布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

阿维尼翁: 市教皇…更重要的是, 市葡萄酒

  • 梅西安音乐学院

我需要一种方法,打破了 3 小时的车程从马赛飞往里昂. 以来阿维尼翁 位于中南部的法国普罗旺斯的法国区这两个城市之间, I thought it would make a perfect stop.  I only made two mistakes and since you're reading my Avignon France Travel Tips there's no need for you to make them too:

  1. 驾驶: 你在法国驾驶白痴. 只要看看他们惊人的列车系统. 天然气是在法国超贵, 所以虽然实际的租车便宜, 你会通过屋顶的天然气支付. 一个 火车票 从马赛至阿维尼翁将花费你 $35 - $84. 你可以坐下来, 品尝一些普罗旺斯玫瑰和玩一些拼字你半小时一趟.  然后,你可以乘坐出租车到市区,比试图用自己的方式数字化为城寨的方式更容易 (并找到停车场).
  2. 没有多花点时间: 阿维尼翁是可爱的, 食物是惊人的, 它真的是不公平的城市,我只花了几个小时出现.

是什么让这么阿维尼翁酷妈?

教皇史: 这一切都始于一个固执的法国教宗 (随机的factoid: 教皇来自拉丁词pontifex, 字面意思 "大桥建设者") 贝特朗命名了德. 这教宗感觉不像移动到罗马, 于是,他决定留在多明尼加修道院阿维尼翁. 因为他选择的, 7教皇统治阿维尼翁使其成为教皇城,直到 1417. 关于教皇的好东西是,他们走到哪里都是, 有伟大的艺术, 建筑, 和历史.

红酒: 是, 我知道,这是可以包含在教皇历史, 但我总是给酒一个特别的地点. 酿酒已经开始之前,教皇在中世纪阿维尼翁做出自己的家. 阿维尼翁是罗纳河谷的一部分, 这被认为是最好的AOC的之一 (产地Contrôlée - 来源基本上控制称谓) 在法国. 由于阿维尼翁成为罗纳首都, 我认为,它使一个相当显著点,如果你想饮些酒大. 如果你正在做一个进站, 像我一样, 头以上的教皇宫殿, 他们有一个伟大的葡萄酒酒窖. 如果你走的话, 你可以得到三种酒约15€飞行.  你要多喝沙托纳迪帕普的. 这个名字的意思 "教皇的新城堡. 为什么, 你问? 阿维尼翁教皇LOVED勃艮第和做了很多尝试阿维尼翁Papacies期间推广葡萄酒. 虽然他们这样做, 他们也开始推广葡萄酒酿造在附近area.When约翰二十二世来到身边, 该地区的葡萄酒的名称改为 "Vin的教皇新堡" 后来演变为沙托纳迪帕普,成为徽记的称谓后,城堡. 当你在阿维尼翁, 你可能会喝一 (或者更多) 以下葡萄品种的:  神索, Counoise, 歌海娜, 慕合怀特, Muscardin, Piquepoul比诺, 西拉, 惊吓比诺, Vaccarèse,  布尔布朗, 克莱雷特, 淡粉色, 白歌海娜, 灰歌海娜, Picardan, Piquepoul相思, 灰色Piquepoul, 和胡姗.

Avignon France Travel Tips

地方,你不应该错过:

  • 老皇宫:  John XXII who was the pope from 1316-34), 转换前主教宫成教皇宫殿. 他的继任者, 本笃十二 (1334-42), 拆除建筑物和什么是现在被称为取代了它 "老宫" 皮埃尔泊松. 该建筑了 18 年内完成. 克雷芒六世 (谁本笃十二后来自 1342-52) 完成它让·德·卢浮宫的在高哥特式风格的帮助.  著名的意大利画家的Matteo Giovannetti (著名的圣约翰和圣Martia的教堂) 是负责装修. 该建筑现在是梅西安音乐学院的家.
  • 这Hotel de硬币: (a.k.a. 造币厂) 检查出来,如果你到巴洛克式建筑. 在顶部寄存器, there are angels that carry the arms of Paul V which are topped by the papal crown. The middle register of the facade is blind but articulated with gorgeous reliefs including the plaque that tells us that it was built in 1619 由让 - 弗朗索瓦·德巴尼,并致力于保罗五世.
  • 金莎宫花园避孕套: 一旦你已经受够了 "网站看到" 要求,导致到乌鸦DES DOMS山. 这是一个美丽的翠绿的那个地方的孩子, 鸭, 大黄蜂和嬉闹. 这是踢回一个伟大的地方, 在该填充区的小商店里吃jambon Beurre黄油, 并享受该地区的迷人景色. 你能在这个惊人的有利位置看?  如何葡萄园, 罗纳河水, Barthelasse岛, 阿维尼翁新城, Montmirail山, 鲁伯隆, 旺图山, 位于Alpilles, Pont d'Avignon桥和教皇的宫殿的部分.

如何前往阿维尼翁

  • 飞机: 有迹象表明,飞入阿维尼翁两家航空公司: 城捷航空和Flybe航空公司. 最有可能你不会使用这些选项, 但子里的一个如下所示.
  • 火车: 该TVG直接进入阿维尼翁无论从巴黎 (2 3/4 小时) 或马赛 (30 分钟 1.5 根据时间上培养你拿). 该站是城墙外, 所以一旦你到达那里, 乘出租车进城. 这是你最好的选择. 如果你想坐公交 (该 TGV班车), 它会花费你约€1.50.
  • 汽车:  如果您决定是愚蠢的 (像我是),  在A7运行从里昂马赛. 有 2 出口,您可以选择阿维尼翁. 采取 "北阿维尼翁" 如果你正朝着城墙为首. 以南方阿维尼翁 (南) 如果你前往TGV高速火车或机场阿维尼翁.

 


查看大图

Need more Avignon France Travel Tips? Just ask me in the comments below. 

下面的两个选项卡下面的更改内容.

布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳

我FriendsEat和Socialdraft的联合创始人. 我有与勃艮第霞多丽不健康的痴迷, ASOIAF, 和旅行.

最新的帖子布兰卡瓦尔布埃纳 (查看全部)

Sponsored

发表评论

Blanca Valbuena

Avignon: City of Popes…More Importantly, City of Wine

  • Olivier Messiaen music conservatoire

I needed a way to break up the 3 hour drive from Marseille to Lyon. Since Avignon is located in south central France in the French region of Provence between these two cities, I thought it would make a perfect stop.  I only made two mistakes and since you're reading my Avignon France Travel Tips there's no need for you to make them too:

  1. Driving: You're an idiot to drive in France. Just take their amazing train system. Gas is super expensive in France, so although the actual car rental is cheap, you'll pay through the roof for gas. A train ticket from Marseille to Avignon will cost you from $35 - $84. You can sit back, sip on some Provence rose and play some scrabble on your half hour trip.  Then you can take a taxi into the city proper which is way easier than trying to figure your way into the walled city (and finding parking).
  2. Not spending more time there: Avignon is lovely, the food was amazing, and it really was not fair to the city that I only spent a few hours there.

What makes Avignon so damn cool?

Papal History: It all starts with a stubborn French Supreme Pontiff (random factoid: Pontiff comes from the Latin word pontifex, which literally means "bridge builder") named Bertrand de Got. This Supreme Pontiff did not feel like moving to Rome, so he decided to stay at the Dominican Convent in Avignon. Because of his choice, seven Popes reigned in Avignon making it the Papal City until 1417. The good things about popes is that wherever they are, there's great art, architecture, and history.

Wine: Yes, I know that this can be included in Papal History, but I always give wine a special spot. Wine making had already started before the popes made Avignon their home in the Middle Ages. Avignon is part of the Rhône valley, which is considered to be one of the best AOC's (Appellation d'origine Contrôlée - basically controlled appellation of origin) in France. Since Avignon became the capital city of the Rhône, I think that makes it a pretty significant spot if you want to drink some great wines. If you're making a pit stop, like I did, head over to the Palais de Papes, they've got a great wine cellar. If you go, you can get a flight of three wines for around €15.  You'll want to drink lots of Châteauneuf-du-Pape. The name means "The Pope's New Castle. Why, you ask? The Avignon Popes LOVED Burgundy and did a lot to try to promote the wines during the Avignon Papacies. While they did this, they also began to promote wine making in the nearby area.When Pope John XXII came around, the name of the wines of the area was changed to "Vin du Pape" which later evolved to Châteauneuf-du-Pape after the castle that became the emblem for the appellation. When you're in Avignon, you'll probably drink one (or more) of the following grape varietals:  Cinsaut, Counoise, Grenache noir, Mourvèdre, Muscardin, Piquepoul noir, Syrah, Terret noir, Vaccarèse,  Bourboulenc, Clairette blanche, Clairette rose, Grenache blanc, Grenache gris, Picardan, Piquepoul blanc, Piquepoul gris, and Roussanne.

Avignon France Travel Tips

Places You Should not Miss:

  • The Old Palace:  John XXII who was the pope from 1316-34), converted the former bishop's palace into the Papal Palace. His successor, Benedict XII (1334-42), demolished the building and replaced it with what is now known as "the Old Palace" by Pierre Poisson. The building took 18 years to complete. Pope Clement VI (who came after Benedict XII from 1342-52) completed it with the help of Jean de Louvres in the high Gothic style.  The celebrated Italian Painter Matteo Giovannetti (famous for the Chapels of St John and St Martia) was in charge of the decoration. The building is now the home of the Olivier Messiaen music conservatory.
  • The Hotel De Monnaies: (a.k.a. the Mint) check it out if you're into Baroque architecture. On the top register, there are angels that carry the arms of Paul V which are topped by the papal crown. The middle register of the facade is blind but articulated with gorgeous reliefs including the plaque that tells us that it was built in 1619 by Jean-Francois de Bagni and dedicated to Pope Paul V.
  • Rocher des Doms Gardens: Once you've had enough "site seeing" ask for the hill that leads up to the Rocher des Doms. It's a gorgeous verdant spot where children, duck, and bumblebees frolic. It's a great place to kick back, eat a jambon beurre at one of the little shops that populate the area, and enjoy amazing views of the area. What can you see from this stunning vantage point?  How about vineyards, the Rhône river, Barthelasse Island, Villeneuve lès Avignon, Montmirail, the Luberon, Mont Ventoux, the Alpilles, the Pont d'Avignon and parts of the Palais des Papes.

How to get to Avignon

  • Planes: There are two airlines that fly into Avignon: Cityjet and Flybe. Most likely you will not use these options, but one of the ones indicated below.
  • Trains: The TVG goes directly into Avignon from either Paris (2 3/4 hours) or Marseille (30 minutes or 1.5 hours depending on which train you take). The station is outside the city walls, so once you get there, take a taxi into town. This is your best option. If you want to take a bus (the TGV Navette), it will cost you around  €1.50.
  • Automobile:  If you decide to be idiotic (like I was),  the A7 runs from Lyon to Marseille. There are 2 exits you can choose for Avignon. Take "Avignon North" if you are headed towards the walled city. Take Avignon South (Sud) if you're headed to the TGV trains or Avignon airport.

 


View Larger Map

Need more Avignon France Travel Tips? Just ask me in the comments below. 

The following two tabs change content below.

Blanca Valbuena

I am the co-founder of FriendsEat and Socialdraft. I've got an unhealthy obsession with Burgundian Chardonnay, ASOIAF, and travel.

Latest posts by Blanca Valbuena (see all)

Sponsored

Leave a Reply