondes. Nous sommes ici en Janvier et le temps est assez doux. Il a été vacillant entre 45F à 70F. Basically, vous pouvez porter une robe avec des bottes & bas, puis mis sur une veste légère la nuit.

Getting Around in Bogotá

TAXIS / UBER: Je déteste vraiment les taxis en Colombie. Ils essaient de vous ratisse en vous emmenant plus façons et se disputer avec vous lorsque vous êtes en désaccord avec eux. Les voitures sont plus âgés et un peu dégueu. Si vous prenez un taxi, ne pas héler un dans la rue. Demandez au restaurant ou un hôtel où vous séjournez à appeler pour vous.

Je suis un fan Uber. Uber peut être un peu plus cher, mais il est tellement la peine. Cependant, Uber est illégal en Colombie. Lorsque vous obtenez un Uber, assurez-vous que l'un de vous reçoit dans le siège avant et que vous saluez votre pilote comme si vous le connaissez / elle afin qu'ils ne reçoivent pas en difficulté avec les flics. Si vous vous pris en charge à l'aéroport, le conducteur vous rencontrera au 2ème étage où il y a moins de taxis.

LES AUTOBUS: Les bus sont super pas cher et puisque, pour la plupart, ils ont des voies réservées, ils sont plus rapides qu'un taxi ou Uber seraient. Cependant, ils peuvent obtenir assez encombré. Si vous prenez le bus pendant les heures creuses, vous devriez être un-ok. Just mind your valuables. Bogotá is much safer than it has been, mais cela est encore une bonne précaution à prendre.
Les gens colombiens sont très bienvenus ( certains diraient qu'ils outrepassent peuples espace personnel) mais aussi très détendue avec les horaires (même avec des heures appart). Je suis sûr que les gens colombiens peuvent prolonger un accueil grand et chaleureux pour vous.

Comment se habiller à Bogotá

People in Bogotá dress bien. Il y a un grand quartier financier et il y a une bonne quantité de gens riches dans la ville.

HOMMES: Ne pas porter des shorts et tongs, cruches, ou le père. Ne portez pas de fromage t-shirt. Ne portez une belle paire de pantalons décontractés et un polo pendant la journée et un bouton vers le bas la nuit. Ai-je mentionné JAMAIS porter des shorts?

DAMES: Ne portez pas de pantalons de survêtement Secret ceux laid Victoria. During the day, porter des jeans avec une belle paire de bottes et un beau pull. Dans la soirée, porter belles robes (juste garder à l'esprit la météo). In Bogotá, vous habiller pour impressionner.

Sexe & Tourisme sexuel

If you think you're coming to Bogotá to get laid easily or to find some young hookers, aller ailleurs. Sex tourism is not cool and Bogotá is not the place for that. Pas de place devrait être. La majorité des Bogotanas exigent le respect et ne sont pas faciles. Colombiens sont nés avec la danse dans leur sang, si juste parce que vous danser avec une femme dans un club, cela ne signifie pas qu'elle va chez vous. Have fun, flirt, but understand that this is not in Bogotá's culture. S'il vous plaît ne vous méprenez pas convivialité comme une invitation pour le sexe.

Endroits à visiter dans et près de Bogotá

MUSÉE DE L'OR: Si vous avez lu ce blog du tout, vous savez que je suis un surgeon pour les musées ... mais cela est un musée, même un ennemi du musée aimerait. Il y a des tonnes de pièces précolombiennes en or qui va souffler votre esprit.

Le Musée de l'or de Bogota est situé à Carrera 6 #1588, Bogotá.
Hours of Operation: lun Fermé, Mar-sam 9 heures-18 heures, Sun 10 heures-16 heures

MONSERRATE: Si vous voulez une des vues les plus spectaculaires de la ville, c'est où vous voulez aller. It's located 10400 feet above sea level. Pour y arriver, vous pouvez prendre un funiculaire ou le teleférico . Les autres attractions en dehors de la vue est une belle église, boutiques d'artisanat, et la nourriture.

Heures funiculaires: Lun-ven: 7am 11:45am
Sat: 7am-16:00
Sun: 5:30h-17 heures
Vacances: 6:30am-11:45am

Teleférico Hours: Lun-sam: 12h à 12 h
Sun: 9h-17 heures

Usaquén: It's been a part of Bogotá since the 1950's and is one of my favorite neighborhoods in the area. Il y a une zone Colonial super mignon qui a un grand marché aux puces le dimanche. Une partie de la ville de meilleurs restaurants sont à Usaquén, donc si vous aimez manger, assurez-vous de planifier quelques déjeuners ou dîners là-bas.

Zipaquirá: Zipaquira est connu pour la cathédrale de sel, mais la ville elle-même est chéri. You can take a train there from Bogotá which really makes for a lovely day.

Nemocón: Ceci est une autre mine de sel dans la région. Il est plus petit et moins de fantaisie que Zipaquira, mais le paysage est magnifique. Il y a aussi un musée des fossiles frais, so if you have kids (ou grandi les enfants comme moi) il est une expérience assez cool.

LEYVA: Il est une petite ville avec de bons restaurants, cafés, musique et galeries d'art. Il est plus d'une ambiance comme le village.

Places to Stay Away From

Je ne recommanderais pas que vous visitez la région ci-dessus Carrera 5a ou le Centro si vous êtes seul, avec seulement d'autres Américains, et certainement pas après l'obscurité.

How to Stay Safe in Bogotá

No des Papaya: Vous entendrez cette phrase toute la Colombie. Cela signifie, fondamentalement, ne pas tenter les voleurs. Je déteste cette phrase, car il est l'équivalent de dire à une femme qu'elle mérite de se tâtonné si elle porte une tenue révélateur (cela me fait tellement en colère), mais malheureusement, cela est encore des conseils solides partout en Colombie. Ce que cela signifie est que si vous avez un téléphone intelligent, vous ne devriez pas l'utiliser dans la rue. Ne pas porter de bijoux fantaisie et clignote autour. It is better to be minimalist in Bogotá if you want to stay safe. Si quelque chose ne se produit, juste donner les voleurs ce qu'ils veulent.

Faites attention: Especially when crossing streets. Pilotes (Je regarde vous taxis) drive like maniacs in Bogotá. Soyez donc très prudent lorsque vous traversez les rues.

Les deux onglets suivants changent de contenu ci-dessous.

Blanca Valbuena

Je suis le co-fondateur de FriendsEat et Socialdraft. J'ai une obsession malsaine avec Chardonnay bourguignon, ASOIAF, et Voyage.

Leave a Reply

Things You need to Know About Bogotá Colombia

I never thought I'd recommend Bogotá, Colombia as a tourist destination. To me it was always the capital and a cold place to go. I'm so happy to say that after this last trip to the Capital, I think Bogotá DF would make for a great starting place for someone getting to know Colombia. Bogotá does not have the beaches of Cartagena, it does not have Medellín's springtime weather, but what it lacks there, it makes up in culture, dining, and much more. Today, I'll tell you why you're going to love the city, and I'll tell you all the things you need to know about Bogotá so you can have a fun (safe) and memorable trip.

Things You need to Know About Bogotá Colombia

Bogotá Weather

The weather in Bogotá can be a little fickle. The city is colder than most in the country since it is nestled in the Andes, but for someone from the States, the weather was heavenly. The city can go from sunny to rainy in seconds. We are here in January and the weather is quite mild. It's been wavering between 45F to 70F. Basically, you can wear a dress with boots & stockings and then put on a light jacket at night.

Getting Around in Bogotá

TAXIS/UBER: I really dislike taxis in Colombia. They try to nickel and dime you by taking you longer ways and will argue with you when you disagree with them. The cars are older and kinda icky. If you do take a taxi, don't hail one on the street. Ask the restaurant or hotel where you are staying to call one for you.

I'm an Uber fan. Uber may be a little more expensive, but it's so worth it. However, Uber is illegal in Colombia. When you do get an Uber, make sure one of you gets in the front seat and that you greet your driver as if you know him/her so they don't get in trouble with the cops. If you are getting picked up at the airport, the driver will meet you on the 2nd floor where there are less taxis.

BUSES: The buses are super cheap and since for the most part they have designated lanes, they are faster than a taxi or Uber would be. However, they can get quite crowded. If you take the bus during off hours, you should be a-ok. Just mind your valuables. Bogotá is much safer than it has been, but this is still a good precaution to take.
Colombian People are quite Friendly ( some would say they overstep peoples personal space) but also very relaxed with schedules (even with hours appart). I am sure Colombian people can extend a big and warm welcome to you.

How to Dress in Bogotá

People in Bogotá dress well. There is a large financial district and there is a good amount of wealthier people in the city.

MEN: Do not wear shorts and flip flops, crocks, or tevas. Do not wear cheesy tee shirts. Do wear a nice pair of casual pants and a polo during the day and a button down at night. Did I mention NEVER wear shorts?

LADIES: Do not wear those ugly Victoria's Secret sweatpants. During the day, wear jeans with a nice pair of boots and a nice sweater. In the evening, wear nice dresses (just keep weather in mind). In Bogotá, you dress to impress.

Sex & Sex Tourism

If you think you're coming to Bogotá to get laid easily or to find some young hookers, go elsewhere. Sex tourism is not cool and Bogotá is not the place for that. No place should be. The majority of Bogotanas demand respect and aren't easy. Colombians are born with dance in their blood, so just because you dance with a woman at a club, it does not mean she is going home with you. Have fun, flirt, but understand that this is not in Bogotá's culture. Please don't misunderstand friendliness as an invitation for sex.

Places to Visit In and Near Bogotá

MUSEO DEL ORO: If you have been reading this blog at all, you know I'm a sucker for museums...but this is a museum even a museum hater would love. There are tons of Pre-Columbian pieces made of gold that will blow your mind.

The Museo del Oro de Bogotá is located at Carrera 6 #1588, Bogotá.
Hours of Operation: Mon Closed, Tue-Sat 9AM-6PM, Sun 10am-4pm

MONSERRATEIf you want one of the most spectacular views of the city, this is where you want to go. It's located 10400 feet above sea level. To get there you can take a funicular or the teleférico . The other attractions besides the view is a beautiful church, artisan shops, and food.

Funicular Hours: Mon-Fri: 7am to 11:45am
Sat: 7am-4pm
Sun: 5:30am-5pm
Holidays: 6:30am-11:45am

Teleférico Hours: Mon-Sat: 12pm to 12am
Sun: 9am-5pm

USAQUEN: It's been a part of Bogotá since the 1950's and is one of my favorite neighborhoods in the area. There's a super cute Colonial area that has a great flea market on Sundays. Some of the city's best restaurants are in Usaquén, so if you like to eat, make sure to schedule a few lunches or dinners there.

ZIPAQUIRAZipaquira is known for the salt cathedral, but the town itself is darling. You can take a train there from Bogotá which really makes for a lovely day.

NEMOCON: This is another salt mine in the area. It's smaller and less fancy than Zipaquira, but the scenery is gorgeous. There's also a cool fossil museum, so if you have kids (or grown up kids like me) it's a pretty cool experience.

LEYVA: It's a great little town with nice restaurants, cafes, music and art galleries. It's more of a vibe like the village.

Places to Stay Away From

I would not recommend that you visit the area above Carrera 5a or the Centro if you are alone, with only other Americans, and certainly not after dark.

How to Stay Safe in Bogotá 

No des Papaya: You'll hear this phrase all over Colombia. It basically means don't tempt robbers. I hate this phrase because it's the equivalent of telling a woman that she deserves to get groped if she wears a revealing outfit (this makes me so angry), but sadly, this is still solid advice all over Colombia. What this means is that if you have a smart phone, you should not be using it on the street. Don't wear fancy jewelry and flash it around. It is better to be minimalist in Bogotá if you want to stay safe. If anything does happen, just give the thieves what they want.

Pay attention: Especially when crossing streets. Drivers (I'm looking at you taxis) drive like maniacs in Bogotá. So be very careful when crossing the streets.

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Sponsored

Leave a Reply